We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel and a quite SUPERB location”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great hotel and a quite SUPERB location”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My wife and I, travelled to Cape Town to celebrate my birthday. After checking Trip Advisor, I eventually decided to choose this hotel. I was not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is just superb! The beach is literally 40 metres away.The staff are friendly and attentive. Our room a 'mountain view' one, was excellent. Only the strange green, plastic looking, roofing sheets, spoilt the view. Breakfast is excellent, we didn't try any evening meals, in the hotel, as the choice of food on the menu, wasn't to our taste.
There are many great eateries no more than 100 metres away, so we didn't care. There is free wifi access in the lobby area for all guests. The hotel has a main pool and some Infinity pools too, plus a small but well equipped gym.

There are open top 'tourist buses' that go past the front of the hotel every 15 minutes or so. These drive 'slowly' to all the nearby attractions. They cost 110 Rand per person, per day and you can jump on and off when you like. There are lots of local taxis 40m to the left, of the front of the hotel too. You can barter with them to get a lower price.

Also just parked next to the taxis are 'reggae' minibuses. These are a really cheap way to get to Cape town from Camps bay. We paid a minuscule 12 rand for the two of us, to go to the V&A Waterfront from the hotel, just tell the driver to "stop" when you are close by, to get off. A taxi to V&A would have cost 60 - 90 rand one way, dependent on your bartering skills. You can insist they use the meter, if you want to.

The view from the top of 'Table Mountain,' is absolutely fabulous!! A must see!!
Robben Island tours can be "sold out" 2-3 days in advance. So book/buy your tickets early.

My wife and I, have been blessed, to have had the pleasure, of staying in many nice hotels worldwide. This was one of the best!!

Bravo, "The Bay Hotel."

We were sad to leave this hotel and beautiful Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zetec16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    259
    145
    58
    49
See reviews for
125
626
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renwick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at the Bay for 3 nights in October and found it to be extremely comfortable and in a perfect position right on the front at Camps Bay. Our arrival was greeted with such friendliness and warmth and we were lucky enough to upgraded to a mountain room which also had a sea view. The room was extremely clean and well appointed with a sitting area which was also very comfortable. The standard of the decor throughout was faultless - all the public areas were so clean and tidy at all times. We did try to find fault but just couldn't. Breakfast was a delight with all the lovely fruits, cold meats, cheeses, pickles, fish etc etc - I managed a cooked veggie breakfast and it was presented beautifully and tasted divine. It was safe to walk in daylight and at night on the front and there were many good restaurants. All in all a lovely relaxing stay with such lovely staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was part of our honeymoon and this part was great, we love Cape Town but wanted to be just outside and Camps Bay is the place to be - beautiful people, fine wines, excellent food and this hotel was Amazing, we spent 4 nights here and loved every minute, we also felt very secure and we had mountain view room at the rear which was lovely, I think next time we will book a room at the front for an ocean view, staff were great - really friendly - the food was first class and the hotel is really central so you can wander along the main strip in the evening and feel very secure!, some good restaurants along there too - the hotel will reccomend but we went to Blues which had some superb sea views!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reillylloyd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The Bay Hotel is an elegant and charming property set against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain. Its location is ideal for access to both the Cape Peninsula and Cape Town city centre (the latter involving a 15 minute drive or R100 taxi ride). When we visited in July 2010, the décor was fresh and clean. We found our room to be spacious and comfortable, easily matching five-star expectations.

One of the most memorable aspects of our stay was the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff who served the excellent breakfast. They were genuinely pleased to greet guests each morning, and their outstanding service deserves a special mention. Sadly, our experience of dinner on the one occasion when we dinned in the hotel was less-favourable: unfortunately, the quality of food deteriorated as the evening progressed, and this was accompanied by increasingly blunt and intrusive service. By the end, several fellow-dinners had become irate, which created an unpleasant atmosphere in the dinning room. That said, the food wasn't bad; however, the management should insist that staff in a five-star restaurant wear ties in the evening.

But this was an isolated incident in an otherwise highly-enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I visited The Bay Hotel again despite the negative views: "why will I never learn" the decor continues to lack inspiration in design and decor. It remains so bland, decorated throughout in a computer beige colour. The check-in staff I have to say are surly and everything did seem to be an effort to them. Sadly for me this is not the hotel it once was with other hotels such as Fire and Ice offering a more interesting experience and certainly more willing and enthusiastic staff. In essence The Bay is a tired hotel now only surpassed in it's lack-lustre appearance by the staff.
The chilly sea breezes that you also get from Camps Bay will be repeated once you get to reception.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Perfect location in Camps Bay, nestled between the mountains and the Atlantic ocean. The bar had delicious cocktails and there was always plenty of space by the multiple pools. Our room was lovely with views out to the sea. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This was our second stay in 6 months at this hotel, and we will return later this year. Excellent value for money, the service is great without too much fuss. Good beach across the road. A hotel where you can relax and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travelbag, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing