We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Arranged the "flight of wines" lunch and helicopter package with the 12 apostles. Due to unexpected illness we had to postpone our meal various times. Dealing with the concierge- Dale and Masood was such a pleasure. They couldn't have been more helpful and understanding.

We ended up booking a night at the hotel and we're so glad we did. Absolutely beautiful!! The lunch at the Azure restaurant was nice but I felt a bit under whelmed. The portions were huge but lacking in style and taste. Our waiter explained that they had some dishes on the menu which was prepared by the executive chef and some which was prepared by the owners (or management).. my recommendation? - let the chef deal with the menu! There was a very long wait for food and the general ambience was poor. Having said that- the room was gorgeous and the staff very pleasant.

The highlight for me- the concierge.. going above and beyond. We will be staying for longer next time- thank you Masood and Dale!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champagnetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope you will consider returning in the not to distant future. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,298 - 1,304 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. The Leopard Lounge is wonderful for both high tea and sunset-viewing cocktails! The staff is friendly and efficient. The only drawback is the distance to the activities in Cape Town, however, the hotel van was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope you will consider returning in the not to distant future to experience some of the other unique aspects to the resort. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We've just returned from 2 spells at 12A (start and end of holiday) and the level of service remains very high indeed. Nothing is too much trouble from a loyal and dedicated team and it really is a pleasure to see many familiar faces still there some four and half years after we first stayed at the hotel.

The views are spectacular and the "vibe" is a little different to the city hotels, much more personal and relaxed with a real tranquil atmosphere. If the pace is a little too relaxed for you, fear not as Camps Bay is only 5 minutes away and both the bustling Waterfront and Downtown Cape Town can be reached in one of the hotel's cars in about 20 minutes.

The rooms are wonderfully fresh and the beds some of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Breakfast is served from an extensive buffet over looking the ocean and the quality of food and service remains throughout the day if you choose to eat every meal in 12A. We ate in both the Leopard Bar and the Azore restaurant and the selection and quality of food and wine is excellent in both. Sometimes it is difficult to steer yourself away to one of the wonderful restaurants elsewhere in Cape Town! But concierge were very good at organising some wonderful dinners in the city, offering some of the world's best cuisine.

So, if you want a good old fashioned 5* service with plenty of places to relax and enjoy the vista and sunshine then this is the place for you. It is much quieter and tranquil than the Waterfront, but, we think that is part of it's charm. So much so we are already trying to work out how we can return next year!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel for views, rear for total peace and tranquility.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for returning to us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa year on year and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are delighted that you have made us your base in Cape Town and we look forward to many future stays with us. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We loved the views, the concierge, the driver of the shuttlebus, our nice room and... the birthday cake (njam, njam). Good communication with the hotel manager afterwards. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vrancken-Dreesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope you will consider returning in the not to distant future to experience some of the other unique aspects to the resort. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed at the Twelve Apostles with my girlfriend for one night during November 2011. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed, taken to our room and we settled right in. The service of the staff was excellent, and very friendly. The hotel has an amazing charm to it, with a light summer atmosphere and very elegant. Beautiful comfortable room and wonderfully decorated to suit the atmosphere. Very nice bathroom, clean, modern and stylish...Had a wonderful sleep in the huge bed...Had a late breakfast at the 2nd floor bar/lounge on the balcony with incredible views over the ocean...Food was very good and service was perfect...Very friendly staff and all round, a perfect stay...Would highly reccomend this!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope you will consider returning in the not to distant future to experience some of the other unique aspects to the resort. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed for one night here and had been really looking forward to doing so after reading the reviews (indeed we had thought about booking to stay here as our main CapeTown hotel). There were somer very good aspects to the hotel - check in and reception were excellent, really friendly and helpful. Generally the hotel is well designed and stylish. It has a lovely libray and a compact but effective fitness room. However, there are some things that let it down and some things that simply can't be changed. First, the things that let it down - service is poor (we waited an hour for a pot of tea at the pool and had to remind them twice), Azure is a real disapppointment (we waited 45 minutes before ordering and we weren't the only ones). The food is fine (though unexceptional) and there is a good wine list: however the feel of the restaurant is now a rather dated British seaside hotel that has seen better days with a musty smell (that affects some other common parts). And then the things that can't be changed: what you don't see in the photos is that the main road from Camps Bay to Llandudno passes directly in front of the hotel and so whilst there is a great view in many respects it is compromised by the sight and noise of the road. Also, be aware that the hotel is quite small and the two pools are small and can seem cramped. The size and shape of the hotel also affects the rooms. We had a luxury room and had a balcony to the side (looking to the sea and the mountain but mostly to the road) and a small window at the front - the rest was wall in a rather florid wallpaper.
All in all, we were quite disappointed - though pleased that we had tried it and found out that it wouldnt be the right place to stay for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do value all feedback both positive and negative and I am most disappointed that you found our service levels below your expectations in some areas. This is something that we will address urgently as we pride ourselves in not only being a warm and friendly resort but also offering the highest levels of service.

We are located along the scenic coastal road which runs from Camps Bay right down to Cape Point and whilst this is one of the most scenic roads in South Africa, at times it does become popular with locals and tourists enjoying its views. The ambient noise is of course alot lower than being in a city centre which may have affected the usually quiet tranquility of the resort.

Again I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us, many of our guests choose to stay much longer and experience some of the unique aspects the hotel and the location has to offer.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Our recent trip to South Africa was one of the most wonderful holidays we have ever experienced and a special mention must go to the staff at The Twelve Apostles Hotel in Camps Bay. Nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail and quality of everything - from the food to the daily card informing guests of weather, things to see and do and the cocktail of the day, - were perfect. Brett Davidge - the Hotel manager and his team deserve the highest accolades for making the experience an all round dream.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcevoyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are delighted we were able to offer you a unique experience at the hotel and hope your time here fills your memories for many years to come. We look forward to you returning to the hotel on a future occassion and perhaps we can conjure up a few more memories for you.

Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £255 - £807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing