We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The only thing I can say about this hotel was that is has the best location in Camps Bay and the service was good
It is part of a RCI time share and while the RCI gave it an award I would barely put it in the category of a 2 star hotel,
Rooms/suites were old and needed updating. New furniture and a paint job.
As I mentioned location was good and it was next to some great restaurants and across from the beach.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thomas0851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Thomas0851
It is sad that you think so little of the Hotel! We painted all the units and most of them have a new sleeper coach in.
We will load some new pictures on the web site asap.
Thank you for the compliment regarding the service.
Have a great week!!
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for only one night but our room with kitchenette and great patio was all we needed. The front desk staff were extremely attentive providing us with a room with shower to use to freshen up as we arrived quite a bit before our checkin time. The little restaurant was lovely and we loved sitting by the pool watching the fabulous sunsets. The location cannot be beat, right across the road from the beach and not even a minute walk to great restaurants and bars. We had a great stay! thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmacpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Jmacpitt
So sad that you could not stay longer!! Next time!!
You right - the sunsets are gorgeous and a good place to be, is at the pool.
Thank you for the kind words to the staff - much appreciated!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Myself, my husband and 9 month old daughter stayed here with my parents from the 2nd to the 7th March. The location is ideal. The staff are amazing and couldn't have been more helpful. My mother requires a mobility scooter and they couldn't have been more helpful in helping us store it. We stayed in room 303 and my parents stayed in room 306. When we moved into 303 we realised it really didn't suit (entirely my fault, I was so hooked on the idea of having an outside Jacuzzi, forgetting we had a baby with us). 303 has an upstairs and the bedroom is small in the sense there was no space for our daughter to roll around. In the end we swapped with my parents and we took the apartment 306 which is amazing, loads of space and an amazing view. Room 303 has a side view of the sea and is around the back of the hotel, but suited my folks just fine as they could drive the scooter right in the door.
All in all we had an amazing stay, couldn't recommend it highly enough. please not camps bay is a 'DRY SUBURB' so no drink can be purchased in shops there, you need to drive to sea point near by to get any drink for home consumption.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieQ1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear SusieQ1978
It was realy nice to have all of you here and that we could help your mother with the scooter and swopped the rooms.
I am glad that you had a good time and enjoyed our beautiful city - specially Camps Bay.
Hope to welcome you back at Place on the Bay one day again!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We return here year after year as the location is great and the staff are friendly and helpful .The accommodation is basic but good value and clean .There is safe parking and it is easy to walk to the restaurants in Camps Bay as well as the beach
We shall return next year and look forward to improved Wifi

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Shelagh W
A big thank you for coming back to us!!
We definitely working on the WiFi and will be sorted not later than September 2014
Have a great day!!!!
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Good: The location is outstanding and the room has lots of windows and a huge skylight making the view of the ocean incredible. Really beautiful. The staff are friendly and do try to be helpful.

The Bad: It's a little run down, bathrooms, specifically the bath tub was awful. Intermittent wifi so if you are dependent on wifi for work this is not the place for you.

The Ugly: The General Manager, was completely disinterested, she didn't bother to make an appearance, she ignored my requests to speak with her. When I finally did track her down the only thing she could say was there is nothing she could do and its not the hotels responsibility.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a skylight if you like lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TorontoSharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear TorontoSharon1
I am sorry you feel this way - I tried to see you after my Sunday off, but after our telephone conversation, you said you in a hurry and cannot wait because my request was that we go to your apartment and test the internet. Reception put you through the previous afternoon (after you arrived) to our IT department and they helped you to set up your lap top. (You were on the line with them for quite a while) The next morning I phoned them again and they said you told them everything is working and good.
After this you did not come to the reception again regarding the internet.
The speed of the connection is a problem in the whole of Cape Town - I am not sure when government will change it.
Thank you for the nice words for the staff.
Hope you had a nice visit in our beautiful country.
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at Place on the Bay for a week while in SA for our Honeymoon. The location is perfect right on the beach, the staff wonderful and very helpful. The rooms were very nice, modern and it was very nice having a fridge and kitchenette. We loved it here, fully recommend it to anyone traveling to Cape Town or Camps Bay.

Room Tip: If you have a big group or want to ball out, the penthouse looked crazy nice and had a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear JPFinlay
Thank you for this review - much appreciated!!
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your honeymoon and our beautiful country.
We wish you a happy married live with lots of happy years!!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Good basic accommodation in excellent location. Our family of five stayed in Room 101 which overlooked the beach and has easy secure street access and is just next to hotel pool. Easy safe walk to the best restaurants in town. Would consider staying here again. Rooms further back may not be so great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitravellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Kiwitravellings
Thank you for the review and you right - that unit is one of the best because you have uninterrupted views. Although there are more units with excellent sea views.
Hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £58 - £778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing