We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Place on the Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Houghton View 13 Apartments(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
136
126
36
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
126
36
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingcape townbars and restaurantsstudio apartmentideal locationself cateringsea viewfully equipped kitchenopposite the beachtable mountainmain bedroomsmall poolthoroughly enjoyed our staystayed here for nightsrooms are spacioussea frontamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was the first stop of our holiday and was perfect as a base to explore Cape Town and the area. We had a hire car and so having secure parking was a real bonus and the rooms were large and had everything we could want or need in the kitchenette. Although the bathroom was a bit 'tired' it worked and the staff ensured the room was clean and aired everyday. As others have commented the reception staff were first class. We went into Cape Town , Kirstenbosch and Table Mountain with no trouble from here and were able to enjoy strolling around Camps Bay in the evening, something we couldn't do on our previous trip to Cape Town when we were in a central city hotel. Lovely views over looking the sea from our room.
Would certainly stay here again if we plan to visit Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the sea,
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 702chantalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Chantal K
A big thank you for your review!!
So nice to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and could see a lot of our attractions.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!!!
Kind Regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

In a fantastic position on the main Camps Bay action strip opposite the beach with views from all apartments it seems. Good sized rooms. Secure parking. A very well equipped little kitchen for longer stays & still a decent stay but this place could be so much more with some TLC from more hands on owners. Typical of places which have been handed over to management, attention to detail is lacking. Just had a bad storm which may have accounted for leaves around pool etc but either way this place needs owners to play a more active role. Light & bright with lots of light & decent furniture, it is not a bad option given its position but not perfect as it could be with the right management. People used to good 4 & 5 Stars would not be satisfied & should try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher will have better views / be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear sbus2014
Thank you for the feedback.
Much appreciated.
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for 16 nights & loved it. The reception staff were wonderful & couldn't have been more helpful, in fact all members of staff were very friendly. Our room was large, bright & kept spotlessly clean. It was lovely to have a terrace overlooking the beach & pool. the hotel is in a very good position for the shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear ClarelLondon
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were looked well after!!
Thank you so much for your feedback - much appreciated.
Hope to see you back soon with us and in our wonderful country!
All the best!
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location is ideal, in walking distance to the beach and restaurants. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The suite was like having a little apartment so the kids had fun roaming around. The little restaurant tucked on the side is cute and had a nice menu.

Room Tip: Top rooms have a view to the ocean, very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear NMandLittleNomads
Thank you so much for your much appreciated feedback.
You right - always better to book a Two bedroom unit when your kids traveling with you - much more space!!
Happy to hear you had a good time and was well looked after.
Have a great week and hope to see you again.
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location of The Place on the Bay is very ideal: it's across the street from Camps Bay beach, and a stone's throw from many restaurants (all of which become the spots to see and be seen come evening!). Friendly service, and very helpful staff. Some of the furntire and fixtures could use some updating, but that does not stop me from giving this place a very good rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shehezadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear shehezadi
Thank you for your much appreciated feedback.
I will give attention to it.
Have a wonderful week and hope to see you again.
Best regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews