We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camps Bay Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Houghton View 13 Apartments(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
328
68
22
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
68
22
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope bridgedeck housemanor housethe main housemountain poollove dogscape townnature reservesister hotelour honeymoonduty managerbreakfast and dinnertable mountainwatch the sunsetwonderful hotelsouth africastunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The informal friendly service was much appreciated. The service in the restaurant was excellent and we found the rooms well designed and comfortable. The dinner at the small restaurant was simply superb.This is a hotel that I will return to whenever possible and I can recommend it without hesitation - to anyone wanting a change from the blandness of large hotels!

Room Tip: All rooms have their advantages - Our corner suite was very comfortable and the Deck House was also well appointed.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Andrew

We are pleased you felt at home during you visit. We aim to provide personalized service to all our guests, and in doing so, maintaining previous comments of "visiting rich relatives abroad".

With our herb and vegetable garden in close proximity of the Manor House, can the kitchen create customized menus daily. With a selection of signature dishes always available, is it best enjoyed either in the Dining Room or Veranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel with marvellous views of the ocean, but we found the service disappointing. For example, when we arrived the woman who greeted us told us enthusiastically about the barbecue they were going to have in two days' time - how it was not to be missed - but when we went along to it, we discovered that there was a private function being held, and not only was there no barbecue, we were not able to have dinner at the hotel at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the deck houses, reached from the main hotel by a rope bridge. The deck houses are unusual and contrast with the old-fashioned conventional main hotel. We would recommend them.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Brian

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to us.

It surely has been a human error and out of habbit. All guests not forming part of the private function, has been notified on numerous occations - either verbally or in writing. Restaurant service remained available all evenings other than the night of the event. Our sister restaurant and complimentary transport were made available to all guests due to the inconvenience caused.

Our famous BBQ evenings remains at the discretion of weather conditions. Keeping in mind the poor weather presented to us on the night, can I confirm the BBQ would have been cancelled should we have hosted it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Camps Bay Retreat as part of our honeymoon. A great first impression was made when we were greeted by the lady on the front desk, who took the time to show us around the hotel as well as the room before checking us in.

The Spa facilities were pointed out as well as the heated outdoor pool and the potential walking tours offered by the hotel. We were then led over the rope bridge to our 'Villa Suite' Room 12 where the lady again, pointed out certain aspects of the room, such as how to use the underfloor heating, the jacuzzi baths etc.

The room also benefits from his and hers wash basins as well as his and hers showers, set in an enormously lavish shower area! Beds are very comfortable and furnished with 2 massive pillows on each side. Quirky complimentary offering of sparkling water and home made lemonade are also on offer. Only negatives were the poor hairdryer in the bathroom and a lack of an iron in the room which we felt were the only grumbles to an otherwise perfect room set up.

The location of the hotel is set conveniently away from the main road, up a hill and approx 5 - 10mins walk into camps bay. Breakfast is served al-fresco on the veranda overlooking the gardens and the ocean. A good selection of cold food was available on the buffet, as well as made to order hot food.

Through no fault of the hotel, I became ill during our stay at the Camps Bay, but their staff went above and beyond to ensure I was ok. Through the hotel we able to organise for a GP to visit, an hour after making the request. Having recommended certain food to eat, I asked the waiter 'Lloyd' if I could have a specific lunch of boiled rice, grilled chicken and steamed veg even though it was not on the menu. The waiter was great and the chef was equally accommodating. The next day I was feeling much better.

All in all a great stay and great service, the dogs also added a light hearted atmosphere to the place as 'Ben' the Golden Retriever would often pinch people's flip flops in a joking fashion! We are looking to return to Cape Town and the Camps Bay Retreat in the future.

Room Tip: Room 12 was set up very well. It does not have a direct view of the ocean, although once out on the rooms private terrace, a very good view can be had from one of the deck chairs.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Camps Bay Retreat for 5 days when we first arrived in South Africa. It was perfect for us. The room was beautiful (Deck House 5), huge, and very comfortable with private deck with view of the sea on one side and a wooded ravine on the other. Everything in the room seemed to have been thought out for guests' comfort. Every member of staff was incredibly warm and helpful, which was wonderful for us as we were in a new continent at the beginning of our stay. They offered directions, helped us solve problems, booked things for us (a hair cut for my daughter at their sister hotel down in Camps Bay).The walk down to the beach through the hotel's own little nature reserve and out of the back gate, is lovely too. The dogs were gorgeous, and made the place more homely. The library is a fantastic room, warm, comfortable, loads of inspiring books and magazines, and lovely touches. The dining room looks over the garden and sea, and the food is superb. Breakfasts were the best out of all the hotels we stayed in in S Africa (and we were there a month): huge choice, beautifully presented, and the special Camps Bay pancake tower should win awards.
The rope suspension bridge over the ravine between the main house and the Deck House/Villa is breathtaking (beautiful and fun).
The hotel is expensive if you pay the standard rate, but deserves to be, and it's possible to take advantage of offers. It's only 10 minutes walk from the Camps Bay bus stop for the City Sightseeing bus, so the city centre is easily accessible, and also it's well placed if you want to start driving south of the city to Chapman's Peak, Cape of Good Hope etc if, like us, you're a bit nervous about your first bit of driving on a new continent and don't want to start driving through central Cape Town. A really lovely place to stay, made so by both the setting and the staff. We can't recommend it highly enough.
We did have a bit of trouble with the spa bath, which dramatically shot water everywhere, but the very kind young man on duty came and rescued us and mopped up!
We have only given 'Sleep Quality' a less than perfect score as the air con/heating thing seemed to have variable settings and woke us up a couple of times.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Best spot for sunset. The room is very big and comfortable. The view is great from the deck. The staff are very friendly, and the dogs are so great, too. The Spa is very good, and the couple package gave us usage of the entire Spa for just the two of us. Definitely will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CecilyXing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews