We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #5 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We arrived quite a bit early before the check in time but the staff were great and where able to check us in there and then. We stayed in the panorama suite and it was an amazing room with a gorgeous sea view what a way to wake up every morning and not forgetting the gorgeous sunsets as well.
The breakfast was great and the main chef was really attentive. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day and the turn down service in the evening was fab with chocolates and info on the next days weather. Camps Bay is just down the road with some great places to eat. This was the last stop on our trip to SA and a great way to end. So if you want a lovely setting and friendly staff this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Betty

I hope that you folks are doing well! Thank you for the kind words above.

We do hope to see you again next year...or sooner ;-) All the friendly faces will be here waiting.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    92
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
308
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing, friendly and efficient service apart from that outstanding and beautiful room.
We were truly spoilt with the room and the champagne!!!
Laurencio and the kitchen must also be thanked for their superb service and friendliness.
Also thank Werner for the letter as we checked in late evening and for asking Winston to help us. Winston was great and should be commended on his diligent work.
Your fantastic establishment was the perfect place for me to propose to my fiancé and you have garnered eternal guests that will stay by you in the future and highly recommend Ocean View!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hallo There!!!

Congratulations on the Engagement! I wish you both nothing but to be extraordinarily Happy.

Thank you for picking us for the special occasion.

Please do stop by soon. Best of the future to you both.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location with stunning views of the ocean and mountains. Breakfast is great. The staff are very friendly. We had some lovely walks to the beach and along the rocks. Camps Bay is a short walk away with fantastic restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Good Day Harvey! ☺

Thank you so much for taking the time to write these kind words.

I assure you that we will keep our breakfast at the highest of standards in the hope of your return.

Safe Travels

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machadodorp, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ocean View house is well situated just out of the hustle of camps Bay but near enough to wall into town. The friendliness of the staff was outstanding from the reception to the kitchen and ground staff. The gardens are beautifully cared for and relaxing. Our room was of a very high quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elinor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Elinor!

Thank you for the review above. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us.

We will keep our gardens meticulously manicured in anticipation of your return.

Send our greetings to Mpumalanga

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The guesthouse is in a great location with a beautiful garden and secure parking. The view is wonderful. We really enjoyed the breakfast (including Nutella) and the Lindt treat. We definitely would stay at the Ocean View House again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear HPconny

Thank you for your Kind words above.

I will make sure that we are fully stocked on Nutella & Lindt for your return one day, which I hope is sooner than later. ☺
Thank you for this great review and taking the time to write it. It is appreciated.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent service. Helpful staff. Breathtaking views. Beautiful gardens. Secure. Nicely updated rooms. Reasonable pricing. Just perfect.

This place delivers.

Ayreton (sorry if I spelt thins wrong sir) and Bronwynne are truly amazing staff and need to be recognized for their exceptional commitment to customer service. Bronwynne was amazing in helping us arrange our reservations and details prior to our arrival. Ayreton was a machine and bent over backwards to accommodate every request we had.....Thank you for sending us to Beluga....what a great restaurant!

Excellent hotel. Will definitely visit again when we go back to South Africa.....and we will be back. What more could you ask for.

Stay at ocean view house you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskeynewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
GOOD DAY WHISKEYNEWF!!

WOW...what a sensational Review of Ocean View House! ☺

Thank you for taking the time to write the above....Thank you, Thank you....Thank you!
Your appraisal of the staff and our establishment is highly appreciated and cherished.

Bronwynne & Ayrton sends their regards, hopes to see you soon and wishes you well on your future travels...as does the rest of the team.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

On the quiet side of busy touristy Camps Bay this size of land / garden is unusual for the Atlantic Seaboard where space is at a premium. Nice garden, (rare here) across the road from the sea with good views. Excellent Breakfast. Large rooms & Bathrooms. Own Patio. Very clean and well run. Plenty of parking - Best to have own transport for this part of Cape Town or Taxi (public bus also.) Female Traveller - felt safe on property. June 2014 (out of season) was excellent value for this prime area in Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear sbus2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is honestly appreciated.

We will keep our gardens meticulously manicured in the hope of your return. ☺

Travel Safe and I hope to see you soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing