We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach & restaurants”
Review of Camp's Bay Beach

Camp's Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.07*
and up
Full-Day Cape Point & Cape Peninsula Sightseeing Tour from Cape Town
More Info
US$252.03*
and up
Cape Peninsula: Day Tour from Cape Town
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Cape of Good Hope and Cape Winelands Day Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just up Kloof Nek Road from the center of town is this thriving beach community. Plenty of trendy nightclubs, shops and cafes bring diners and shoppers, while tranquil seas and fine white sand draw sun worshippers and swimmers.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely beach & restaurants”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great beach for walking, a little windy for a long day of sunning. Don't recommend swimming as surf & currents high. Great restaurants along the walk. Parking is not a problem, but recommend you "tip" a local guy 20-30 rand to keep an eye on your car.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank macs157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,264
    640
    94
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Camps Bay”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Enjoyed the food, the restaurant are superb. The beach was also wonderful, very clean and looked after.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Overrated.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Not as impressive as they make out, I prefer Bournemouth although I may be biased on that! Nice views of the Twelve Apostles but for me how can you have a beach when you have to turn your chair away from the beach to face the sun? There are many eateries and shops but I have seen a lot better.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“What is the fuss about”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The view is good and waves dramatic but I'm not sure why everyone rates Camps Bay so highly. Having said that the drive along this part of the coast is dramatic and well worth the effort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We enjoyed a morning on the beach relaxing on deck chairs. Some local vendors approached us selling products & we bought off 1, most just left us alone when we said no, though we did have 1 really annoying guy who was causing trouble.

We wandered across the road to 1 of the many restaurants and enjoyed a great seafood lunch for a very reasonable price

Would stay out here rather than in the city next visit, good feel & relaxed beach vibe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camp's Bay Beach also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Camp's Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing