We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful. The only problem we had was that we didn't get to enjoy it. Our schedule was very hectic and we would leave at 8:00 am and not return until 6 or 7 in the evening. The food was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supacoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having booked a hotel in the V & A waterfront development in Capetown, we were advised by a South African lady to rebook into the Twelve Apostles Hotel ,apparently the best hotel in Capetown the "12 A " as it affectionately known. Oh boy she was not wrong. 5 * plus we would give this hotel. From friendly, efficient staff , to superb food , all faultlessly delivered . With great help from Dane we upgraded to a "Sea view " room, and again what a room. Spot less, and everything you could want for, so thank you Dane for making our stay, that bit more special. WE would commend ALL the staff for being both charming, friendly and efficient . Finally food, breakfast , there was everything from oysters for us to marshmallows for the "younger" people, and lunch and dinner was equally superb.We'll definitely be back. Thank you all once again for making our first stay in Capetown so memorable.

Room Tip: As for Dane's advice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaiusweybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Twelve Apostles Hotel in Cape Town in early December 2013. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent service and facilities. I would like to commend, in particular, the staff who were always friendly, courteous and helpful. The concierge staff organised private car trips to some of the beautiful places to visit such as Cape Point, the wine regions, and historic Cape Town. The trips were relaxed and the driver, a trained tour guide, was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the different regions. The hotel is some distance outside Cape Town so it is important to make reservations for dinner in one of the two hotel restaurants. The cuisine in the Azure Restaurant is exquisite. A complementary shuttle service is available to Camps Bay and the V&A Waterfront for shopping, sight-seeing or dining. The view from our bedroom was magnificent, made more spectacular by the high winds which prevailed during most of our stay. I would love to pay a return visit to this hotel and recommend it highly to anyone who would like to experience South African hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently returned from a two week "African Adventure" perfectly arranged by Lion World Travel. Included at the outset of the trip was a stay at the Twelve Apostles. Everything about this hotel was first class, and service is like nothing we've experienced in our extensive travels. One of the drivers told us to mention at bars and restaurants that we were staying at the Apostles, so we did... it was like we were suddenly celebrities! It has that kind of reputation around Cape Town. Oh, and add that you arrived in town by helicopter and you ARE a celebrity. :)

The hotel itself is old, of course, as it was once a game lodge! But it is immaculately maintained, and it doesn't feel old at all. The grounds are spectacular, and the ocean views a thing of dreams. We saw the most beautiful sunset of our lives while having a gourmet dinner one evening.

The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful, and after only a few minutes with Massood we had our entire stay planned and booked. The shuttle into town, after the initial helicopter commute, was excellent: timely, quick, flexible (and in a Mercedes, no less!).

The stay at the Twelve Apostles was the start of the most perfect trip of our lives, with every arrangement exceeding our expectations. I can't say enough for the work of Lion World Travel. I was nervous about relying on an internet relationship with a travel agency, but it could not have been any better. My wife and I highly recommend both Lion World and The Twelve Apostles!

Room Tip: The hotel often host weddings and other large events. Try to get a room away from the associated no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh191623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

How lovely indeed to read that we were able “exceed your wildest hopes”. It is only possible due to our wonderful staff, always on the lookout to see how we can exceed expectations. Of course our location is very unique and glad you could experience one of the best sunsets in the city and to top it off we have even more sun in the day purely because the sun sets right in front of the hotel.

I am glad that Masood our wonderful Head Concierge could plan out an itinerary in minutes as Cape Town has so many attractions to fit into only a few days.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a serious on your must visit list when you are in Cape Town. We had breakfast at the hotel.

The views from the hotel are breath taking. The staff and warm and welcoming , the service is instant and the food - awesome !!!

We will definatly be back !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Great to read that you had a great breakfast with us in what I assume was our Azure Restaurant. I’m sure you also saw our second restaurant the Café Grill with equally as good service and majestic views of the Twelve Apostle Mountain range and the sound of our rock pools making this a great alternative.

On your next visit I encourage you to stay the night and give us even more time to spoil you with our genuinely warm and friendly service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned for a truly stunning stay at this wonderful hotel. Chic, yet warm and welcoming, this hotel has it all. We could not have been made to feel more welcome or more special. Our three year old son James, was treated like a king during his stay; even members of staff we had not met before knew his name and chatted to him.

The hotel is situated on a nature reserve that backs onto Table Mountain, and our ocean view suite, was just that: a spacious, beautifully decorated suite with a stunning view of the ocean and Signal Hill, as well as having a terrace from which to watch the sunset.

We did several tours of the peninsula and the wine region, with Russell, the resident tour guide, and we would highly recommend them.

The food was wonderful and the staff were very warm and friendly. Breakfast and dinner are served, overlooking the ocean; there were oysters and sparkling wine with breakfast, and a wonderful Cape seed loaf. Dinner at sunset is an event not to be missed, and they also have large open fires for chilly evenings. The Prawn Dhal was a real favourite.

We had read other comments about the road noise but, to be honest, we barely noticed it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifercroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

How lovely it was to have you stay with us and “James” is truly missed in and around the hotel by all the staff. I hope his African experience was all he dreamed about and that he is already nagging you to return.

We are indeed very fortunate with our location which very few if any can compare with and perfect for family vacations. I am very happy to read that you too found our amazing staff warm and genuinely friendly which one of the biggest reasons for our wonderful feedback we receive.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future for another African dream experience.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This property was my fav of the trip, great atmosphere and amazing staff. I would like to specifically mention Candice Grobbelaar, she made us all feel so welcome!
I especially loved the layout of the property, everything seemed so hidden and a new surprise around every corner.

Room Tip: I definitely recommend the ocean facing rooms, spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danniell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Wonderful to read that we were your favourite hotel on your trip! We are especially proud of our wonderful staff and they are the people responsible for the “great atmosphere” you experienced.

We have a number of hidden gems in and around the hotel which is very unique for a Cape Town Hotel. We realise that guests really like to feel they have their own little private space and with us being in the Table Mountain National Park we have plenty to offer including a gentle hike to our picnic spots or just lazing in one of the many hammocks around the hotel. This is not to mention the pools, restaurants and bar and of course our amazing spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,168 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,709 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £281 - £1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing