We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split level was fun...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location is ideal, in walking distance to the beach and restaurants. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The suite was like having a little apartment so the kids had fun roaming around. The little restaurant tucked on the side is cute and had a nice menu.

Room Tip: Top rooms have a view to the ocean, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear NMandLittleNomads
Thank you so much for your much appreciated feedback.
You right - always better to book a Two bedroom unit when your kids traveling with you - much more space!!
Happy to hear you had a good time and was well looked after.
Have a great week and hope to see you again.
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location of The Place on the Bay is very ideal: it's across the street from Camps Bay beach, and a stone's throw from many restaurants (all of which become the spots to see and be seen come evening!). Friendly service, and very helpful staff. Some of the furntire and fixtures could use some updating, but that does not stop me from giving this place a very good rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shehezadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear shehezadi
Thank you for your much appreciated feedback.
I will give attention to it.
Have a wonderful week and hope to see you again.
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 7 year old, and the hotel was ideal for our holiday. Reasons:

- Flat with multiple bedrooms (our preferred way of staying on holidays)
- Literally across the beach
- Next to many restaurants
- Friendly service
- Parking available but if you don't have a car, they will call in taxis

Room Tip: If you don't want road noise, ask for a flat in the back on the building. Their web site shows e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk45hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear pk45hyd
Thank you so much for your feedback - much appreciated!!
Happy to hear that even your 7year old daughter enjoyed it - the pool is lovely and the fact that the beach is just on the other side of the road, helps a lot.
Have a great week and hope to see you in the near future again!!
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Place on the bay is located at one end of the front beach road with views of the beach and fabulous views of the sunsets. The rooms are clean, well equipped kitchen, tastefully decorated. This was the perfect location for the beach, for restaurants and shops. We ate breakfast at mynt next door and they had free wifi. Loved our stay at The place on the bay, secure parking and security gate from the street. Nice pool area. Friendly staff.
Next time we will book a room with a patio or balcony.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony so you can sit and see the sunset and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Delphine J
A big thank you for your possitive feedback - much appreciated!!
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Place on the Bay and hope to see you soon.
You right - very nice to have a balcony to enjoy the beautiful scenery.
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for our stay in Cape Town and were so happy with our choice. Not only were the views spectacular, the rooms were huge and great value and the staff were super helpful and really looked after us

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemlb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Gemlb2014
A big thank you for your feedback - much appreciated.
I am very happy to here that you had a good time adn the staff looked after you.
Take care and hope to see you back at Place on the Bay soon.
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The only thing I can say about this hotel was that is has the best location in Camps Bay and the service was good
It is part of a RCI time share and while the RCI gave it an award I would barely put it in the category of a 2 star hotel,
Rooms/suites were old and needed updating. New furniture and a paint job.
As I mentioned location was good and it was next to some great restaurants and across from the beach.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thomas0851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Thomas0851
It is sad that you think so little of the Hotel! We painted all the units and most of them have a new sleeper coach in.
We will load some new pictures on the web site asap.
Thank you for the compliment regarding the service.
Have a great week!!
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for only one night but our room with kitchenette and great patio was all we needed. The front desk staff were extremely attentive providing us with a room with shower to use to freshen up as we arrived quite a bit before our checkin time. The little restaurant was lovely and we loved sitting by the pool watching the fabulous sunsets. The location cannot be beat, right across the road from the beach and not even a minute walk to great restaurants and bars. We had a great stay! thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmacpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Jmacpitt
So sad that you could not stay longer!! Next time!!
You right - the sunsets are gorgeous and a good place to be, is at the pool.
Thank you for the kind words to the staff - much appreciated!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £61 - £750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing