We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Adriatic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Adriatic at Funkey

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Evening drinks at dusk at Adriatic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Evening drinks at dusk at Adriatic
State of the art kitchen
Jacuzzi bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fayecuk
United Kingdom
1 review
“The Adriatic”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you want a relaxing time and a fantastic setting then this is the place to be.
Fabulous 2 weeks centred less than a 10 mins walk to Camps Bay where there is a good vibe in the bars and restaurants.
The Adriatic is everything it is in the pictures and even better when you get there.
Great views of the sea and Table Mountain.
Adrian and Nada were great hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCG2006
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We (2 adults and our 2-year old son) were staying for 7 nights in October at Adriatic. Booking was very easy, the welcome warm and easy. The place is on top of a complex next to the owners house and another vacation rental. We felt very safe, while having full privacy. The place was perfect for our son running around in and out of the house. The pool is great!! It is an real pool where you can actually swim and not only dip. With our little son, we very much appreciated the laundry service, which was included in the rent. In a nutshell, we would fully recommend this place and hope to be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful accomodation”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic place, rarely does a property live up to expectation, this did and more! It is for two, but we were kindly given a mattress for the children and we made good use of the pool and braai even in winter! This place is a real gem, hope to return!
Thank you to the hosts who greeted us warmly, a great stay, thank you.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockles
St. Paul-de-Vence
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A unique luxury experience”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Adriatic on many occasions over the last few years, and booked to return on every visit.

The Adriatic, along with its sister apartment the Apostle (where we have also stayed), are located adjacent to the owners house, where Adrian, Nada and family live. The Funkey family provide a warm, friendly environment for guests. They take care of everything - the property is spotless and cleaned daily by a dedicated team. They really go out of their way to ensure that guests have a memorable stay.

The large pool is solar heated, and the central feature of this unique villa, with glass doors that open out on to the pool and the adjacent outside dining area. This is a beautiful setting, with spectacular views of the sea, Lions Head and Table Mountain. You can even watch the Table Mountain cable car in the distance - and wind surfers descending from Lions Head - all from the garden.

The Adriatic is well equipped for one couple, whereas the Apostle will accommodate a larger group. Both units offer all mod cons, excellent showers and baths, fridge and freezer, good cooking facilities and barbeques. Security is excellent, and WiFi is unlimited, included in the rate.

We cannot speak highly enough about the enjoyable times we have spent at Funkey Place. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitiGent
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yes, it truly is as beautiful and glamorous as it looks in the pictures!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review and I'm delighted that it's for Adriatic at Funkey

I'm a regular visitor to the Cape and was fortunate to discover this fantastic apartment that I have rented 4 times now. Yes, it truly is as beautiful and glamorous as it looks in the pictures; in this case, the camera doesn't lie! For the climate, it's beautifully designed for 'inside/outside' living.

Location is great - in a quiet residential area, walking distance from the centre of Camps Bay - a great asset at weekends and during peak season when parking can be tough. Adrian is a great host - there when you need him, invisible when you want privacy. Maid service is warm and friendly.

I recommend it highly.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
Bannockburn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Stunning property in ideal location with excellent views”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a beautiful property with stunning views to the sea, table mountain, lions head and the 12 apostles. Bifold doors from each room open onto the pool which brings the outdoors in and gives a wonderful spacious feeling. Adrian and Nada are wonderful hosts and cannot do enough for you. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a high quality, well appointed and relaxing location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved all of it there is nothing negative about this property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlliR101
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in the world!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Thank you Adrian and Nada for giving us heaven on earth! Adriatic exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to return to this incredible place. The ocean and mountain views, the pool, the design of the house, the garden simply added to the magic of Adriatic and gave us perfect holiday in Cape Town - thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the house, the pool, and Adrian & Nada's exception kindness and assistance.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing