We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveller rating
649
297
158
64
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
297
158
64
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana roomtraders barpremier sea viewcigar barcape townlovely hotelopposite the beachtable mountaina mountain view roombreakfast servicebreakfast roomour honeymoonsuperb locationsun loungerspool decklovely roombars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Best hotel in Camps Bay. Fantastic location, We stayed for 6 nights after 6 nights on safari, a fabulous ocean view with a back drop of table mountain, what more could you ask for. Could not fault this hotel (and i am very fussy!) Breakfast was beautiful, drinks were very resonably priced and staff very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Treat yourself to a massage it is unbelievably priced and very well worth it! While you are there book at table at "kove" resturant on the main street (say Hi to Roxanne!) Wow the food here was GOOD! Beach is the most beatiful you will ever set foot on. Dont listen to any gossip about trouble with locals all the peopple we met weree very friendly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I chose the Bay Hotel as I wanted somewhere safe as a solo female traveller and I had stayed nearby previously (at the primi royal - good choice if you don't want to splurge) and knew that the bay was in a good location. Camps bay is lovely and a very good choice in capetown. The Bay has a Great location right on camps bay beach, fantastic views, lovely small pool area and decking, nice bar at the pool area. Great room with balcony (I first had a room with a private terrace but moved to one on a higher floor for peace of mind security wise), good restaurants nearby. Nice extra touches e.g they bring cupcakes to your room at turndown and fresh fruit on arrival. some other guests lone travellers, not made to feel uncomfortable, seem to get a lot of repeat business. Hotel have a driver who took me out and about I felt more comfortable using this service than getting a taxi and the driver was very reliable. Hotel can book trips for you which is handy. Room very nice indeed and I had a great night's sleep. Only criticisms - staff were not always on the ball e.g giving alcoholic drinks when had asked for non-alcoholic versions., waiting for service, had to wait a long time to check in on arrival striaght off a 12 hour flight also they had some nice changing rooms with shower facilities where you can freshen up whilst waiting for your room but these were not offered to me until I had been there for a couple of hours. Tides restaurant a let down - dinner was mediocre at best - some odd combinations - the restaurant was empty when everywhere else in camps bay was packed and i can see why. Breakfast excellent though.
Overall Bay Hotel is a great choice if you want to splash out but eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We spent six nights in Cape Town during our African vacation and we spent this portion in Camps Bay at the Bay Hotel. We worked with Go2Africa who did an AMAZING job with recommendations. Having never been to Cape Town before we were not sure what would be the best part of the city to stay in: Waterfront, Camps Bay, Clifton, etc. I'm THRILLED that we splurged and went with the Bay Hotel. It has the most perfect location directly across the street from the biggest beach in Camps Bay. It's as close as you're going to get to a beach-front hotel...and the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated in muted tones. We went with a sea view room- and were lucky enough to have one on the bottom level which had direct from access to the pools. We spent every night out on the pool deck watching the beautiful sunsets and enjoying the low priced cocktails. The food was very good as well- the breakfast that's included was wonderful- tons of options, a huge spread...and we ate light lunches poolside and enjoyed them very much. The staff is incredibly friendly, welcoming and attentive. You're a short 15 minute cab ride from the city center and the amazing restaurants. However, if you want to stay in Camps Bay- there are a few good spots within walking distance as well. My husband and I went for 4 mile runs each morning along the water and enjoyed the views. We taxied over to Table Mountain one day and hiked up it- easy to get to and from this major attraction from the Bay Hotel. They also have a tour bus pick up stop right outside the hotel if you want to take that in throughout the city to get a full picture of the sites of Cape Town- again, very convenient. Overall- I'd highly recommend this hotel and this area of town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinlovestravel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This was our seventh stay at the Bay. The hotel is good with a really swimmable pool, good food and good, if somewhat small, rooms. It is a little expensive for what it offers, but then it has such a superb location, looking out onto the white beach and rollers of Camps Bay and only ten minutes drive from the city and the Waterfront. A two minute stroll out of the gate gives you at least six excellent restaurants and bars to choose from, taxis galore and there is even a theatre - the Theatre on the Bay - to visit. Nearly everyone we met at the hotel had stayed there before.
My only criticism is that making a reservation from UK was a nightmare, but maybe I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel is lovely with very friendly staff. The beach is opposite across the coast road which does not seem to intrude too much/ It is convenient for the restaurants in Camps Bay but its own restaurant is excellent, although the seafood platter is overpriced.
It is located opposite the Cape Town tour bus stop so it would be possible not to have a car for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepsi012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews