We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CapeTown at its best”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #4 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Ocean view, very friendly staff, very nice room, excellent Food, perfect housekeeping, wonderful garden. Perfect distance to visit CapeTown, Walking distance to Camps Bay Beach, convenient parking, a very safe place.
We will be back for sure! 3 weeks and we enyojed every single day!!

Room Tip: The standardroom was very convenient for us. Room No. 16 We would ask for that again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Verena & Thomas,

thank you for the great feedback!! I think you are one of the few guest I know who realised that one can stay in Cape Town easily or 3 weeks without getting bored!
Cape Town is just so diverse that 3-4 days are never enough!
Thank you and till next time

Katrin Ludik & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Superb breakfast on terrace overlooking the ocean. Rooms beautifully furnished and spotless. Camps Bay has plenty of restaurants and a wonderful beach. The owners were very helpful. There was secure parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for the great feedback!
You said it ALL ;-)

Much appreciated!

Till next time in Camps Bay

Katrin Ludik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Panoramic Suite:
My wife and I stayed here the first couple nights of our honeymoon. The suite is very modern in it's decorations so I can see why some people have said it looks a little sterile. It may not have a "homey" feeling, but it's very clean and reminded me of a upscale hotel. The bathroom was excellent in it's appearance, but the plumbing seemed to be an issue. You couldn't drain the bathtub and take a shower at the same time b/c the water in the shower wouldn't drain.
Other than poor drainage, the room was wonderful. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly. We had no troubles with theft. Parking was gated and we always had a spot. Breakfast selection was acceptable.
Overall, we had a great stay, though we've stayed at equally great places that were less expensive.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Adam,

thank you for your detailed and honest feedback. We always value our guest feedback.

October is the beginning of the summer season and with that also the start of the summer prices, it might very well be some regions and establishments start their summer rates later and hence offer a different value for money experience in the beginning of the season.

Having said that I am glad you did enjoy your stay in our Panorama Suite.

Looking forward to hearing from you again

Katrin Ludik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday at the Ocean View. It is a delightful place to stay with brilliant staff. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is brilliant. It really is a perfect spot to stay, and only a short walk to Camps Bay where there are plenty of restaurants. Don't miss their African buffet night, it is delicious and prepared by their fabulous chef.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imogen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Imogen,

great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you had the opportunity to join Laurencio's "Cape Malay" evening!
We try to host 2-4 themed dinner evenings a month - so I am delighted to hear you enjoyed it and staked with us at the time.
May be on your next visit you can you us for the traditional "Braai" (BBQ).

till next time


Katrin Ludik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ocean View house is a perfect spot near the sea, wonderful and breathtaking views, a lovely garden, perfect rooms and above all super service, Rune and Werner at the front desk took care of everything I asked for. I will definitely come back to this place and highly recommend this jewel. Unfortunately I did not have enough time and the weather was not pleasant enough to spend an afternoon at the pool, but it must be just lovely to relax at the poolside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eja66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Eja,

thank you for your feedback and the review!

We value your feedback and yes many of our guest welcome the location of being close to the sea, with great views, out of the City Centre and yet close enough to walk to Camps Bay beach and the promenade!

Hope toy see you again

Best Regards

Katrin Ludik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are going to Capetown and if you are prepared to stay a little out of the centre, this will be the best choise. Taxi into the Waterfront will be around R100.
The guesthouse is situated on a slope close to the ocean and there is a wonderfull view of the Alantic Sea.
We stayed in room 17 which is large and very nice. The room has a large balcony from where you can enjoy the garden and the ocean.
The place is very clean with polished stone floors and the bathroom is large and well equiped.
The staff is just wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Niels,

thank you for the amazing review and feedback! It makes it just so very special to know how much our guest enjoy their visit to Cape Town and Ocean View House.

Hope to see you again

Katrin Ludik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This guest house is easy to find, right on the main road, but with a divert where one can turn into it. The staff is super friendly, from the from desk, through chef to the gardener. The best, though, is the property, lovely garden and wonderful sea views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ansie7ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Ansie,

thank you for the lovely feedback! I am glad you could find us easily, as it can be confusing with the numbering on Victoria Road.

Yes the grounds are amazing especially now in spring with the Proteas in bloom :-)

Hope you will come down to Cape Town sometime soon again.
Best Regards

Katrin Ludik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
375 reviews
1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: £88 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing