We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Set on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Kuils River
1 review
“Stunning Set on the Bay”
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My wife and I stayed in a superior studio apartment on the top floor with breathtaking views of the beach and the ocean. It was like being in some kind of movie; the scenery and the atmosphere was just unbelievable! We were almost really on a movie Set on the Bay!

This is the ideal place for a romantic getaway with your loved one. The room was immaculate and private. There was even a "sky blind" in our room to see the stars through the glass roof at night time!

We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CharlesGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    101
    31
    14
    18
See reviews for
60
138
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Stayed here for 8 nights over Christmas 2008 with my father in law in an adjoining room. Good base for Camps Bay (outside the door), the beach (50 meters across the road) and Cape Town (a short taxi or bus ride away). Good reasonably large rooms withcomfortable chairs TV etc. You could suffer some traffic noise being so close to the road if your room is right at the front.
Couple of major issues. The hotel lost most of our (same day cleaning) laundry, they delivered some of it late at night after 10.30, the evening porter didn't get a response from my father in law next door as he was asleep, so he unlocked the door and walked straight in. The next morning when we expressed our concerns, the receptionist thought the whole episode rather funny, but we pressed him and eventually met with one of the management team who couldn't have been more helpful and apologetic and resolved the problem and issues to our staisfaction. But the episode did put a cloud over our stay especially our resevations over security.
On the whole a reasonable place to stay in Camps Bay

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I recently returned from a one-week stay at The Place on the Bay in Camps Bay. There were a lot of positives with the hotel but also some negatives. On the positive side, the location is fantastic - right in the heart of Camps Bay, directly across the street from the beach. Camps Bay itself is also well-located for exploring other parts of the Cape Town area. The hotel pool was heated throughout our stay and the pool area was well-maintained. The restaurant that is part of the hotel is a good-quality solid Italian restaurant and you can order anything from the menu as room service - which was very convenient. The parking for the hotel was excellent - private, secure parking area with electronic gate. The main negative for the hotel was the quality of the furnishings, fixtures, etc. in the rooms, which I would consider closer to 3-star quality than 4-star. Also, the staff members were pleasant but not as experienced or helpful as you would find in a typical 4-star hotel (which may be due to the fact that this is considered a "self-catering apartment" rather than a hotel. Also, the "Louis Group" branding throughout the hotel (including the corporate magazines in the rooms) gave the place a bit of a tacky feel. Overall, a decent place to stay if you want to be in Camps Bay and get a good rate and get a sufficiently large apartment, but be prepared for fairly low-quality rooms/furnishings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of fixtures/furnishings
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewitz, MD at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review, 5 December 2008
Thank you for your review and for all the positive comments you had to say about our hotel.

However, I’m most surprised that you were not satisfied with the furnishings and fixtures in the rooms as all the apartments have recently been fully refurbished and redecorated. Without going into the finest of detail, let me just mention some of the quality furnishing that are standard in each apartment. Each appartment has extra length high quality Simmons mattresses, draped with the finest quality linen finished with a satin stitch. Furthermore, each apartment boasts a new Samsung LCD High definition wall mounted television, imported leather sleeper couches, custom built armchairs and purpose made lined curtains mounted on a double track with a separate voile curtain for day time privacy. Although the kitchens have not recently been remodeled they are nevertheless in excellent condition and all the crockery, cutlery, pots and pans as well as counter appliances are all brand new and of the finest quality.

Louis Group is a family owned business with a proud tradition and over 90 years of service excellence during which time we have won and continue to win numerous awards of excellence (Google us to see for yourself), however, I do apologies if you found our corporate over bearing. I further realize that our complementary magazine, dedicated to Christian living, may not appeal to everyone, but we are a Christian based company and for that we do not apologies, on the contrary it is the cornerstone of our business.

Nevertheless, thank you for choosing to stay at Place on the Bay Hotel and if we have the honor of hosting you again I would love to make your acquaintance to sip a sun downer with you whilst we soak up the spectacular sea views.

Warmest regards, Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Myself and my boyfriend are just back from 3 weeks in SA. We spent our 1st week in Cape Town staying in the Place on the Bay in Camps Bay. The hotel had just been painted and everything looked nice and fresh. We booked a standard studio apartment and could not have been happier with it. It was quite spacious with a lovely comfy big double bed, a couch, and anything you might need in the kitchen – (all utensils looked brand new). The bathroom was not as modern as rest of apt but everything was spotlessly clean and there was always plenty of hot water. The apt also had a large flat screen tv with numerous English speaking channels for those evenings when you are wreaked from sight seeing. We were told we would not have a sea view but from our door you could see right across the road to the beautiful beach and in the evenings see the sun set!

The hotel is just at the start (or end) of the small strip of cafes, restaurants, hotels etc along Camps Bay and everything there is within walking distance. We were really happy with our decision to stay in Camps Bay rather than city centre or V&A waterfront, which can be reached by a rikki organised by the hotel for only 55Rand (approx €4.50).

Staff were really helpful. Before we arrived we requested to extend our original booking of 4 days to 7 days. Marion kindly arranged this for us and only charged us the room price of our original booking and not the newer seasonal prices. We were supposed to have to change rooms for the last few days but Marion emailed us just before we arrived to say she had worked around the bookings to allow us to remain in the same apt for the week, which was great.

All in all it was a fantastic week. Would definitely recommend the Place on the Bay, its very competitively priced compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — that is was so clean and fresh, and the location
  • Disliked — took ages to get the shower to the right temperature
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StarvedofSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We really don't have enough words to say how we enjoyed our stay at The Place On The Bay. From the 1st. moment we entered the reception area we were treated like royalty. Our housekeeper, Anne, was wonderful and always left our place spotless. She was helpful and always very friendly. I'll surely recommend this wonderful destination to everybody I know.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Leana97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We are well travelled and Fairways is exactly what we've been searching for. Quiet and out of the rat race though in the middle of everything. Close to mid town and close to all tourist attractions. The restaurant is also wonderful. Staff are all very friendly and helpful......we'll be back!!!

  • Liked — Staff and Restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ismit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We arrived at Camps Bay for 5 days. It is the first destination on our honeymoon in South Africa. The area itself is beautiful as is the Hotel Fairways On The Bay. The staff are excellent with ' Marion" in particular being most helpful. We would definately recommend this accommodation and area to anybody. Mr & Mrs Calvert.

  • Liked — Beautiful room & excellent Staff
  • Disliked — The Weather was not good in May:)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunshine-al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Property: The Place on the Bay
Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing