We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Several other guests on repeat visits used this title to describe their experiences at the hotel. From the start we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The setting was idyllic and the rooms comfortable and luxurious. Breakfasts and dinner served on the terrace were beautifully cooked and presented, with plenty of choice to suit every taste. The view was just so romantic. We stayed in the deck house which was peaceful and a short distance away across a suspension bridge across the stream.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaanbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Management at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Jaanbec

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Camps Bay Retreat.

This really is a little hidden gem with the ideal setting and we are glad that you also appreciated all the other aspects of your stay with us.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    57
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
49
268
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our last stop after weeks of touring South Africa, The Garden Route and going on Safari.

What a great choice and this came highly recommended by our travel agent.

We had rooms in the main building which were very stylish and even had thoughtful touches like power sockets for UK clients that were the same as we have at home so no need for adapters.

The attention to detail and genuine warmth of staff was very refreshing and helped us chill out.

The spa is a very exclusive arrangement and when you book the whole place will be yours.

The hotel has its own nature reserve and you can wander down through the gardens and exit through a private gate to reach the main promenade of Camps Bay itself. This is a down hill walk all the way.

No need to worry about climbing back up to the Hotel as all you have to do is to pop into The Bay Hotel on the promenade and they will arrange for a complimentary chauffeur driven luxury BMW or similar to drive you back. This hotel is part of the same group as Camps bay Retreat itself.

The hotel grounds are superb for just relaxing in and the staff are on hand for anything you may need.

One of the features of the hotel are its dogs and we had the pleasure of meeting all of them. A few of them are in the pictures we have added to this report.

Breakfasts can be taken in the small but very exclusive dining room or on the terrace which overlooks Camps bay itself.

We enjoyed our meals and snacks and also partook an evening meal in the restaurant.

The hotel has excellent security and guarded and gated entry.

The grounds also have a swimming pool and tennis courts.

We noticed they had herb gardens and must grow their own herbs.

On one evening we opted to eat in the Bistro at The Bay Hotel and they laid on a complimentary chauffeur to take us and return us.

We felt like royalty with the overall treatment received and it was a pity we could not stay longer but our flights were booked and we had to get back to reality!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be reached by crossing a ravine on the hotels India Jones style suspension bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Wacky the Wizard

Thank you for taking the time to review all aspects of your stay at Camps Bay Retreat. It is great that you felt like you could relax when you arrived here as that is what we strive to achieve.

We are so happy that you felt like royalty during your stay with us and we would love to show you the same service should you return.

Kind Regards
Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Staff are friendly and efficient. The views are terrific out over the bay. The food is inventive without trying to show off too many skills and portion sizes are sensible. There well maintained grounds to walk in and pools and a tennis court. This is a small hotel that competes strongly on the world stage.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear ABC_1956

Thank you for your positive review of Camps Bay Retreat.

It is great that you enjoyed all the aspects of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to our beautiful property in the future.

Kind Regards
Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is a really relaxing place to unwind, sit back and take in the views. The food both at breakfast and at dinner was excellent. Private sun decks and rolling lawns with views down to the bay were awesome. Even the presence of the two resident dogs added to the 'at home' feel of the hotel. Quite a climb back up the hill from the town but worth it!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear FermanaghKeys

We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us at Camps Bay Retreat.

The dogs are one of our main attractions and we are glad that they were able to give you that home away from home feel.

We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful property in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Room 5 in the Deck House and the room was lovely, with an open plan design & lovely spa bath. Unfortunately due to the rain we didn't use the private deck with sun loungers or the pool. The rain also woke us up and prevented a good night's rest as the roof over the bath area is plastic and very noisy when it rains. We loved the suspension bridge that we had to use to get to the main house & the gardens are extensive but not well kept - we tried to follow the path through the gardens but some parts were overgrown. We enjoyed a barbecue outside until it poured with rain - and I'm afraid that the staff were not as prepared as they should have been to accommodate their guests on tables inside. The food was delicious though and there was a good spread for breakfast. Courteous staff and the use of their car (a Porsche so my husband was happy…) to transfer to the Cape Grace on our departure was a treat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PubLover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps By Retreat Tean at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear PubLover7

Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.

We hope that you will have better weather should you return so that you are able to use all of our facilities. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and have passed the compliments on to the chef.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Grounds & views are breathtaking - watching sunset over luxury BBQ food amazing & very reasonable for the quality produced, staff faultless esp Kirsty who just couldn't have done more for us were so professional, accommodating & second to none - accommodation spotless - would never consider staying anywhere else

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Management Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear SuzanneOffaly

Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to you possibly celebrating another special occasion with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nestled in a nature reserve, yet minutes from the hub of Camps Bay the Retreat is ideal.
I have been coming to retreat for some years now, but the staff on this occasion really couldn't have done more for me.
Highly recommends; tennis on the court with views of both lions head mountain and the Atlantic Ocean, mountain pool for relaxing and if the weather allows a massage in the tent.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: My friends adore the privacy and style of the deck rooms, I love the charm of the suites in the mano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Carole O

I am delighted to see that you love being welcomed back to our beautiful hotel and it is always a pleasure hosting you.

We look forward to many more visits from you in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing