We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch in stunning surroundings”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was recommended to us by friends and how wonderful it was to enjoy perfect solicitous service with stunning view of the sea. The public rooms are old colonial style, classy and comfortable. Food was up to the high standard we have come to expect and love in South Africa.
We will be back next year. Couldn't remember the name of the nice wine we had there so sent an email from UK and got an immediate helpful email reply....UK needs to learn some lessons from SA!!

Room Tip: We came for lunch only but it looked a fab place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachhouseGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear CoachhouseGL,

We are overwhelmed with the great response and amazing comments that you have written about our lovely establishment.

We as a Hotel strive to give all our guests the best service we can provide.

Kind Regards

The Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    61
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
50
277
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here . The views are stunning. Really friendly and my 2 year old loved the dogs especially Ben . The reading room is a great touch and the dining is excellent . We will stay here whenever we are in capetown regardless of the season .

Can't wait to return

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paultoptooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Paultoptooth,

Thank you so much for the great response, the staff misses you and your family as they have grown to know exeptionally well.

We can not wait to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Kind Regards

The Campsbay Retreat Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 14 at the end of our first visit to South Africa. We had a room in the deck house which was lovely, with a distant view of the sea. The weather was disappointing for the first few days with periods of torrential rain, storms and high winds which limited our sunbathing activities and we awoke one morning to find part of the floor soaked - obviously the heavy rain in the night had got through the plastic roofing over the bath area.

We found the servicing of the room to be a bit haphazard - we had no turn down service one night, on another 2 occasions the maid appeared whilst we were still sunbathing (the rain eventually stopped) - and asked if she could turn the room down - which meant that the towels we used to shower with before heading out for dinner weren't changed. We also had intermittent refilling of the lemonade and biscuits - some days they were replenished and some days they weren't - the same with the toiletries. Little things that seem petty to complain about - but when you reflect back on them, affect how you remember the hotel.

Overall, the staff were very pleasant and allowed us a late check out at no extra cost which was good as our plane didn't leave until early evening.

The only thing I didn't like was the breakfasts. We had an inclusive rate or we wouldn't have eaten there after the first time. The cooked breakfast was the problem - I asked for an omelette with peppers and onions - when it arrived the peppers and onions were raw and barely warm. On another occasion I had fried eggs which which were overcooked - the yolks were solid. In retrospect I should have complained at the time - but I didn't want to make a fuss and just didn't eat it - I'm trying to overcome my Britishness about complaining and have resolved the next time that I have a disappointing meal I will say so then and there - otherwise how can they have the opportunity to put it right.

Lets finish on some positives. The views from the terrace are great - and sharing a Pimms as the sun sinks into the sea is a very special memory. The steaks at the BBQ were great - cooked to perfection. The room was big, the bed comfy and our private sunbeds on the decking were great to relax on. There were also plenty of brollies to borrow during the first few rainy days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Bevandmark2,

We trust that you are well and that you have settled nicely back home. The weather by us is slowly moving towards winter.

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the constructive criticism, If we have known that this was the situation and that you were unsatisfied with some aspects of the Hotel we could have changed it around. These comments will really help with future training sessions that we are working on.

We hope and trust that you will have a great season back home and that we will one day come back and visit us again on our lovely terrace.

Kind Regards

The Camps Bay Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This property is in a gated location just a couple of minutes from Camps' Bay and Table Mountain. The rooms are spacious and really nicely done. We had our own private deck and sliver of a view of the ocean. The main house has a library with a computer and printer for guests to use. The hotel restaurant overlooks a beautiful view of the ocean. Our room was in the other house which you have to walk over a suspension bridge that has a view of the ocean which was fun for us, but may not be for older guests.

The owners let their 3 dogs roam around, so if you are a dog person, this may not be a good property for you. The staff at the property was very helpful with recommendations and made sure to warn us about an upcoming storm. This is a lovely hotel in the prime location of Camps Bay and was a deal compared to other options. We booked via Go2Africa and had checked rates on Expedia. Both were better than booking directly with the hotel significantly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadewin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Alias,

Thank you for the magnificent review, we really enjoyed your company.
We trust that you will have a great year filled with laughter and fun.

Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Beautiful little gem of peace and tranquility within an easy walk of all the action on the sea front strip and a short taxi ride to the many and various restaurants around Kloof St. The polite and charming staff just make for a very relaxed stay. There are magnificent views out over the ocean, leave your window open at night and let the sound of the waves lull you to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Alias,

Thank you so much for the Great review, we Value or your comments.
We hope that you will visit us in the near future for yet another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Camps Bay Retreat Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had Room 15 which is best descrived as a mini suite as it had large ditting area and a large deck with sun loungers. Bath rather oddly placed right in front of main door but also separate shower so it wasn't a problem. What did bother us was no wash-hand basin in toilet which meant walking to separate bathroom area to wash hands. The other "oddity" is positioning of light switches which are in a sort of alcove away from the areas they serve. That said, this is a lovely place to stay and the staff are willibg and helpful. Apart from breakfast, which was good, we ate out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Alias,

Thank you for the review, the information that you have given us is extremely helpful and will allow us to look at these issues when we will be doing routine maintenance.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the stay and hopefully you will visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our holiday as we wanted a bit of luxury and feel rested before returning home. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with wonderful views of the ocean. We stayed in the deck house which has nice rooms. The bed was comfortable with the best pillows ever. However, the servicing of our room was haphazard. We only had I turndown service out of 3 nights. The food in the restaurant was disappointing by South African standards. The Beef Wellington was tasteless and the meat dry, the staff did not pick up the fact that this was hardly eaten. Breakfast buffet was ok and on our last day we had a late lunch before departing. The waiter messed up the order regarding a Duck Confit salad and bought the fries out after the meal was eaten. There are two very similar dishes on the menu and it was hard to differentiate what was what. It was only when we received the bill that we realised that we had eaten the wrong dish! I had the grated beetroot salad, which consisted of a cup full of grated vegetables and a few morsels of feta cheese served on the most ridiculous plate. There needs to be someone in charge of the dining room and to pay more attention to detail and the same with housekeeping.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sunny deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly1_23860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Management Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for the indepth review.
We have also responded on all your review from our email system and we trust that you know that we will definitely take these matters seriously and make sure all neccessay training falls into place.

Kind Regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing