We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment in a great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Wake up to this every day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wake up to this every day
Only steps from the Ocean Breathtaking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Wake up to this every day
Only steps from the Ocean
Breathtaking
Room for two :-)
Dining in style
Relax in comfort
Cosy !
Gourmet ready
Another nice room
Cooling off required
The Master bedroom with that lovely tub
More comfort
A little gem
Room to,relax and read perhaps?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Pedroamf8...
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cash Extortion”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 4 nights in Feb/March with friends. At the moment of booking we've asked for a discount since the price for us was too high - we were 4 people and this was an 8 bed apartment. The owner agreed and provided a reduction of US$200 from a total of US$1400. After 2 days of our stay a 5th person joined us unexpectedly in Cape Town (for the 2 last nights) and I didn't see any problem on him staying in the house - afterwards there were 4 free beds and we had rented the whole property (regardless of the discount I presumed).

We are only reviewing this now as I'm booking online again and remembered how valuable reviews are to make a final decision on a place to stay.

The situation was as follows:

In the two first nights we had friends from Cape Town coming in for drinks until late. I must admit we have definitely exceeded the noise limits and we have bothered the neighbors.

In the third morning the house manager comes in with a message from the owner: "I've received several complaints from neighbors regarding the noise and people coming in over two last nights. Either you guys pay US$250 extra in cash or I'll call the police and they will through you out of my property".

At the moment we were being noticed our 5th friend arrived and the manager informed the owner of such extra person.

After a few discussions over email and phone with the property owner, we had shown that even if he wanted to charge us for the extra person for two nights, mathematically the discount he provided was much lower on a pro rats basis than the extra value he wanted to charge - we would think that maximum he could had argued was for the whole discount value of US$200. He was firm and insisted that either we would pay US$250 in cash the next morning or the police was throwing us out and he would retain the US$600 deposit.

Even though we believe that there was no legitimacy in order to enable him to pursue his threats, we decided that we either would start a fight that would ruin our last days in South Africa, or we would just pay, poste a bad review and hope that tripadvisor investigates the procedures used by the owner - I beleive that from beginning the correspondence should have been held at tripadvisors level since any extra payment should have been done through the platform.

Additionally it's important to highlight that he insisted that he was paid in cash and not through part of the deposit as we suggested, in order to be on the record and for us to deal with it later - I guess that the deposit is meant only for damages and therefore much more difficult to justify retaining it.

On a foot note - during my discussions with the owner I mentioned constantly that the property still didn't have internet as announced, even though I had already pointed it out at check in (eventually we never got any internet throughout the whole stay) and that refreshing work emails was originating outrageous data roaming volumes (in the end this added up to over US$800 roaming bill amongst the 4 of us).

In summary, I recognize our fails in what concern loud noise and perhaps the unnoticed extra person for two nights (don't think that there is any condition saying that we couldn't have visits though...). In spite of this, we consider that the owner was highly opportunistic and used illegitimate blackmailing tactics to deal with the situation.

All these are facts that are recorded in emails and our opinion on those. We would appreciate the view of tripadvisor on this situation.

The property was delivered in perfect and clean conditions and inspection found no signs of damage or misuse. The deposit was fully refunded as it should. The owner was paid in cash the US$ 250 during our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
This review is a complete distortion of the truth , these guests behaviour was appalling , they turned our home into a party house , we had numerous reports from neighbours about late night noise and comings and goings . They broke the contract which was quite specific on the number of guests and on reflection we should have just tossed them out . The use of words like extortion is headline grabbing and contemptuous. The quests were given a choice to leave or pay the additional charge . The charge actually was related to our property manager having to make several visits to our home and the time and costs associated with this , we had no doubt that had we not insisted on a cash payment we would have never received payment. As owners we offer a high quality home and we and our home were disrespected and I think these people have a cheek in writing this review , their behaviour was outrageous ! For the record we told the property manager to keep the payment to compensate in some measure for the hassle she got from these louts!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakir A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the property was fantastic , the location in Camps Bay was spot on
and the views from the balcony were superb, especially sunrise and sunset.

The apartment was spacious & well maintained - the appliances were of a high spec and high quality.

We also had the apartment serviced 3 times during the week so we could spend more time enjoying Cape Town

Many thanks to Carol/Michael - both were always on hand to answer any queries or help with any issues.

The whole experience was managed really well from start to finish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

A fantastic property with stunning views of the ocean. Couldn't have asked for more with a short walk to the bars and shops of Camps Bay.

Michael and Carol were great and made sure the whole process was simple and easy. I would definitely recommend this villa.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos An...
Santa Cruz do Sul, RS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing