We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

It is very difficult for me to write this review as I doubt my words could do justice to this hotel.

Cape Town, being a major tourist destination, has numerous 5* hotels but the difference you will find between those hotels and the Twelve Apostles mainly has to do with the staff. They really make you feel like you are part of their family during your stay there. The Twelves Apostles is classed as a boutique hotel and really does offer a different sort of experience to large cookie cutter 5 star chains that all seem the same. If you want luxury and something different and better the Twelve Apostles is the place for you…from the food to the service I guarantee that you won't be disapointed!

This hotel stood out to such an extent that we chose to have our wedding here. Our Wedding was so perfect that we felt like royalty. The staff thought of everything and decorated the honeymoon suite beautifully. We were so impressed that we recently organized my grandmother's 80th birthday at the hotel as well and it was fantastic as usual! I should give special mention to Cyril and Esther as well as the Wedding planner as they always do more than is expected!

Location: This hotel is near to trendy Camps Bay and 15 minutes drive from the Waterfront but is secluded enough to make you feel like you are in the country. All you see around you are mountains and the sea... The sunset views are amazing and it really is the perfect place for romance and relaxation as it never feels too crowded.

One thing I must say is if you want to be downtown and walking distance from everything this is not the hotel for you. Although they do go as far as to offer helicopter transfers to the Waterfront if you don't want to take their shuttle service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMAdvisor, Front Office Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to spend not one, but two very special occasions with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories and would be privileged to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

I am delighted to hear that our staff took very special care of you whilst here and that Cyril, Esther and Stephanie had a positive impact on your time with us. I will ensure that this is shared with them and the rest of the team at our next employee appreciation party.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Abraham Mouton
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Nothing has changed at the 12 Apostles since being there almost 2 years ago with my wife for our anniversary. It is still the best value for money you can get anywhere in the Cape Peninsula.
There might be cheaper stay overs but this is an experience to remember.
The service levels are very swift and competent and the facilities are as good as I've experienced anywhere in the world. The various bar and restaurants are truelly beautiful and only matched by exquisite food and cocktails. There really is everything here from a full spa to a gym to a library in a sunroom to a movie cinema to cater to every need.
Well done on keeping things the same in economic times where others shirk on service etc.

Room Tip: My only recommmendation is to stay at least 2 nights and stay in a Supreme room if available. Pre-b...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMAdvisor, Guest Relations Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such a splendid time. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards.

Abraham Mouton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have just returned home after spending a blissful 9 day stay at the closest thing to heaven on earth possible.

I barely have the words to describe The Twelve Apostles Hotel in Camps Bay, Cape Town.

From the moment one arrives at this paradise nestled against the mountainside and overlooking the ocean, the service, the kindness, the unbelievably wonderful friendliness of every single staff member has to be experienced to be believed.
Every request is received with a smile and a willingness to serve.
The food, the stunning decor, the spa, the in-house entertainment...all unbeatable.
To top it all our friend's Scottie Haggis, and Poodle Sidney, were also welcome everywhere we went in this pet-friendly hotel, which caters for pets who are even offered their own dog and cat menu!
I have NEVER stayed at such a wonderful Hotel anywhere in the world. I will NEVER stay anywhere other than the Twelve Apostles in Cape Town ever again.
Well done, Tolman family. Your Staff RAVE about working for you! They love you and it shows by the exceedingly high standards they offer the guests at all times.
WE ALL LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hushpuppysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMAdvisor, Front Office Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Abraham Mouton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a week of sheer luxury at this lovely boutique hotel set between the ocean and the mountains. Our room was beautifully appointed with our own terrace looking over a breathtaking panorama. All meals were of a very high standard but it is the staff which really make your stay special. Nothing is too much trouble and concierge Dale consistently went out of his way to ensure that we experienced the holiday of a lifetime. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers6274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will consider returning to us on many future occasions. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here and were really impressed by the service. From the moment we checked-in to the moment to checked-out, there was nothing but first-class service. The view from the restaurant terrace was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was fairly good with lots of variety in the food. We also had dinner at Azure and pretty good as well.

The shuttle service is great since the 12A is not exactly in the city. The shuttle drops and pickups at The Camps Bay and The V&A Waterfront. One of the days, the shuttle driver actually took us directly to Table Mountain!

If we were to come back to Cape Town, we would definitely consider the 12A again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug9394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such a splendid time. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards.

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I decided to book myself and my (then) fiance in to the 12A for a few nights before the wedding as we were staying with family up until then and wanted some time to chill out, relax and get some good sleep so we were all fresh for the wedding as I had been feeling quite stressed and not been sleeping well. This place was absolutely perfect for this- the bed was huge and so comfortable, the staff really looked after us, the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast was outstanding. I especially liked the experience of having the breakfast outside with the sea next to us. Another thing that hugely helped in terms of relaxation is that we both went for a hot stone massage at the spa which was absolutely amazing- we both kept falling asleep it was so relaxing. We also used the mini cinema which we had to ourselves so could choose the movie we wanted to watch and were also given sweets and popcorn. I slept amazingly well here which was fantastic as I then felt relaxed and chilled out (as much as could be expected) on my wedding day so I really rate and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmanusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The service leaves a lot be desired. The staff were rude, upon checking inn we had to wait half an hour at the lobby before we could be attended to. The bad service continued during our stay and given the bad service we received in general I would not recommend it to anybody.
Only few staff members went out of their way to give a good service (Emelda and Patric in particular). If the personnel had the two mentioned staff members' attitude it would be among the best places to stay at when in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mametse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and please accept our sincere apologies that you found the service not what you or I would expect at The Twelve Apostles.

This is highly unusual as it is one area where in the majority of cases we receive numerous accolades. I know our Guest Relations Manager has written to you separately and hope that you will reconsider returning to us at The Twelve Apostles. I can assure you that our team put every effort into ensuring that our guests not only have a superb stay with us but that they return to us year on year as part of the Family.

Once again my sincere apologies and we look forward to you allowing us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Warm regards

Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £255 - £807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing