We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic start to our honeymoon”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here in mid October for 2 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was amazing, both the breakfast and the restaurant/bar. There is a stunning view from the bar & terrace overlooking the gardens & out to sea. We had an amazing room which was really a suite, with a walk in wardrobe & great shower. Great toiletries (always important!). Turn down service with pillow chocs. As it was our honeymoon we returned one evening to find rose petals on the bed & a bottle of chilled bubbly waiting for us! We had dinner at the roundhouse one night & highly recommend it - amazing food & service. And the hotel had a Porsche which would turn up to ferry us around some times when we asked for a taxi! Pretty faultless really! Also love the friendly resident dogs & open fire. Thank you Camps Bay Retreat!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

It is amazing to know that we played a part in your memorable honeymoon in South Africa.

It is great that you were able to indulge in all the beauty and the extra small things Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you return.

Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We didn't stay here, though it looks lovely,but came for dinner on two occasions. Once we ate outside, the other inside as it was raining.both meals were excellent, there is a good wine list, and helpful and charming staff. Very good experience, enjoyed the company of the resident dogs!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Retreat Kitchen.

No matter the weather either rainy or sunny, your dinner experience will be unique.
The crackling fire in the dining room ensures a cosy meal and when the weather plays along you can enjoy the beautiful view from our veranda.

We are looking forward to have you dine with us again.


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is the sister hotel of the Camps Bay Hotel about 5-10 minutes walk away. The main part of the hotel only has a few rooms, the others are 'deck' rooms accessed by a rope bridge. A mix up on arrival put us in the main hotel (no balcony or outside space) instead of a deck room as we had asked. It was an hour or so before it was sorted and we got the room we requested.
The deck rooms are good. Ours may have had the best view (room 9) and plenty of outside space.
Breakfasts were utterly chaotic. The staff (too few of them it seemed) were unable to cope with the simplest of tasks - setting and clearing tables, getting coffee and making toast (bizarrely often only toasted on one side).
We had dinner once. I had an excellent steak. One of the small resident dogs piddled on the dining room carpet which was an excellent antidote the rather stiff atmosphere! There are plenty of restaurants about 10 minutes safe walk away which we went to on the other nights of our stay.
There were numerous small housekeeping issues in our room, irritating and constant. They eventually got sorted - just before we left. We were aware of others who had similar complaints.The duty manager (cant remember her name) was sympathetic and did her best to sort things out for us.
Would I stay again? Possibly but the breakfasts and housekeeping are most definitely not 5 star.

Room Tip: Unless you are going in winter and want to keep warmer, i suggest a deck room and number 9 especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Management at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. We take our guests satisfaction very seriously and are glad we managed to sort most of the problems out before you left.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 3 days in a suite overlooking the sea, this was upgraded because we were on our honeymoon. Suite was very spacious with all mod cons including a nespresso machine! Breakfast was delicious and we ate dinner at the restaurant 1 night (lamb and steak) and it was very enjoyable. We also had a fabulous lunch on the day we left and this was possibly one of the nicest sandwiches i have ever had (the beef & horse radish one). The staff were mostly very attentive but at time forgot small things. This wasn't a big issue because overall our stay was magnificent! Thanks for a wonderful stay in a wonderful setting. Hopefully we can return again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mareesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Value Guest

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at Camps Bay Retreat.

The Retreat Kitchen puts great effort and passion in the dishes they create. We will inform the chefs to keep up with the good work.

We hope to see you return, maybe even for your 1 year anniversary!

Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Rolling grass lawns. Beautiful gardens. Stunning sunsets. Rope-bridge. Great food. 2 swimming pools. Walk to the beach. Spa treatments. House dogs are a delight. Rooms modern and comfortable. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deck House 11. At first we felt like we were tucked away at the back of the property, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreVanKets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear valued guest


Thank you for all your compliments! We have a great team working very hard to ensure you enjoy all aspects of what The Retreat has to offer.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the beautiful views, sunsets and our charming dogs!

We are looking forward to have you visit us again.


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Sitting above Camps Bay the "retreat" is well named. While you can be in the bustle of the beach at Camps Bay in a few minutes this property opens it's arms to you and looks after you with great food, service and accommodation. Walking across the rope bridge to our deck room was magic and the layout of the rooms was novel albeit the light switches can be puzzling after a good evening. Wholly recomended

Room Tip: Go high up on the decks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dls_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear valued guest


Thank you for your positive feedback! We are delighted to hear you had a memorable stay at Camps Bay Retreat.

We do agree that Camps Bay Retreat has a front row seat to the most stunning sunsets and who better to keep you company than Ben. Blondie, Gina and Bella!

We wish you all the best.


Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel really is beautiful and we loved crossing the rope bridge to our deck house room. The service however was v disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was a shambles with no croissants or granola. We had to ask for our coffee twice and it eventually turned up 20 mins later. Some of the staff are great - others totally useless. We asked the receptionist how to get to the beach club and she just didn't seem to be able to do this nor was she able to produce a simple bill. It was our honeymoon which we did inform them of but received no recognition of this. Only on check out were we informed we should have had a special turn down service. The property was actually quite noisy as well especially if it rains - it sounds really loud on the plastic roof! Definitely take your ear plugs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyfoster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
333 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £183 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing