We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful place to stay, fantastic view and charming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #6 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful place to stay, fantastic view and charming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

All the staff were very helpful and the room was spotless and comfortable.
Camps Bay was 10 mins walk away to lots of good restaurants
The view was stunning

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumner023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    92
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
312
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay near Camps Bay to truly experience summer in South Africa. Ocean View Guest House is just outside Camps Bay which was a complete blessing due to the traffic in town. The hotel was easily accessible to Cape Town and all the surrounding sites. The staff was extremely helpful on booking excursions and suggestions of places to tour not only in Cape Town but through out our time in South Africa.

We were lucky to have a recently remodeled room that overlooked the ocean. Although we were on the main road you could not hear the traffic when the windows were closed. Everynight we watched the sunset dip below the ocean from our balcony. It was the perfect place to start our month long vacation and offerred a great value for everything you got. I would recommend this to anyone going to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsullivan805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed at this beautiful guest hous in December. This is a friendly place about 8 minutes walk from the centre of Camps Bay and with excellent views out over the Ocean. It is well managed and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and you find almost everything you need. Pricewise it is not a bargain

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

When searching for somewhere to stay in Capetown we were amazed at how expensive it is to stay (particularly Camps Bay in the summer), so were delighted to have stumbled across the Ocean View House. Located only 1km away from Camps bay (a 15 min walk realistically) you are spoilt with a tremendous location with stunning ocean views and the 12 appostles/table mountain behind you - all for a reasonable price.
The staff could not have been more helpful from our check-in to helping us with sun loungers, cleaning the room etc - they are a credit to the establishment. We stayed in a luxury room which was nicely appointed and totally adequate. Nevertheless if you want to have absolute luxury plumb for the best rooms and they really are truly elegant (very modern). The breakfasts are great with cooked and cold things on offer, although you will have to cater for yourselves at lunch and dinner as its not offered (being a guest house). This isn't a problem though because Camps Bay is so close and has a miriad of restaurants - or you can even get food delivered to the hotel and eat on your balcony overlooking the sea (ask for menu's at reception)! Don't let the 'guest house' tag put you off, it is truly a hotel in its own regard and a place I would gladly go back to.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed at Ocean View for the first two nights of our honeymoon. The location is about 2 miles from Camps Bay centre and a taxi is needed for going to restaurants etc...

Accommodation was good quality and comfortable. Views to the Atlantic Ocean outstanding.

Staff were reasonably friendly, including night security staff.

Overall, a good quality, comfortable base to stay in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

fantastic locations, we had room 16 which was stunning and newly refurbished, and had a huge balcony overlooking the see. 10 minute walk to the centre of camps bay, with lots of bars and eating places, highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks during the World Cup..we stayed in the garden suit..the room was beautiful..spacious and very private. Our private garden was incredible..the 3 story waterwall with Table Mountain in the background needs to be seen to be believed..The location is perfect !! We rented a scooter and zipped 3 minutes to Camps Bays (restaurants,Bars,Supermarkets,Beach) and 15 minutes to The Waterfront (Shopping mall,Marina,Stadium).Chapmans Peak is 10 minutes the other direction. and is truly Amazing.. From the moment of our arrival to the minute we left we were made feel like Royalty.. Ulli, Tania and Lambert were Professional..Friendly..Funny..Kind and very very Cool as was everyone there !! ..Its great value for money..You'll have a great time when you stay here and anyone who says anything different is lying..Thanks Guys..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing