We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views and great service.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here and were really impressed by the service. From the moment we checked-in to the moment to checked-out, there was nothing but first-class service. The view from the restaurant terrace was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was fairly good with lots of variety in the food. We also had dinner at Azure and pretty good as well.

The shuttle service is great since the 12A is not exactly in the city. The shuttle drops and pickups at The Camps Bay and The V&A Waterfront. One of the days, the shuttle driver actually took us directly to Table Mountain!

If we were to come back to Cape Town, we would definitely consider the 12A again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug9394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such a splendid time. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards.

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    180
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
249
934
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I decided to book myself and my (then) fiance in to the 12A for a few nights before the wedding as we were staying with family up until then and wanted some time to chill out, relax and get some good sleep so we were all fresh for the wedding as I had been feeling quite stressed and not been sleeping well. This place was absolutely perfect for this- the bed was huge and so comfortable, the staff really looked after us, the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast was outstanding. I especially liked the experience of having the breakfast outside with the sea next to us. Another thing that hugely helped in terms of relaxation is that we both went for a hot stone massage at the spa which was absolutely amazing- we both kept falling asleep it was so relaxing. We also used the mini cinema which we had to ourselves so could choose the movie we wanted to watch and were also given sweets and popcorn. I slept amazingly well here which was fantastic as I then felt relaxed and chilled out (as much as could be expected) on my wedding day so I really rate and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmanusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The service leaves a lot be desired. The staff were rude, upon checking inn we had to wait half an hour at the lobby before we could be attended to. The bad service continued during our stay and given the bad service we received in general I would not recommend it to anybody.
Only few staff members went out of their way to give a good service (Emelda and Patric in particular). If the personnel had the two mentioned staff members' attitude it would be among the best places to stay at when in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mametse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and please accept our sincere apologies that you found the service not what you or I would expect at The Twelve Apostles.

This is highly unusual as it is one area where in the majority of cases we receive numerous accolades. I know our Guest Relations Manager has written to you separately and hope that you will reconsider returning to us at The Twelve Apostles. I can assure you that our team put every effort into ensuring that our guests not only have a superb stay with us but that they return to us year on year as part of the Family.

Once again my sincere apologies and we look forward to you allowing us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

the last stop on our honeymoon brought us to this very special hotel. small and quiet a well trained staff and beautifully appointed rooms. the views have to take the cake here, from the bed you can watch the winds push around the seas and crash against the rocks for hours.
small, but efficient gym.
great service - among many things that stood out, arranged for a nice and prompt dr to come see my wife in our room.
great breakfast.
very cool looking spa, but was underwhelmed with the treatments them selves (scrub/massage) while trying to be up sold on more treatments a majority of the time.
cab to and from the waterfront got a bit redundant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlusty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff take great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your treatments in The Spa but thank you for making us aware of this so that we can make the appropriate changes.

Please also consider our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family, they are well worth including on your itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We wanted to treat ourselves and this hotel achieved all our hopes.

As with previous comments, the staff were just fantastic, from the cleaners to the management.

Nothing was too much trouble, including sourcing and delivering some medication for my wife, and the courtesy transit service was just great, with polite and punctual drivers

The bed linen seems to a male to be a strange thing to comment upon, but even I felt it was a bit special!

Go there--you will not be disappointed, but just ensure that, if you want to dine in the Azure restaurant, you book well in advance

I hope we may be able to return

We had tea at probably what is considered the best hotel in Cape Town, and were so pleased we chose the 12 Apostles--not pompous and very friendly

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipUK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will consider returning to us on many future occasions. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My BF treated me to an overnight stay and a spa treatment for my birthday. It was a rainy Easter and the views of the stormy Atlantic were stunning. Swimmers were undaunted by the weather and could be seen enjoying the heated outdoor pool.

Our room was beautifully appointed, although it had no view. The bedding was exquisitely luxurious and I received a complimentary chocolate birthday cake. The spa treatment was called 'Escape by Elemis' and it was like nothing I've ever experienced before. Body brushing and firm pressure full-body massage for 90 minutes had me in a state of total rexalation afterwards.

Supper was at the Azure restaurant and if you are not a lover of 'fancy food' this might not be your style. However my Chalmar beef fillet was wonderful! After a good night's rest we tackled the breakfast buffet which was excellent. The Danish pastries had me going back for more, and the creamy haddock was a real treat.

Once breakfast had settled we headed off to the grotto underneath the hotel for a dip in the heated plunge pool. What bliss! I felt adventurous enough to try the brine flotation pool which is only knee-deep and not heated [eek] but which simulates a float in the Dead Sea. I will never forget my few minutes in that water - definitely worth a try.

After checking out and saying goodbye to our hosts it became clear to me that the difference between the Twelve Apostles and other hotels is that the staff not only make you feel welcome, but also important. All the staff members we encountered smiled and greeted us. One young man was sweeping a porch and stopped what he was doing for just a moment to smile and greet me as I walked past. One starts to get the feeling of what it might be like to be famous!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanievanderMeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will consider returning to us on many future occasions. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I got married at the 12A, and besides that (which was actually great), the hotel itself will make you feel like a king/queen: Every single person at the hotel is very kind, and made us feel very special.
The location is amazing: you have the mountains on your back and the ocean in front of you... and nothing else around.
This place (and everyone there) gave us even more than we expected and asked for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sromero27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
322 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing