We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seaview....around the corner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Although we had booked a non smoking room, the pillows/room smelled like someone had been smoking seriously. Seaview if you hang out of the window. The rooms are not very exitingly decorated, they could certainly do with an uplift. Location is great, just a stone throw away from the beautiful cosmopolitan beach. Value for money not great. I was shocked to have to pay for internet connection at the price we were paying already.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bennyontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

Having just left the Radisson Blu which we loved, to move to Camps Bay for a couple of nights, we were extremely disappointed at the tiny, noisy rooms available - luckily there were just 2 adults & 1 child and not the 2 grandparents who were originally coming with us, as we would have been constantly tripping over each other. This is in a nice location but to try and squash 2 bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen & sitting room in such a tiny space is crazy. It is just a very small basic self catering apartment but charging the same prices as some of the amazing 5* flashy hotels that we stayed in and which were infinitely better. It would be an ok place to stay if it were priced at the correct rate, but certainly not anywhere close to what they charge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank singcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed here one night at the start of a big tour through Africa: thought we'd have a night somewhere nice before roughing it.

However, we wish we hadn't. We paid extra for a sea view but as the rooms aren't double glazed this just means you have a loud room. The rooms are clean but average with dated bathroom fittings (our toilet leaked and the shower was pathetic).

In the morning we checked out with the 'help' of a moody receptionist, who cut short my boyfriend's sentence to say that housekeeping had just rung her and wanted to know what the stain on our sheets was. This 'stain' was a colourless deodorant liquid that had leaked into a wash bag that was on the bed. To be asked such a question was pretty unneccesary and embarassing! Especially after paying out £140!

Another gripe was the 100R for 100mb of download cost! What they don't tell you is that it's much much cheaper to pay direct to the provider through your iPhone / laptop.

Location is lovely but we're sure there would be nicer, friendlier and better value for money hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swanny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Fantastic location opposite the beautiful Camps Bay Beach, and next to bar and restaurants.

The hotel is "no frills" you won't find amazing decor, but it is clean, and simply decorated. The service is really outstanding, especially a chap called Werner, who went out of his way for us. The reception team really can't do enough for you.

The pool is lovely, with a view of the beach, enough sun loungers to go round and pool towels provided.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Room: We stayed in room 202 on the ground floor (facing courtyard, no sea view). Direct access to the small but nice pool area. The room was spacious with a sitting place outside just next to the pool. Fully equipped kitchenette. Queensize bed, cupboards & bathroom could do with renewal/renovation. This would save water, too since it was pretty hard to get the fixtures setting to a nice temperature. Staff was helpful if somewhat unenthusiastic.
Location: just on the main strip that separates the town from the beach - perfect location. Free & safe parking onsite.
Restaurant: "Maranello", in the building of the "Fairway" sister property. Very nice food, great service, no direct sea view but very good value for money. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoliSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Place on The Bay is centrally located from the CBD, V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and the winelands. They provide just what you need, no frills excellent service. 24-hr front desk was very attentive. Spectacular beach views out your window, bars and restos literally steps away from your door. Area is very safe and secure with cameras and on-premise parking. Our studio room was amply furnished and very peaceful, a perfect respite after a whole day of touring! One minor thing...shower takes time to heat up and lots of cold spots.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teambucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed for the weekend at Place on the Bay in December 2010 in a two bedroomed duplex apartment. The apartment is a self catering one with basic crockery and cutlery. My oven did not work properly and after reporting it to the manager it could not be fixed. There is a cold swimming pool but no other activities available for families with children. The weather was rainy so we could not go to the beautiful beach directly across the hotel. The bedding was of good good quality and the beds were comfortable. The main bedroom has a small balcony with a table and chair which I used frequently to enjoy the view of the sea.
The second bedroom had two single beds which my children did not use as there was also a double sleeper couch in the lounge area. There is only one television in the unit and felt that they could have put a second one upstairs in the bedroom. They do not offer breakfast but there is a small Italian Restaurant next to to hotel where you can have your meals. Breakfast was reasonable. Parking was a pickle most of the time as they can only park about 10 cars at a time. We often took a stroll down past all the eateries in Camps Bay and we felt quite safe even at night. My only gripe was that they charged for a bucket of ice for my room and when my husband ordered a cold beer on arrival we were charged R35 on top of the beer price as a tray charge, so paying R50 for a beer was never to be repeated.
a

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene261202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £92 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing