We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Property - Amazing Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to start a trip of a lifetime in South Africa at this fabulous hotel. The entire property is lovely, the views amazing! Accommodations are plush, the food is excellent but what truly puts this hotel at the top is the service! Every single person is simply there to make your every need, desire or wish happen! They are truly happy, beautiful & genuine...nothing stuffy, everything is truly their "pleasure" and they mean it! Lauren Tittle at the concierge desk went above & beyond accommodating special requests, including getting us into one of the top five restaurants in Cape Town, The Test Kitchen, for dinner on a Friday night! You usually have to book five months in advance! When we couldn't get a tour to Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens & Constantia that we had hoped for, she arranged a personal driver for us for the afternoon! From the moment they greet you on arrival with a refreshing glass of sparkling wine, to the last hug as you head out the door on your way to the next part of your adventure, you are positively glowing with contentment! I look forward to staying with them again next year when I return for my 20th anniversary...I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else! Thank you to all our dear friends we made at this fabulous property!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbabeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is with great pleasure and pride that I read these wonderful comments from your stay with us. We have a wonderful team at the hotel and we all strive to create memorable experiences for all our guests. We pride ourselves in our personal, attentive and genuinely friendly service and from your comments we were clearly able to deliver.

Lauren Titley, our newest assistant concierge is a great example of the kind of service we believe all guests should receive. She is one of our rising stars and has a great future in the hospitality industry ahead of her given of enthusiasm and work ethic. I will ensure that I share your comments with all our staff in our next monthly employee tea party.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your amazing 20th anniversary and will try exceed all the expectations you may have.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 2 weeks in South Africa and wanted to have a few days at the end of the trip to just relax and chill out. We certainly came to the right place. On checking in I had a refreshing 'real' lemonade and my husband a glass of sparkling white. Our room wasn't ready as we were quite early so we were given a tour of the hotel and then shown to the Leopard bar so we could enjoy a drink whilst we waited.
Our room was wonderful (sea view) and lots of space. The bathroom was large and the bed extremely comfortable. You can order DVD's free of charge so we did that in the late afternoon with a couple of cold cider/beers. We had lunch on our balcony one afternoon which was delicious and we watched the sunset each night...beautiful.
We used both the hotel spa and the Azure restaurant and can thoroughly recommend both. We wanted to use the cinema but never got around to this (maybe next time). We had a little walk on the mountain paths which was enjoyable....you might even see the helicopter take off as we did! The Leopard Bar had a great vibe, fab drinks (I tried the martini's and husband stuck to draught beer) and amazing bar snacks! Breakfast was amazing with a great selection of hot and cold food even oysters!
The spa staff were great and the facilities lovely. I had a facial, massage and we enjoyed the rasul chamber together.
All the staff were friendly and attentive. Normally we feel like we have to leave a hotel at some point in the day just to get out but here we were more than contented to stay put and be pampered! We would go back in a heartbeat and were so glad we ended our holiday here! Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing but be aware there is a little traffic noise as they look out over the ro...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is great to read that we were able to offer our well known personal and attentive service and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. As you experienced we have a number of facilities in doors and out doors to keep everyone entertained and relaxed. We have a very unique advantage being in the Table Mountain Nature reserve which means our guests are free to roam Mother Nature with breath taking views. On your next visit try one of our picnics and have an early morning hike with breakfast on the side of the mountain.

There is definitely no better place to experience the last of the day’s sun than in our Leopard Bar with the sun setting right in front of the Hotel and live music playing in the background.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From the moment of arrival, the staff at 12Apostles made things amazing. Every single request was met with "My pleasure". Our room was exceptional, the concierge staff including Massod Sadulla and Lauren Tittley made great suggestions and solved ALL our needs, and the dining staff made us feel like royalty. We knew that this stay would be wonderful, we just didn't know that we would leave feeling like this was the best resort stay we have ever had! The accommodations are spectacular, the views amazing, and the food outstanding, however, the real difference at 12A is that the staff goes above and beyond to guarantee a phenomenal experience. Thank you 12A!!!!

Room Tip: We feel any room would have a fabulous view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is really all with our “pleasure” and will ensure that I share these wonderful comments with not only the staff members specifically mentioned but also all our other staff during our monthly staff tea party. We are always looking at exceeding every single guests expectations and very proud that we were able to provide such a phenomenal experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I have traveled all over the world and I must say that the 12 A was perhaps the best hotel we have ever used. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are the most special person at that hotel. The service is magnificent from the concierge to every single person working there. Our room had a wonderful view and was exceptionally comfortable. The views from the hotel cannot be beat anywhere. After a brutally long winter here in NorthEast USA, the heated pool was just what the doctor ordered. We loved having drinks and a bite to eat at the Leopard Bar, on the patio overlooking the ocean. Perfect. The drinks and every bite of every dish was wonderful. Dinner at Azure was a very special treat. We have stayed in 5 stars hotels all over the world, but for service and setting 12A cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

How wonderful that you had such a magnificent stay with us. We are very fortunate with regards to views as they stretch all around the hotel and just depends on whether you want an ocean or mountain view.

We know that memories are built when one enjoys good food and great views and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon to experience a little more of the same.

I will ensure that your comments are shared with all our staff as it really does make a big motivational difference.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 14 March 2014

From the moment we arrived,nothing was too much trouble,The service was always one step ahead without being in your face.We were unexpectedly upgraded to a lovely room overlooking the rock pool.Shuttle service excellent and would recommend using their car service which is worth the extra.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is with great pleasure that I read that you had such a memorable stay. We work very hard in the background to try and anticipate our guests needs and very happy that we accomplished this during your stay.

Our complimentary shuttle that runs from 08h00 – 21h30 to Camps Bay and the V&A is a great value add to ensure our guests are always connected to the city centre but can return to the peace and quiet of the Table Mountain nature Reserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It is very difficult to complement one aspect of this hotel as something that stands out as it all does. The staff are without fault exceptional from remembering your name to attending to your every whim. Wonderful. The rooms looking out across the sea are worth every penny. Don't hesitate..... GO

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 625jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is great to received feedback as positive as yours and will ensure I share this with my team. We are not short of views at the hotel but the views would be nothing without our passionate staff, always looking at exceeding our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed at The Twelve Apostles Hotel during a recent trip to Cape Town. What a delight. The staff was beyond helpful and the accommodations were top notch. We arrived after 10 pm after a 36 hour trip and were greeted with drinks in the lobby. The gentleman in reception gave us a tour of the hotel. We were impressed with the facilities. There was the Leopard Lounge where we had dinner and drinks and I was introduced to my new favorite wine - Pinotage. The Azure restaurant provided my introduction to Springbok as an entree. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the ocean. Even better than the physical amenities was the staff. They couldn't do enough for us. We were looking for a souvenir and one of the staff found it on line, called, and stopped to pick it up for us. That's service. I also appreciated that most of the staff was from Cape Town and could talk to us about the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiLGreenOaks_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

The “pleasure” was all ours and very grateful that you chose the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa as your hotel in Cape Town. We appreciate that many of our guests have to travel many hours to get to Cape Town and the least we can do is extend a warm welcome and a drink to set the mood for the remainder of the stay.

I am glad you found our very own Pinotage, a varietal only found in South Africa and a great taste of our lovely wine-lands. No better way to enjoy the setting sun than with a glass of Pinotage on the Leopard Bar terrace.

Of course we also have wonderful cuisine and the lean, very healthy but tender springbok we serve has had many guests raving and they end up having this every night of their stay for good reason.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £256 - £812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing