We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Real Gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Camps Bay Retreat was the first stop on our SA honeymoon and we were not disappointed... the hotel setting was amazing overlooking the edge of Camps Bay and the sea and with Table Mountain in the background.

The grounds and gardens are beautiful and really add to its unique charm. A key part of this charm is the 5 resident dogs and especially the Welsh Springer called Wanda who made the hotel feel a little bit different, less formal and very homely. We stayed in the deck house with its modern spacious rooms which are worth paying that little extra for and never tired of crossing the swinging rope bridge connecting the deck house to the main hotel. A nice touch was the homemade lemonade and biscuits in the room.

The hotel itself is neatly located in Camps bay with about a 2 min walk to the resturaunts and bars. This is okay in the daytime but advise to take advantage of the sister hotels courtesy shuttle service back at night. A real gem...Thanks for a great stay we would love to return.

Room Tip: Deckhouse 9 seemed to have the prime view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for the kind feedback. I will surely pass the compliments and details onto the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    57
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
49
268
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have just returned from the Camps Bay Retreat and despite the location of the hotel being very good, the service was not!

On the face of it the Retreat is lovely with an excellent ocean view but ultimately it is the smaller things that make a holiday and this hotel sadly let us down. The decor wasn't finished well, the shower rooms dangerous slippery and on two occassions I didnt receive clean towels every day.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing us with feedback relating to your visit to Camps Bay Retreat.

As a private nature reserve, we are making a concerted effort in trying to do our bit for nature conservation. Therefore, guests are notified by means of a perspex sign and given the option on having their towels replaced daily should they so wish. This is indicated to housekeeping by placing the towels in the bath tub.
With reference to your comment about our shower rooms. I am not familiar with the slipperiness of these, and have not received any other feedback similar to your comment. All showers enclosures meet regulations set, but we will gladly look into the comment raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I made a big mistake cancelling my reservation here for our first night as a married couple on October 1. I ended up leaving the other place I thought would be better (straight after check-in) and thankfully Henri at Camps Bay Retreat was very helpful and could accommodate us that evening. Thanks for your great service that night, Henri!

The Retreat website understates the property's ocean views, which is why I doubted my original reservation there. The views are real great from the front of the hotel and patio, where you can have a quality breakfast when the weather permits. It is a great space with a big lawn where you can relax your bones with a picnic basket. The dogs that live on the property are really great, and at breakfast really managed to lift our mood after what can be described a disappointing if not disastrous night after our wedding.

The dining room is really homely and welcoming, and so is the food. If at any time you feel claustrophobic in your room (as we all do no matter how big a room may be) there are also good lounge areas with comfortable couches to sit and enjoy a book or a coffee. Camps Bay Retreat is at most a 10 minute walk from the beach, and also has immaculate tennis courts to enjoy.

I could write a long article here about the warm hospitality of staff at Camps Bay Retreat. However, this is not the forum for that, and let me just say the staff and the Chairman of Village and Life was very good and kind to us while we were down there. They have won clients for life in my wife and I, and we really look forward to coming back again and staying in the Early Dyke room.

Also, take note that if this isn't exactly your cup of tea, visit the Village & Life website and see the list of exceptional hotel and other rental properties they manage in Camps Bay. There is bound to be something there for anyone's taste.

My wife and I lived in Cape Town for most of our lives, but now reside in Johannesburg, and our feeling is that Camps Bay Retreat really captures the old, colonial Cape Town charm. It is a wonderful hotel and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Chris

Congratulations on your wedding day. I am only pleased that with our homely environment and CAN DO attitude, that we created "clients for life" in you and your wife.

I will surely share the compliments and feedback with Henri and the rest of the team.

Looking forward in hosting you again during your Anniversary visit to Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had the most Wonderful stay at Camps Bay Retreat... We were on a weekend away to celebrate our Birthdays, and they pampered us from start to finish! Our room in the Earl's Dyke Manor House was beautifully appointed, with a gorgeous verandah / conservatory for us to sit in and watch the sun go down. The Manor House is wonderful for those who love gracious, old world charm, and is very reminiscent of those lovely early 20th century villas around St. Tropez. For those who like a more contemporary touch, there are two other villas, accessed over their famous suspension bridge. The meal we had on our last night was outstanding, with my husband saying it was the best fillet steak he had ever eaten. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Camilla

Thank you for taking the in providing us with feedback. It surely has been a pleasure being part of your birthday celebrations with us.

I will surely pass the compliments onto all relevant departments and staff.

Looking forward in having you with us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

It's quite something to be walking distance away from the party strip on the Camps Bay beach, and just minutes by car from Cape Town central, but still tucked away in a private forest. The grounds are amazing, the staff are wonderful, and the friendly dogs is the cherry on top.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Phillip

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback. We highly appreciate the kind feedback received. The details will surely be shared with all departments.

Looking forward in having you again during your next visit to Cape Town. Sure Wanda would appreciate another guest to play ball with. You surely cannot have enough friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Having had a very busy holiday exploring South Africa this was a perfect ending to a great holiday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel more than welcome...
The walk over the rope bridge to the Deck House was an experience topped by the quality of the room we were allotted. The room or rather apartment was decorated to a very high modern standard and was more than we expected....
The restaurant served food of a very high quality both at breakfast and also in the evening. The staff were excellent and really couldnt do enough for us.
Overall, this is a hidden gem that deserves credit of the highest standard. Loved it...!!

Room Tip: Booking a Deck House room give you the opportunity to walk the rope bridge....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Mr & Mrs Baxter

Thank you for making Camps Bay Retreat your choise of destination during your recent visit to Cape Town and Camps Bay.

It surely has been a pleasure hosting you with us and thank you for taking the time to complete our questionnaire. I will surely pass the compliments onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Service was amazing and attention to detail to was first class. The breakfast was the best we had had in 3 weeks and love the fact you can see the awarding winning chef do his magic from the dinning room.

Its at the bottom of camps bay walking distance to beach but they also have a free shuttle (a merc !!!) with their sister hotel the bay.

its a must for anyone one staying in camps bay !

Room Tip: pent house on the deck house block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Neil

Thank you very much for your kind words. Surely has been a pleasure hosting you with us during your recent Honeymoon trip to Cape Town.

We wish you many returns and look forward in hosting you for your first annivesary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing