We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in Camps Bay end of January 2014, it was our second time. This time it was in SA summer time. It was wonderful. Thank you all Camps Bay for your help, lovely service and fantastic dining.
My husband forgot in our previous hotel his blazer with mobile phone in the pocket. Manager Henry from Camps Bay Retreat very kindly offered to collect my husbands blazer, even it was 60km away. Thank you. How fantastic!
We got the recommendation from our travel agent Imagine Africa in London, they do have very good knowledge, undestanding and feeling about the local hotels, markets and restaurants. We wanted special, private and personal small hotel with features. It was spot on.
We can't wait to go back and enjoy the glorious view and atmosphere Camps Bay has.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelasimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Kaelasimi

We at Campsbday Retreat really enjoyed host you and your husband on you well planned holiday, we strive to hear these stories and it makes us stronger knowing that we have accomplised your biggest dreams.

We hope to see you in the near future and that you will stay for a longer period.

Kind Regards
Operations Manager
Marco Fourie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    61
    20
    15
    10
See reviews for
50
274
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a gorgeous room the size of an apartment that was beautifully cleaned and expertly styled each morning by the charming and diligent Diana. The food was fantastic and the dog Ben was the playmate our daughter rushed out to see each morning. The staff really make this place - to name two that stand out for me, Marco and Bernard - both of whom are a real asset to the hotel. My only complaint beyond the over complex TV in our room (why does one need 6 remote controls for two TVs?) and the tiny swimming pools. That said we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Huge room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Jenny M,

We really enjoyed reading your review, we will make sure that all the relevant staff gets notified that they have been mentioned on Trip Advisor which will definitely motivate them.

With regards to the TV remotes we will definitely look at having one universal one for each room.
We are sure that Ben misses you and your family.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was the first accomodation on a 11 day trip to South Africa - our first trip there - and what a great place to start at. Beautifully positioned, great staff, great room in the Deck House with its own great view and wonderful meals on the terrace too!

We arrived just in time for dinner and were immediately accommodated in the open restaurant which was quite busy. We had a great meal and though at the time that this was a good portent of things to come - and we were right!

After doing the tourist thing on the Red Bus and the Table Mountain cable car we were able to take advantage of their link with the Camps Bay Hotel and be driven back up in one of their Porsche courtesy cars!

Then when we left - grudgingly but we had to move on! - the same Porsche whisked us off the Cape Town International!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianahop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Brianahop,

Thank you so much for the excellent review, we really appreciate the fact that you had som much positivety in the words you decribe our hotel. We hope that we have not set the standards to high for the rest of the trip.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your home away from home.

Kind Regards
Marco Fourie
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This was the beginning of our trip along the Garden Route and we were very pleased we were offered this hotel. The rooms were clean, with complimentary tea, coffee, water and wifi. We had turn down every evening, when they also turned on the underfloor heating (being from the uk, really not needed!) and bedside lights. Loved the jacuzzi bath! Yes, the sink is not located in the lavatory, but only a few steps to the bathroom area :)

The buffet breakfast offered cereals, fruit, muffins, cheese, colds meats and yoghurt, and various cooked breakfasts on request. Service was always prompt and polite.

Wouldn't hesitate on staying or recommending this place again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DevonBexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear DevonBexter,

Thank you so much for our nice review, we trust that we will see you in the near future.

I hope that the year ahead will be filled with joy and happiness.

Kind Regards

The Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was recommended to us by friends and how wonderful it was to enjoy perfect solicitous service with stunning view of the sea. The public rooms are old colonial style, classy and comfortable. Food was up to the high standard we have come to expect and love in South Africa.
We will be back next year. Couldn't remember the name of the nice wine we had there so sent an email from UK and got an immediate helpful email reply....UK needs to learn some lessons from SA!!

Room Tip: We came for lunch only but it looked a fab place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachhouseGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear CoachhouseGL,

We are overwhelmed with the great response and amazing comments that you have written about our lovely establishment.

We as a Hotel strive to give all our guests the best service we can provide.

Kind Regards

The Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here . The views are stunning. Really friendly and my 2 year old loved the dogs especially Ben . The reading room is a great touch and the dining is excellent . We will stay here whenever we are in capetown regardless of the season .

Can't wait to return

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paultoptooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Paultoptooth,

Thank you so much for the great response, the staff misses you and your family as they have grown to know exeptionally well.

We can not wait to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Kind Regards

The Campsbay Retreat Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 14 at the end of our first visit to South Africa. We had a room in the deck house which was lovely, with a distant view of the sea. The weather was disappointing for the first few days with periods of torrential rain, storms and high winds which limited our sunbathing activities and we awoke one morning to find part of the floor soaked - obviously the heavy rain in the night had got through the plastic roofing over the bath area.

We found the servicing of the room to be a bit haphazard - we had no turn down service one night, on another 2 occasions the maid appeared whilst we were still sunbathing (the rain eventually stopped) - and asked if she could turn the room down - which meant that the towels we used to shower with before heading out for dinner weren't changed. We also had intermittent refilling of the lemonade and biscuits - some days they were replenished and some days they weren't - the same with the toiletries. Little things that seem petty to complain about - but when you reflect back on them, affect how you remember the hotel.

Overall, the staff were very pleasant and allowed us a late check out at no extra cost which was good as our plane didn't leave until early evening.

The only thing I didn't like was the breakfasts. We had an inclusive rate or we wouldn't have eaten there after the first time. The cooked breakfast was the problem - I asked for an omelette with peppers and onions - when it arrived the peppers and onions were raw and barely warm. On another occasion I had fried eggs which which were overcooked - the yolks were solid. In retrospect I should have complained at the time - but I didn't want to make a fuss and just didn't eat it - I'm trying to overcome my Britishness about complaining and have resolved the next time that I have a disappointing meal I will say so then and there - otherwise how can they have the opportunity to put it right.

Lets finish on some positives. The views from the terrace are great - and sharing a Pimms as the sun sinks into the sea is a very special memory. The steaks at the BBQ were great - cooked to perfection. The room was big, the bed comfy and our private sunbeds on the decking were great to relax on. There were also plenty of brollies to borrow during the first few rainy days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Bevandmark2,

We trust that you are well and that you have settled nicely back home. The weather by us is slowly moving towards winter.

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the constructive criticism, If we have known that this was the situation and that you were unsatisfied with some aspects of the Hotel we could have changed it around. These comments will really help with future training sessions that we are working on.

We hope and trust that you will have a great season back home and that we will one day come back and visit us again on our lovely terrace.

Kind Regards

The Camps Bay Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing