We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View House”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #5 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ocean View House”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Ocean View House was a perfect hotel for us, its location a 10 minute walk into town was a very enjoyable walk or short dive into town. The setting and gardens was spectacular, with excellent roon standards and facillities. Very friendly and helpful staff from reception team to the gardeners. Best breakfasts ever !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Emma P,

thank you for the lovely review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best Regards

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    92
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
319
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had a top floor room, which had very nice views overlooking the pool and ocean. The steps and passageways to get to the room were a little confusing at first. The service is excellent and the breakfast, included in my price, was generous and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHwdCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear PeterHwd,

thank you for the lovely review! Yes I agree at first it can get a bit confusing to get to the top rooms, however the marvellous views from the top floor make quickly up for it!

Hope to see you again some time

Best Regards
Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

When I arrived, I got all neccessary information, I like that I could rent a bicycle, the living room very clean and comfortable. I could leave my windows open overnight and each morning, we got a delicious big breakfast with sea view and it is included in the price. I had a really great time there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Liebe Simone,

herzlichen Dank fuer den netten Bericht!
Ich finde es einfach klasse, dass Sie überall mit dem Fahrrad hin gefahren sind!! :-)
Wer weiss, evtl bis zum nächsten Mal?

Liebe Grüße


Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuernberg
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

phantastic view - we booked a room with ocean view, a very quiet and save place, close to Capetown, we enjoyed the loveley garden. we recommend the codfather restaurant in Camps Bay - great and fresh fisch


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Stefan ,

thank you for your feedback!! I love your Subject line " Little paradise" :-)
and I agree…..the gardens with the old trees and water features combined with sea and mountain views make it very special and tranquil!!
Thank you for being our guest!

Best Regards

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altdorf Bei Nurnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really an excellent accomodation.
Friendly and efficient staff. We received a very warm welcome. Rooms and breakfast are top notch. The garden is a class of its own. The chef provides great restaurant recommnedations is does miracles on the lunch time snacks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomas_hildebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Hallo Thomas,

danke für das nette Feedback! Hoffentlich bis bald mal wieder in Camps Bay

Liebe Grüße


Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The GH is one of the last buildings outside Camps Bay/Bakoven and one should be aware of this. You need a car but you'll love the view. You cant really walk into Camps Bay, take your car or a Taxi. Its also only 15 min. to V&A Waterfront. Breakfast is lovely, the staff act more like in a business hotel, friendly but not much personal contact, neither to the Management.
We stayed at the Garden Suite which has enough space inside and a huge garden for yourself with the great view. I would recommend the place for a 1-3 nights stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear HDRider,

thank you for your feedback!
I think one of the beauties of Ocean View House is that we cater for both: a 1-3 night stopover but also like the previous person wrote for a 3 weeks stay……there is something for everyone.

Some people enjoy the 1.5km walk to Camps Bay while others take the bike or car into Camps Bay or town.

Generally speaking I would suggest a car in order to explore the City and surroundings.

We noticed that Guests in the Garden suite often "stay-in" and start to relax after a holiday of travelling for many days and weeks from one place to an other!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Camps Bay

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langwedel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

very good breakfast, wonderful place, very clean, helpful personel, good base for trips, wonderful outlock to the sunset, table mountain close, good restaurants nearby, 12 apostels behind the loacation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Heino,


what more can I say?! Thank you for the lovely feedback and bridging it to the point :-)
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Cape Town

Best Regards

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
296 reviews
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing