We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Place on the bay is a great location with friendly staff. Right on the beach and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday on the beach in beautiful Cape Town. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Ally266
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and a big thank you for your feedback.
Much appreciated!!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our beuatiful Camps Bay!!!
Kind regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    101
    30
    12
    18
See reviews for
58
137
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was the first stop of our holiday and was perfect as a base to explore Cape Town and the area. We had a hire car and so having secure parking was a real bonus and the rooms were large and had everything we could want or need in the kitchenette. Although the bathroom was a bit 'tired' it worked and the staff ensured the room was clean and aired everyday. As others have commented the reception staff were first class. We went into Cape Town , Kirstenbosch and Table Mountain with no trouble from here and were able to enjoy strolling around Camps Bay in the evening, something we couldn't do on our previous trip to Cape Town when we were in a central city hotel. Lovely views over looking the sea from our room.
Would certainly stay here again if we plan to visit Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 702chantalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Chantal K
A big thank you for your review!!
So nice to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and could see a lot of our attractions.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!!!
Kind Regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

In a fantastic position on the main Camps Bay action strip opposite the beach with views from all apartments it seems. Good sized rooms. Secure parking. A very well equipped little kitchen for longer stays & still a decent stay but this place could be so much more with some TLC from more hands on owners. Typical of places which have been handed over to management, attention to detail is lacking. Just had a bad storm which may have accounted for leaves around pool etc but either way this place needs owners to play a more active role. Light & bright with lots of light & decent furniture, it is not a bad option given its position but not perfect as it could be with the right management. People used to good 4 & 5 Stars would not be satisfied & should try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher will have better views / be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear sbus2014
Thank you for the feedback.
Much appreciated.
Kind regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for 16 nights & loved it. The reception staff were wonderful & couldn't have been more helpful, in fact all members of staff were very friendly. Our room was large, bright & kept spotlessly clean. It was lovely to have a terrace overlooking the beach & pool. the hotel is in a very good position for the shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear ClarelLondon
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were looked well after!!
Thank you so much for your feedback - much appreciated.
Hope to see you back soon with us and in our wonderful country!
All the best!
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location is ideal, in walking distance to the beach and restaurants. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The suite was like having a little apartment so the kids had fun roaming around. The little restaurant tucked on the side is cute and had a nice menu.

Room Tip: Top rooms have a view to the ocean, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear NMandLittleNomads
Thank you so much for your much appreciated feedback.
You right - always better to book a Two bedroom unit when your kids traveling with you - much more space!!
Happy to hear you had a good time and was well looked after.
Have a great week and hope to see you again.
Best regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location of The Place on the Bay is very ideal: it's across the street from Camps Bay beach, and a stone's throw from many restaurants (all of which become the spots to see and be seen come evening!). Friendly service, and very helpful staff. Some of the furntire and fixtures could use some updating, but that does not stop me from giving this place a very good rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shehezadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear shehezadi
Thank you for your much appreciated feedback.
I will give attention to it.
Have a wonderful week and hope to see you again.
Best regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 7 year old, and the hotel was ideal for our holiday. Reasons:

- Flat with multiple bedrooms (our preferred way of staying on holidays)
- Literally across the beach
- Next to many restaurants
- Friendly service
- Parking available but if you don't have a car, they will call in taxis

Room Tip: If you don't want road noise, ask for a flat in the back on the building. Their web site shows e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk45hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear pk45hyd
Thank you so much for your feedback - much appreciated!!
Happy to hear that even your 7year old daughter enjoyed it - the pool is lovely and the fact that the beach is just on the other side of the road, helps a lot.
Have a great week and hope to see you in the near future again!!
Best regards
Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Property: The Place on the Bay
Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing