We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Hotel for me in Cape Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Only Hotel for me in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Exceptional staff, cleanliness, great food, view and hospitality. From the concierge to the chefs to the bartenders to the room attendees, I couldn't ask for anything more. I felt as if they knew me, personally. Will definitely stay there again...and again...and again!

Loved the lobby and all the treats (wine, water, nuts, fruit)...fresh! fresh! everyday!! although it has been 5 yrs since I stayed, I am ready to return. Should have done this review earlier.Had to fill in a date...we actually stayed May 2009....met some really wonderful guests, who are now friends!

Room Tip: My room, a corner room, had a view of the Atlantic Ocean, a waterfall and a winding road. Loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is truly remarkable that even after 5 years you still fondly remember the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa and took the time to write your review. For this I thank you very much. I can also mention that over the last 5 years we have upgraded many of the rooms and public areas all in anticipation of your return which I sincerely hope will be sooner rather than later.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and leaving you with another 5 years of fond memories.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    174
    65
    26
    29
See reviews for
234
891
34
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After an absence of a few years I decided to once again stay over at the Twelve Apostles Hotel. And once again I realised that their package for room, movie (with snacks), dinner and breakfast is some of the best value for money. The bonus is that one can use the spa facilities. And this time round I even discovered the little gym "up in the roof". If you want to relax in a great setting and have various options (mini movie theatre, great views, spa etc) go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view if possible of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Welcome back! Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and got to sample all that the hotel has to offer.

Our dedicated staff members work incredibly hard and takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests by striving to uphold our service philosophy of “No request too large, No detail to small”.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.
I really cannot fault this hotel in any way. We shall definitely return often. We have also stayed at their sister hotel in Umhlanga - The Oyster Box. Good food, service excellence and wonderful locations. Now to try their London establishments!

Room Tip: Side rooms with mountain and sea views. Very serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylT166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations once again on your 40th wedding anniversary! I am delighted that you chose to spend this very special occasion at the beautiful Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased that you recognised our high level of service. We have a very passionate and dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is most rewarding to read that you did.

Thank you for your continued support of Red Carnation Hotels and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the last night of our honeymoon. The hotel was truly incredible, and the most impressive aspect was definitely the staff. When we mentioned it was our honeymoon, they made sure to give us a special table in the restaurant for dinner and had a beautiful rose petal turndown service waiting for us afterwards.
We also took advantage of the hotel services - the wine tasting with Brian the sommelier was a lot of fun, and very informative. Based on that conversation, when we spoke with him at dinner at Azure he offered to surprise us by picking out a wine to pair with our dinner. It was a wonderful pairing and very much our style. The food also exceeded our expectations - I think the menu doesn't do it justice. The food is beautiful and delicious and i would absolutely recommend the restaurant even if you're not staying at the hotel.
We also went for a hike up the mountain to take advantage of some of the views. The hotel has picnic spots set up along a trail where you can either bring or have a picnic hamper set up for you to enjoy in the middle of your hike.
The spa was wonderful - we didn't have time to get a service but we took advantage of the pools which were wonderful. Finally, the staff was so warm and helpful - for instance, if we asked where something was, the staff would escort us there. It is expensive but now having stayed there I can see why. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, it was the best splurge we ever did!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capn_Cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! I trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice for the last night of your honeymoon - we are delighted to have been part of your special memories.

I am delighted that you appreciated our service, we do take great pride in ensuring that are guests are well looked after. I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Brian, our Assistant Sommerlier had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Brian epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the Hotel and I will make sure that your comments are shared with him.

Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My friend and I went to the Twelve Apostles for lunch today. We chose the beautiful Leopard Lounge. We had an exceptional waiter, Zane, who made the whole experience so enjoyable.
He was very helpful and we very much enjoyed being able to chat with this most articulate young man. He is an asset to the Hotel, and we will definitely be returning. The food was excellent, I can recommend the ostrich burger.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was delighted to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations and overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here. Zane in the Leopard Bar is indeed a superstar and he epitomizes the service ethics and values that we strive to uphold at the Hotel. I am pleased to read that he had such a positive impact on your time with us.

Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A 'child free' weekend called for a treat at The 12 Apostles and again we could not have had a better time. Great room, immaculate, correct but immensely warm service from a great team of people. There is clear evidence of management presence throughout the place. It is well run, well priced and serves one of the best breakfasts around. We shall go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, sharing your experience with us and other travelers.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in. All of the team here always tries their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs. I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope they we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Twelve Apostles thought of "absolutely everything" for anyone's stay at a First Class Hotel. The restaurant food and service are worth being among the best in the world. Each room has all features for your comfort imaginable, even a pillow menu as well as soap options. Built-in dimmable night lights in the bathroom are among the many desirable extras. Our reservations were booked by Lion World Travel out of Toronto, as part of a 2-week vacation in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Botswana.
Special "Thank you" to Tamzin at the front desk, Prince, and the entire restaurant staff for making our stay the most enjoyable yet.
Thank you, The Ryan's

Room Tip: Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean is more than worth the slight extra charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Taylor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Ryan,

“The ultimate hotel” – what an accolade!

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, sharing your experience with us and other travelers. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities and most importantly the service to your liking.

I was very happy that we met your expectations and have passed on your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged. I was delighted to read that Tamzin and Prince had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Both of them epitomize the service values and ethics that we strive to uphold at the hotel.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Michael Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing