We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hotel Delivers 6 Star Service”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Five Star Hotel Delivers 6 Star Service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nestled on a bluff overlooking the Atlantic, Camps Bay Retreat is a great place to kick back and be pampered like royalty. Breakfast is included with other meals available on request. Staff are very attentive and are always available to assist.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomersOffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear valued guest


We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was fitted for a king! The Camps Bay Retreat team is glad to contribute to a relaxing holiday.

We adore the photos and are pleased to see that you enjoyed the breath taking sunsets from the lawn.

We hope to have you visit us again!


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    61
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
50
277
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Amazing is a word to describe this place, the accommodation, food, spa, scenery, facilities and staff hospitality were off charts.

The place is great for couples, on a honeymoon or holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohIbrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for all the compliments! We are glad that you have enjoyed everything that Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

We will let the team know to keep up the good work!

We wish you the best.


Kind Regards
Camps Bay Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I picked this hotel as it was near my co-worker, for no other reason, but upon arrival, I was wishing I was there for vacation with time to enjoy!

The room was a good size, with a lovely balcony, which overlooked the water. The balcony was shared by 2 other rooms, but was large enough to not be an issue, and had dividers close to the room itself, giving you private space. I was in the deck house which was further from the water, but still had quite nice views. Due to the wind, you can sometimes hear the cars on the road below the hotel, but it isn't bothersome at nighttime, as you can mostly hear the ocean.

I participated in the braai one evening, and it was a nice treat. The tables on the veranda overlooked the water with a beautiful sunset, so ask for a table near the front of the show. The dinner was buffet style, but came out in 3 distinct courses still. The hotel dogs wandered through the dining area, which may not have been enjoyable for some, but I love dogs and enjoyed the company. The staff was very friendly throughout the whole stay, helping me arrange transport to sites on my time off from work.

The hotel is not necessarily close to the city centre (only 15 minutes by taxi), but you can walk to the beach in less than 5 minutes, and are a 5 minute taxi from Table Mountain.

Overall - great stay, looking forward to coming back for fun next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear valued guest


Thank you for your amazing review. We are pleased to hear that you have had a pleasant stay.

The amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean and listening to the waves break, makes Camps Bay Retreat a peaceful refuge. Our traditional braai every Wednesday and Saturday night should not be missed and is a special occasion.

We can't wait to have you visit us again!


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was just what we needed... a retreat after almost 24 hours of traveling from So. Texas to Cape Town. We were made to feel quite at home in our large room and bath in the main house and had a great view of the Twelve Apostles, the rope bridge and herb garden. The girls had a suite across the rope bridge with the mountain view plus the Atlantic! After they booked a massage, we joined them for coffee and cappuccino in front of their cozy fire. Oh yes, and the fire in the reception area felt sooo inviting on the drizzly nite we arrived. Service was superb. I could not ask for a more accommodating staff....ie. when I asked about the "Hadeda" I was not only given a description of the bird but also later was brought a print out on them. Breakfasts could not have been better, no matter what one's choice...hot made to order or cold from the lovely buffet. We had the eggs creatively described on the menu as Big Ben, Cheerful Wanda and Blonde Benedict. We also tried Waffles as well as Oatmeal. I especially liked the apricot and cranberry juices and breakfast pastries were fresh and plentiful! Our one dinner there surprised us with the quality and perfectly cooked Beef Fillet! We viewed some beautiful sunsets from the dining room and bar. We lacked for nothing. We were so pleased with the relaxed atmosphere created by the well trained staff. While there we felt secluded, but also felt it convenient for our trip down the Peninsula, for the day of Table Mountain and Kirstenbosch Gardens, and for our day to tour Cape Town. I like "the beach" and was disappointed I did not get to visit Glen Beach...........due to inclement weather not "Our Retreat". If you have an opportunity to stay here, you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear valued guest


We are happy to hear that you had such a relaxing and delightful stay at Camps Bay Retreat!

Our large garden and 360 degrees of scenery makes one feel secluded and offers the opportunity to enjoy the natural beauty surrounding Camps Bay Retreat.

We are glad you enjoyed our fresh and plentiful breakfast buffet. We are very proud of our signature Chalmar Beef Fillet that features on our dinner menu.

The Camps Bay Retreat team hopes to see you again in the future, where you can enjoy sunny days on the beach. We are happy that the cosy fire and coffees made up for the bad weather.

Thank you for all the compliments. We will inform all the staff to keep up the good work!


We wish you all the best.


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here to be close to Cape town but have a country house experience.

We cannot be more positive about the hotel, its staff and the quality of the meals/breakfasts and rooms.

This was so peaceful, beautiful and luxurious. yet so close to Camps bay centre and Cape Town.

It was our honeymoon and they made us feel special.

We stayed in the Villas with huge spa bathroom and double shower. the little touches made it special such as home made lemonade refreshed every day in he room and treats on the turned down bed at night.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear valued guest


Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we contributed to your memorable honeymoon.

The kitchen prides themselves in their homemade treats and we are glad you appreciated their passion and hard work.


The Camps Bay Retreat team is looking forward to have you visit us again!


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Sooo relaxed, yet sooo five star!

Everything of Camps Bay Retreat is opulent. A very swift check in was followed by Jenni taking us around the grounds. The boutique hotel is situated on a private nature reserve, so they even have a map of all the buildings and walks so that you do not get lost!

We stayed on the romantic package, which included a 40 minute massage and 20 minute spa bath. Great experience from professional staff. I think part of the magic is that the staff appear so relaxed, which makes the experience for the guest, in turn, even more relaxing.

We stayed in room 11, which is opposite the swing bridge in the "Deck House". The room is fresh and modern, with open plan bath. The television is a bit outdated and the reception not great, but we didn't even watch television more than a few minutes after we arrived.

We were served canapes to our room before sunset and had the most amazing Heritage Day braai dinner (it was on Heritage Day - a public holiday in South Africa). The dinner consisted of a three course meal of truly South African favourites - yay! It was great seeing the staff explaining the different types of food to the foreign guests, who also loved it (we are local).

The dinner was truly amazing. Again, amazing service, but soo relaxed.

When we returned to our room there was another surprise waiting for us from the staff as part of the turndown - great!!

Then.. the breakfast - amazing!!!! One can order hot breakfast off a menu - I had the Benedict Blondie - incredible eggs benedict. The cold breakfast is also truly five star, with individual pastries amongst others.

The location is also great, as one can walk straight accross the road down to Glen Beach (very secluded), or about five minutes down Victoria Road to all the shops and restaurants Camps Bay has to offer. The Bay Hotel, in the main stretch of Camps Bay, is also owned by the same owners as CBR, so one can also use their facilities.

Overall, a fabulous experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deck House is obviously much more modern, Earl's Dyke (the main house) has a colonial feel. So p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing review of Camps Bay Retreat.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy all the romantic aspects Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

I have let the kitchen know that they exceeded your expectations and to keep up all the good work.

We hope to welcome you back soon to one of our famous Traditional South African Barbeque evenings.

Wish you all the best for the future.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay there especially in the old manor house which only has only 4 suites. There are perphery buildings around with other rooms.Being in the hospitality industry we were impressed with the details in the rooms and the great staff that we wanted to employ! Jenny we want you! The view is amazing, the gardens, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and feels like a friends country home . Not too slick . Lovely sitting room and living areas downstairs just like home. And the sheer luxury of a restaurant in such a small hotel with a great chef AND pastry chef . Breakfast pastries were freshly made ! Great coffee as well. It was a great part of our overall experience in Cape Town. Don't miss the fabulous drive along the coast to cape point. Thank you . We love to have this as our home and the dogs too !

Room Tip: Manor house , pay more to get a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review Camps Bay Retreat.

I am so glad that Camps Bay Retreat exceeded all your expectations.

The mountain pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, turns Camps Bay Retreat into a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had.

I will let all the furry friends know you send them your regards.

Wish all the best for the future.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing