We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #5 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The GH is one of the last buildings outside Camps Bay/Bakoven and one should be aware of this. You need a car but you'll love the view. You cant really walk into Camps Bay, take your car or a Taxi. Its also only 15 min. to V&A Waterfront. Breakfast is lovely, the staff act more like in a business hotel, friendly but not much personal contact, neither to the Management.
We stayed at the Garden Suite which has enough space inside and a huge garden for yourself with the great view. I would recommend the place for a 1-3 nights stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear HDRider,

thank you for your feedback!
I think one of the beauties of Ocean View House is that we cater for both: a 1-3 night stopover but also like the previous person wrote for a 3 weeks stay……there is something for everyone.

Some people enjoy the 1.5km walk to Camps Bay while others take the bike or car into Camps Bay or town.

Generally speaking I would suggest a car in order to explore the City and surroundings.

We noticed that Guests in the Garden suite often "stay-in" and start to relax after a holiday of travelling for many days and weeks from one place to an other!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Camps Bay

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    92
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
319
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langwedel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

very good breakfast, wonderful place, very clean, helpful personel, good base for trips, wonderful outlock to the sunset, table mountain close, good restaurants nearby, 12 apostels behind the loacation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Heino,


what more can I say?! Thank you for the lovely feedback and bridging it to the point :-)
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Cape Town

Best Regards

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Ocean view, very friendly staff, very nice room, excellent Food, perfect housekeeping, wonderful garden. Perfect distance to visit CapeTown, Walking distance to Camps Bay Beach, convenient parking, a very safe place.
We will be back for sure! 3 weeks and we enyojed every single day!!

Room Tip: The standardroom was very convenient for us. Room No. 16 We would ask for that again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Verena & Thomas,

thank you for the great feedback!! I think you are one of the few guest I know who realised that one can stay in Cape Town easily or 3 weeks without getting bored!
Cape Town is just so diverse that 3-4 days are never enough!
Thank you and till next time

Katrin Ludik & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Superb breakfast on terrace overlooking the ocean. Rooms beautifully furnished and spotless. Camps Bay has plenty of restaurants and a wonderful beach. The owners were very helpful. There was secure parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for the great feedback!
You said it ALL ;-)

Much appreciated!

Till next time in Camps Bay

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Panoramic Suite:
My wife and I stayed here the first couple nights of our honeymoon. The suite is very modern in it's decorations so I can see why some people have said it looks a little sterile. It may not have a "homey" feeling, but it's very clean and reminded me of a upscale hotel. The bathroom was excellent in it's appearance, but the plumbing seemed to be an issue. You couldn't drain the bathtub and take a shower at the same time b/c the water in the shower wouldn't drain.
Other than poor drainage, the room was wonderful. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly. We had no troubles with theft. Parking was gated and we always had a spot. Breakfast selection was acceptable.
Overall, we had a great stay, though we've stayed at equally great places that were less expensive.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Adam,

thank you for your detailed and honest feedback. We always value our guest feedback.

October is the beginning of the summer season and with that also the start of the summer prices, it might very well be some regions and establishments start their summer rates later and hence offer a different value for money experience in the beginning of the season.

Having said that I am glad you did enjoy your stay in our Panorama Suite.

Looking forward to hearing from you again

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday at the Ocean View. It is a delightful place to stay with brilliant staff. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is brilliant. It really is a perfect spot to stay, and only a short walk to Camps Bay where there are plenty of restaurants. Don't miss their African buffet night, it is delicious and prepared by their fabulous chef.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imogen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Imogen,

great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you had the opportunity to join Laurencio's "Cape Malay" evening!
We try to host 2-4 themed dinner evenings a month - so I am delighted to hear you enjoyed it and staked with us at the time.
May be on your next visit you can you us for the traditional "Braai" (BBQ).

till next time


Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eisenstadt, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ocean View house is a perfect spot near the sea, wonderful and breathtaking views, a lovely garden, perfect rooms and above all super service, Rune and Werner at the front desk took care of everything I asked for. I will definitely come back to this place and highly recommend this jewel. Unfortunately I did not have enough time and the weather was not pleasant enough to spend an afternoon at the pool, but it must be just lovely to relax at the poolside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eja66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Eja,

thank you for your feedback and the review!

We value your feedback and yes many of our guest welcome the location of being close to the sea, with great views, out of the City Centre and yet close enough to walk to Camps Bay beach and the promenade!

Hope toy see you again

Best Regards

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
1.0 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing