We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My fiance and I were given a weekend at the 12 Apostles by a friend for our engagement present, and what a present it was! We were booked into a gorgeous suite complete with a guest bathroom, oversized balcony, a gorgeous living room, and amenities upon amenities, and even congratulatory champagne! We decided to head to the Waterfront for the day so we took advantage of the complimentary shuttle rides from the hotel and back, made our lives so much easier. We then enjoyed our afternoon in the outdoor jacuzzi as well as the indoor spa facilities.

The view from the suite (room 421 I believe) was a bit disappointing because the view of the ocean is obstructed by the large trees, but that is the only point where I can complain about the view. The sunset from the Leopard Lounge balcony is just gorgeous. Also eating breakfast over the ocean was stunning. View aside, the breakfast was fantastic! Such a selection even for a picky eater like myself.

The staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. A small point that really put the icing on the cake was that they have dried fruit at the check-in desk, PERFECT!

I can't wait to come back someday and bring my parents, I know they'll be just as smitten as I am.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xv0nsam9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards.

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    180
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
249
934
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

True luxury with every detail thought of, incredible views, excellent food, great service and all the amenities you could want. Its a very special place. Our room was quite small but elegantly appointed. The Azure restaurant was delicious.
Of note, this hotel was a distance from other attractions. There is a complimentary shuttle that runs once per hour into Camps Bay and the V&A waterfront so as long as you plan around that, its fine.
Don't think twice about staying here you won't regret it. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wherenext_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will consider returning to us on many future occasions. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Twelve Apostles has a stunning location near Camps Bay, Cape Town. Our room opened out to an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean and some stunning sunsets.
Oyster and Champagne for breakfast.....are a real treat.....as well as everything else you could want. Dinner in the Azure Restaurant is terrific...with many great dishes...Try the Cape Malay curry and watch out for the sorbet with a difference.
The staff...from the maids to the General Manager always provide smiling helpful and efficient service...it makes us feel very special. We go to South Africa twice a year....and each time spend a good few days at the Twelve Apostles....the only place to stay in Cape Town!!

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Morley

Thank you for your kind comments and as always we look forward to seeing you returning to The Twelve Apostles on many future occassions.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Melloney Crawford Van Leeuwen:

Our fairytale wedding was 2 December 2011. Thank you Stephanie Hall for making it the perfect day of our life!

The Perfect day starts with the night before the wedding at The twelve Apostle Hotel and it ends the day after the wedding at the Spa....

Best time of our life!

Room Tip: any room you choose is beautifully decorated and stylish. Each room is special. We used 3 different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melloney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to celebrate your wedding and for sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers. I will also ensure that Stephanie Hall is made aware of your comments and the impact she has had on your special day.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groombridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Although other travellers extole the virtues of this hotel, my husband and I were somewhat disappointed. Although we had a superior room, it meant stairs and ceiling fans to get to our room which was extremely small but completely over the top with lots of glass mirrors and a ridiculously fancy headboard. There was just room for one small armchair squashed in front of a table between the bed and the patio doors. No indoor comfort whatsoever. To add insult to injury it was impossible to get a table on the very small balcony adjoining the Leopard Bar due to the fact that we were inundated with non-residents and if we go into a bar for a drink then we do not expect to see food served. Apart from dining in our hotel and we had no option due to the location and the horrible Camps Bay area it is completely unacceptable to dine in an expensive restaurant with customers coming in to eat complete with babies and buggies.
Yes, believe it or not, in were wheeled the buggies to be parked at the side of the parents and one couple had to take turns wheeling their little darling back and forth in the hope he would fall asleep but to no avail, they took turns but eventually had to give up and leave. We did make the mistake of forgetting that Christmas and New Year are the main school holidays in South Africa. A small pool and a rock pool - no beach access - and very disappointing.
Then, of course, there are the weddings which restrict the guests movements as they take over. I guess being elderly we are not very tolerant so this review is for the "old folk".
Domino

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominofananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and please accept our sincere apologies that your experience was not what you or I would have wished. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room here and I would be happy to look at a specific category that would better suit your needs in future. The majority of our rooms are individually designed with unique layouts so I am convinced that there is at least one which would suit your needs.

Our Leopard Bar balcony is limited in seating area and it is important that our resident guests to be able to enjoy the sunset. To this regard our Azure Deck is reserved exclusively for diners and resident guests to ensure they have that opportunity. We do serve food within the Leopard Bar and this is typically an up market bar snack.

I am sorry the restaurants in Camps Bay seemed to be over run with children and I can only attribute this to the time of year being Christmas.

The hotel is very popular for weddings but also for anniversaries, birthdays and special occasions. I fully understand your frustration with regards to the number of weddings during your stay. Feedback from other guests also indicated this and therefore we have made a conscious decision to limit the number of weddings taking place during this festive period.

Thank you again for staying with us and we sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to return and I will gladly oversee your time with us.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

WE had 6 wonderful days at the Twelve Apostles at the end of a 3 week trip to South Africa. The whole trip was great - but to end it at 12A was a pinicle of our experience. We have been priveledged have stayed in some wonderful hotels on all the continents - but the 12A tops them all. The facilities in-room and in public areas could not have been bettered. The staff so skilled, courteous and friendly. We could not find a single fault and the dining was superb. Thanks to all the staff.

Jim and Sue Thatcher - UK

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights at 12A and we must say it is the best hotel we have stayed in. The location is wonderful with the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. The staff were genuinely friendly, always smiling and remembered our names. They couldn't do enough for us. Thanks go to Dale who helped with best deal for a helicopter ride also printed our boarding passes and arranged for us to stay in our room until 7pm without charge! The food was superb especially the breakfasts - so much to choose from! The shuttle service was a great perk and thanks go to the lady driver (can't remember her name) who was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our room was superb with a very very comfortable bed with crisp linen and the bathroom was wow!! We would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Cape Town area and we will definitely come back sometime. David & Patsy Bond

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing