We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a wonderful experience,the entire team was extremely friendly and very professional. Every single member was willing to offer us their service.The attention to detail given to every single thing in the hotel is out of this world. Our expectations were exceeded! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we recommend the place to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Juliana & Jimmy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    178
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
240
916
35
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was so looking forward to staying in this hotel as for some reason it is highly rate by many people I know. What a disappointment! The hotel is so outdated and they charge you an arm and a leg to stay there! The food at their restaurant was well below average. But the worst part about our stay was their dirty spa, although the treatment I received was very good. Their heated pools were very dirty and the paint was pealing everywhere. I wrote management a letter, not to be rude but to rather supply them with constructive criticism. If this was my hotel I would certainly want to know so that I can improve things. I didn't even get a reply or a simple phone call from them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RemeHarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay in April 2013 at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

I am most disappointed to read that you had such a bad experience and we did not live up to the high expectations set by so many people you know. Any feedback we receive from guests, the good and bad is vital to us and gives us a measuring tool to improve our product and service where needed. I am also very disappointed that the letter you wrote, which we always accept as constructive did not reach my office. I can assure you that any feedback we receive in writing directly at the hotel will always be responded too. This is our opportunity to clarify and or rectify any challenges you may have experienced in a positive way and hopefully following that we could welcome you back as a regular guest to your home away from home.

Should you still have this letter available I would appreciate if you could forward this to me again on horst@12apostles.co.za and I will personally take this matter further.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanston, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Every staff member is proud to be working for the company. I watched the young trainees as they worked. They were aware that they were there to learn. Each and every one of them took pride in what they were doing. Future managers stood doing pool duties. As guest got out of the pool they would be handed a towel. Waiters served meals like they were being examined by an imaginary boss. It was fascinating to watch. Management were also very visible and I overheard how courteously they addressed their subordinates. Then two staff members were amazing. Lauren Tittely and Dane Goldschmidt took the honours. Lauren has not ceased to impress me over a one year period. She still works to please her guests relentlessly. Dane has a way with people which will am sure, make him a leader in the industry one day. The Tollmans should be very proud on what they have achieved.

Room Tip: The Mt view is quieter by the sea view is awesome. You pay less to see the Mt. Rooms are all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was out third visit. We just can't get enough of it. It is such a remarkable hotel. Excellent staff, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are maintained to an extremely high standard. The food, whether breakfast, lunch by the pool, a meal in the Leopard Bar or dinner in Azure Restaurant are all fantastic. Perfect in every way. We're already looking at booking our 4th visit. But......don't tell anybody I want to save it all for ouselves!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This review is a little delayed as we stayed here in May 2013 but none the less our time spent at this hotel was amazing! Our travel agent suggested this property to us and I am so glad that she did as this was the perfect start to our honeymoon throughout Africa. The hotel itself is beautiful, with unreal views. Our room was huge, beautifully appointed, and extremely comfortable. We used the hotels car service 2 or the 3 nights that we stayed, and both drivers were great! We never had to wait for them to pick us up. The spa is definitely worth checking out, if only to relax + soak in the pools {look for the pool that mimics the dead sea}. The breakfast buffet was such a nice treat every morning, with a great variety & friendly service. Definitely stay here if you are traveling to Cape Town, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and baby stayed at in a sea facing suite from December 9th through December 16. During our stay, the concierge booked all of our activities for us, and we were not disappointed. We ate at both restaurants, flew from the waterfront back to the hotel via helicopter, enjoyed a 3 hour couple massage while the babysitter tended to our daughter, had a private driver that took us to the vineyards, and rented a car for a day to drive to Cape Point. The service all around was 5 star. Staff remembered our names and tended to our every needs. Will stay again next time we are in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Room 101 - on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hark1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel was not only stunning but also full of super friendly staff!
I took my 3 kids there in December and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves-
The hotel really is the most fab location with spellbinding views from many different points of the hotel. We even saw whales swimming in the sea from the pool area one afternoon-we were permanently on the lookout for them!
We had a room which we could access from teh pool/spa area which really worked for us as hte kids could run in and out of the room whilst I managed a bit of lounge lizzard time without worrying about them!
A definite must go if you are lucky enough to go to SUPER STUNNING CAPETOWN!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyvmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is with great pleasure that I read your lovely comments following your stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa. We absolutely love children in the hotel which is perfectly suited to children of all ages. We have a number of activities in and around the hotel making sure the kids are entertained and the adults can have some down time. Children love our two pools especially the rock pool and our private 16 seat cinema with 5 shows a day, complete with popcorn, candy and milkshakes.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing