We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 14 nights starting on the 4th December. We have had a wonderful and magical time in South Africa. This partly due to the manager and staff at the Sea Castle Hotel. Michael is a fantastic host. The rest of the staff including Andrew and Henry could not have been more hopeful. The hotel itself is over the road from the beach. The views over the sea and the surrounding area are amazing. The hotel is small but inviting. Breakfast was great as was the service. It maybe not a 4 star hotel in the strictest of terms - but in our eyes Michael and his staff more than make up the stars. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at the Primi Seacastle mid-November. There is no doubt that the room and the furnishings with and are tired and probably should be retired from use. It does not appear is so any money has been spent on updating the furnishings or the building itself in quite a number of years. However, that being said, the beds and linens were clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is well located on the strip at Camps Bay directly across from the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was simple but adequate. All and all, basic accommodations no frills and good value considering the location. Beautiful views over the beach on the sea side rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisemacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Spent 7 nights in November 2013 and the friendly and helpful staff made us feel very welcome. The breakfast offered a good range of choices, but the cooked breakfast was slow arriving - put your order in as soon as you sit down. We had a pleasant room with a balcony and sea view . Some fittings and fixtures seemed a bit tired, but everything worked OK. The location is excellent, just across the road from the beach, handy for the open-top bus, and only an 80 Rand taxi ride to Cape Town Waterfront. Unlike Daisy_200 we found plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance just along the sea front road - the 3 we tried all provided excellent food.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

There are couple of reasons why we didn't like the place: -This place is obviously a business that is being milked. There has been lack of investment or maintance for the building and furniture which makes the value for money balance very poor. The interior looks patchy and the furniture seems second hand. -the safety of the building is questionable as the back door of the building is never closed at night which leaves your door room as the only thing standing between you and potential burglars. With a very primitive and thin glass door we just didn't feel safe. -bathroom and room cleanliness could be improved. mainly couches, matrasses and sun beds look like they have never been washed. The overall location in Camps Bay is amazing with the beach right in front of the hotel but we advice to look for accommodations that are better maintained, safer and better value for money equation in general.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The review by Daisy_200 really sums it up perfectly. I did find the reviews on booking.com quite different to those on tripadvisor.

The parking area is difficult to find as it is not signposted anywhere, so if parking as a first time visitor phone ahead for directions. Parking is limited and clearly marked so late arrivals may have problems finding parking on Camps Bay's narrow streets.

The shower was diabolical as any pressure in it depended on having the hand basin tap running and even then it was a trickle.

The good things - the manager Michael is a fount of local knowledge and can recommend some excellent eating places.

The bar and breakfast is very pleasant and the service was adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the terrace if you are a non smoker as you could be in for a lung full if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert312663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent 3 nights here in October.
Positives: Fantastic views of the beach, excellent breakfast, good location to pick up open top bus into the town, friendly & helpful staff, locality felt safe.
Negatives: shower appalling & not many restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Pleasant staff. Room good size. Clean and everything provided that was needed.
Bathroom was odd layout. Washbasin almost blocking the shower entrance was the only downside in an otherwise good sized bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Seacastle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Seacastle Guest House

Address: 15 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £97 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Primi Seacastle Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Primi Seacastle guest house is located on the Atlantic Seaboard on Camps Bay's Golden Mile which is Cape Town's most prestigious coastline address. Situated virtually on top of the beach (20 Metres) with Table Mountain as a majestic backdrop, the hotel boasts sweeping, panoramic, perfect postcard views of the bay and the mountain. Have sundowners on the deck, taking in the glorious sunsets that Camps Bay is most famous for. Come EAT~SLEEP~PLAY with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Primi Seacastle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi Seacastle Cape Town
Hotel Primi Seacastle
Primi Seacastle Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing