We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good place - would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“pretty good place - would recommend!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

whooops - chose the tail end of "winter" but still great weather.

value - excellent
location - pretty good, by the beach, safe, with the exception of the occasional creeper (yes, we had a bum our first night, but after that a OK)
beds, TV, bed, service - all great.

only exceptions:
-either we didn't figure it out, but we always have to hit the "call" button to get back into the hotel. would've been better if we could just swipe our card...
-registered for a taxi coming from Cape Town, and they forgot!! don't know if it was on hotel's part or taxi's. anyway, we got an apology e-mail so it was all good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenPeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    101
    30
    13
    18
See reviews for
58
138
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Place on the Bay was great. Staff were most helpful from day one to the end. Unit was well kept and offered us a true home away from home experience by allowing us to operate to our own schedule and requirements and yet be in a location normally reserved for prime hotels. Location is difficult to beat in Cape Town and my family - all first time visitors to C.T. were very happy and thoroughly enjoyed the time. Also perfectly located for meals and evenings out within walking distance!

Room Tip: We were on a side road and though on street leve this location limited street noise to a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill620515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

With a beach front room you can live right on the beach like you are one of Cape Towns wealthiest home owners. Great view of the beach and access to heaps of great restaurants. While more self service then hotel style the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Defiantly ask for the rooms at tge front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We drove to Camps Bay straight from our flight from London. Took about 30 mins. The hotel is in prime position. We were early, so had to go for some lunch before checking in. Not a problem, as there were loads of restaurants and bars right on the waterfront. Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant wasn't open for our stay. Wasn't a problem, as we really wanted to go out and explore the other places, but we had one early morning start when it would have been nice to get a little breakfast, or a packed lunch. As we understood it, the restaurant was undergoing some building changes, and as it was out of peak season, they had chosen this time to do it.
The room was big and comfortable, with a small kitchen. Plenty of space to unpack and relax. The bathroom was clean, with loads of towels.
As a place to use as a base, it was very good. Was nice to come back to after a day out exploring. Can highly recommend the drive to Haut Bay for some fish and chips. The drive is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slacks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Check in was fine, room was studio on the ground floor and slept two, four in total which would most likely be two small children on the sleeper couch which we didn't use. Furnishings very nice, bed comfortable. Small patio which had a sea view but is overlooked by all the other units. The hotel wasn't really that busy as it was may and slightly out of season. Swimming pool overlooks Victoria Road. Apparently there was a restaurant on site but we were told on checking that it was under construction but 'there were plenty of restaurants on the strip'. Service was very good as we left our room for about an our and went back to find it had been attended to and cleaned. However the hotel didn't appear to e busy as here were only about five cars in the parking area at any time time. Could imagine it would be fun in peak season as it could lend itself to meeting people as the rooms are pretty close together each one win a small patio.

Room Tip: The penthouse looked as I it had its own private swimming pool but imagine it would be pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My fiance and I had an awesome time on the sunny Camps Bay strip. We jogged, ate and swam to our hearts content..... Would not hesitate to go again.... Love the Place on the Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed there for three nights. Simple and clean, good bed. Perfect if you want to be close to Victoria Road, yet very quiet at night. Wifi is not for free, but bandwidth in Camps Bay anyhow is mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Property: The Place on the Bay
Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing