We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful setting”
Reviewed 12 February 2008

My wife and I stayed here in January for 4 nights. We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience except for the fact that at meal times, particularly breakfast, the service was unbelievably slow and inefficient. Despite the fact that there appeared to be a member of staff for every two tables (usually that meant a maximum of 4 people to be served per member of staff!) it would be 5-10 minutes after sitting down to breakfast before we were asked whether we required tea or coffee and then a further 5-10 minutes before the drinks arrived. At that point we would then be asked what we required off the hot menu and that would take a good 10 minutes to arrive. The staff may or may not remember to ask whether or not we required another tea/coffee. On our last day nobody bothered to ask what we wanted for breakfast - fortunately we'd already decided just to have the cold buffet that morning! If the management would just train the staff properly this would be the absolute perfect place to stay.

  • Liked — The spacious room
  • Disliked — The service in the restaurant - staff inadequately trained
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    62
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
51
280
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in December. We had a superior room in the new section which was lovely and had a great terrace outside. The place is very convenient for camps bay just 5 mins walk from the centre but also feels lovely and peaceful.

I would have given it 5 stars but there were a couple of things that let the place down. I e mailed to book 6 months before and had confirmation but the hotel e mailed me a few days before to cancel the booking but did reinstate it when I called them. in general the staff were very random and disorganised, they seemed to be missing any sort of management.

We also arranged for late check out at 8pm when we originally booked but they no logner wanted to do this, eventually they did agree but moved us into this room outside the gates of the place that was really horrible (don't be tempted to stay in the cheap self catering rooms, you could do better for that price elsewhere!). They also wouldn't give us a pass to get in and out of the complex so we kept having to hang around for ages to get in. It left us with a bad impression, for a nice hotel you expect a good experience right to the end, its a shame they don't think like this.

Despite this I would go back because the setting was so nice.

  • Liked — Setting and rooms
  • Disliked — staff were disorganised
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The room we stayed in was great, big with very modern, smart decor. It led out to a large terrace with a table & chairs and sun loungers.
This hotel has a great location out of the very busy camps bay but just a few mins walk to the centre.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
There is also a spa where we had very good massages.

  • Liked — great room decor and space
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo7236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

This was the last stop in our South African leg of our honeymoon... and we saved the best til last.

It took a bit of navigating to find the Retreat as it is located in a residential area, a 10 minute stroll from the centre of Camps Bay.
Our room was in the main building (room 3), a 1920s converted villa, and overlooked the gardens at the front of the house, with a view of the Atlantic Ocean. The room was large and very tasefully decorated. A nice touch was a bottle of homemade lemonade and some freshly cooked biscuits.

From the moment we arrived we felt completely relaxed and in a haven of tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of Camps Bay.

A highlight of our stay was dinner in the hotel on our last night. This was a 4 course fish bbq and was some of the best food we had been served during our stay in S Africa (all of which was excellent). We ate al fresco as the sun set with the heat and light of the camp fires keeping us company.. a fantastic memory.

The extensive, mature gardens, the polite and courteous staff, the luxurious room and the quality of food all serve to make this hotel a place of real understated elegance and a perfect getaway destination. We can't wait to return!!

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

What a find this place is! It’s in the same group as the Camps Bay Hotel on the seafront, but so different. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by everyone. First impression when you drive there is that it’s in the middle of a residential district, and I couldn’t make out anything on the brochure. But when you get into the houses and see the view….it’s an unobstructed view of the sea, with lots of greenery, beautiful gardens and if you stay in the deck house, a magnificent suspension bridge to walk over a small gorge. Our room was on the top floor of the deck house, with a lovely balcony and sea view. Nice room, well appointed with bath and shower (actually in the same room as the bed so you need to be good friends!) TV, DVD, good toiletries etc – all you’d need. Two pools on the property, and the whole place is so quiet it’s unbelievable. If you go to Camps Bay main street in the evening you’ll see why you should choose this over the main Camps Bay Hotel if you want some peace.

The food is fantastic (actually, we’ve never had a bad meal in South Africa), and it’s not much more expensive than a street restaurant. Wine is also very good, and again, reasonably priced with some really good value bottles on offer.

The staff are very attentive and friendly, and I have to mention Sandi in the restaurant who was really good and kept us amused for two whole evening meals. Meals can be on the terrace on indoors, and it was a delight to get a cooked to order breakfast served until 1100hrs, and served in the sun.

Camps Bay and the surrounding area is a good base, and it’s only an 80 rand taxi fare into Cape Town. It’s an easy 10 minute walk into Camps Bay, where there are good bars and restaurants – as usual, all good standard and inexpensive.

If you’re spending any time in the Cape Town area, you really should consider this place – you won’t be disappointed...

  • Liked — Rooms and food
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

The description of “a retreat” is spot on with this hidden treasure. Away from the busy city and overlooking a beautiful beach with white sands sits Camps Bay Retreat. After an overnight flight we arrived about 11am and they invited us for some breakfast, and provided us with a wide selection of muffins and cooked breakfast even though they had just finished serving.

The main house is warm and cosy with log fires and comfy chairs, whilst the rooms in contrast are bright and modern. We stayed across the rope bridge in one of their superior rooms. We were welcomed by home made squash and shortbread, a cosy room and a wonderful view. My favourite bit of the day was coming back from breakfast to find a flower and choc on my pillow, a good night message on the bathroom mirror and a fluffy hot-water bottle under the duvet ready to warm my toes!

I have to warn you – its not a room to have if you are shy or not in a couple – the room is open plan so when you take a shower or have a bath – in a beautiful Victorian free standing back, you do so in full view of your travelling companion! Don’t panic though the toilet area does have a door!

The food in the hotel is fantastic – but my recommendation would be to fill up on a wonderful breakfast then head to Camps Bay for a light lunch of oysters or sushi and a glass of wine whilst watching the waves. “Tuscany Beach” was our favourite daytime eatery – excellent value and the quality of the sushi was amazing. For a more special evening meal head along the beach to Paranga and listen to the funky jazz in a very classy environment – full of very beautiful people!

My only disappointment was from the helpfulness of the reception staff, they were not happy to help us with restaurant reservations or guide us on the area. Luckily for us we well armed with our copy of the Lonely Planet!

On our visit to South Africa we stayed in some exceptional places, and its only because of the comparisons with such high standards elsewhere that this place did not get a very deserved 5!

  • Liked — Food, Location
  • Disliked — Open plan bathroom and bedroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

The Camps Bay retreat is an opulent guest house hotel set slightly back from the bay. With a distinct opulent and colonial style,the rooms are a mix of those within the main house and villas in the surrounding grounds.

We were in a room in the main house - lovely dark wood and a bathroom each! The hotel itself is very reserved and quiet - exactly what it says..a retreat. We ate one night in the restaurant, and although the food was lovely, the ambience was a lttle too guest houseeque for us...ie eating in someones front room, with everyone speaking in hushed voices as there is no other noise - also, all the food appeared to need to be served at the same time as everyone else which added to the guest house feel. Luckily, the retreat is just a five minute walk down to the Bay where there are loads of restaurants - the Bayside Cafe and Paranja were particularly good.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely, although it wasnt really warm enough for us to use the pool - and there was too much sightseeing to be done anyway!

The best thing about the hotel for me was it's serenity, we had a lovely open fire in our room, which as it was a little chilly at night, we had lit - there is nothing nicer than a good bottle of wine, sat in front of a roaring log fire. The hotel were great too - we even phoned them from the restaurant so that they could light the fire ready for our return...great touches!

A fantastic serene place, but at times felt a little libraryesque, but it was perfect for us after long days sightseeing. We e-mailed the hotel before we went and they reccomended the sightseeing company to use and we had a private whale watching tour at Hermannus (highly reccomended) and a day long vineyard tour - great if you like wine!

if I was going back to Cape Town, i would definately stay again, the breakfasts were excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Liked — The rooms and the lovely log fire!
  • Disliked — The queitness and guest house feel to the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank missie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing