We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heavenly experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I were treated like royalty. Stayed one night, definitely to be prolonged in the future. A hidden treasure, perfect to go and eat, spa day, celebrate birthday, anniversary.. Anything done in absolute luxury. Queen and King style! We loved every minute.

Room Tip: Always choose a sea facing room. It is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkosazana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Very happy to read that we were able to treat you like royalty even if it was only for a day! On your next visit I will ensure that the red-carpet is rolled out too and that we exceed all your expectations once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    180
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
248
933
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This grand hotel exudes opulence in an understated manner. The staff were exceptional, engaging and the epitome of professionalism and friendliness. The Azure restaurant for dinner was phenomenal; gourmet meals with tasters from the chef meant we were truly spoilt. Food was delicious and beautifully presented with a diverse menu on offer. The location of the hotel is perfect with awesome views. Hiking trails on hotel property if you're feeling adventurous. 5 star luxury ensuring Mrs Domingo's birthday be an unforgettable one. Personalized fruit sushi was a quirky and creative touch for sushi craving pregnant wife :):):)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Domingo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is with great pleasure that I read we were able to exceed your expectations. My staff are always looking at ways to create a memorable experience and the fruit sushi is a great example of the innovative measures we go to especially given the fact that that you are soon expecting a bundle of joy.

I hope we will have the opportunity to personally meet the little one once he or she is born and would be a great opportunity for you to come and relax a little too.

We look forward to welcoming the family back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Words cannot describe how amazing this place is! The service is awesome, everyone is friendly, food is great, the rooms have the best view in Cape Town, the reastrant is beautiful, all the staff are helpful, the rooms are STUNNING, the pools are even beautiful!, the spa is lovely. You have to go to this place, who ever gave it a bad review clearly doesn't have a clue about taste, style and life. Do yourself a favour and go! It's a must.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MissChatterBox t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

We will have you back anytime and sooner rather than later! Thank you for the wonderful comments which I will definitely share with all my staff. Comments like these are great motivational tools and ensures that our staff will always try to improve and exceed expectations.

Don’t forget that we also have our very unique hiking trail behind the hotel with 8 picnic spots for those guests wanting to explore a little more. Also another must do is the most scenic helicopter flip from the hotel from our private helicopter pad to the V&A Waterfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

stayed six days July 2014. Seaside room view was outstanding. Service was without peer. All the staff were happy, helpful, neat and attentive. All in starched uniforms. Nothing sloppy. Masood the concierge was outstanding. The shuttle service to V&A was a lifesaver, and the driver was often willing to drop us off somewhere else near but not exactly the V&A dropoff.

My only complaint was room 303 suffered from water pipe noise one night we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdhg566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Thank you for your comments regarding my wonderful team which is the biggest reason for our success and Masood is a great example of this. I will ensure I share these comments with him and the rest of the team.

The shuttle to the V&A we know is the lifeline to the city for our guests wanting to go do some shopping or visit the city centre.

My apologies for the water noise that disturbed you at night but can advise that the source of the problem was found and rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a superb stay in Cape Town in June at the 12 Apostles, can't speak highly enough about the staff, the views, the rooms and most especially the food! Everything was absolutely spot on and I don't think we will ever stay anywhere else when we go to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the sea view I think, we didn't but will definitely do that next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Thank you for the wonderful comments which I will share with my staff. We are indeed very fortunate with our location and we have a view for everyone, be it ocean or mountain.

I am also very proud of the Executive Chef Christo Pretorius who has been hard at work designing and creating some wonderful flavours for our guests to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and for many more year to come.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What a great experience!! The view was breathtaking. The service was outstanding. We felt at home right away, spoiled so much that we contact the travel agent and extended two days and still did not want to leave! The fine dining was excellent. Then something totally unexpected. They have an in house cinema , with popcorn , milkshakes and sweets! What I treat. We did not want to go out of the hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is really wonderful that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent visit to the hotel. I will ensure that your comments are shared with all our staff during our monthly staff tea party as they do enjoy these comments and makes a big difference in staff morale.

We have a truly amazing location and the most breath-taking views, not to mention sunsets in front of the hotel. With the occasional whale and dolphin in the bay it does make for a memorable experience.

Glad that you were able to enjoy our private 16 seat cinema with all the treats which is perfect for some of the wintery and rainy days in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked the 12 Apostles as a splurge for our 10th wedding anniversary. Nestled in the Twelve Apostle Mountain Range, across from the sea - it is breathtaking. The grounds are equally gorgeous with gardens and pools. Since it was winter, we really couldn't partake in the pools. Staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful. At times I felt as though they were said what they thought we wanted to hear ... "The Robben Island ferry never gets cancelled." Of course it was cancelled 2 days in a row. The breakfast was lovely, although food was cold (eggs, sausage, etc.). Our dinner at Azure was a bit of a disappointment as well tastewise, but the presentation and service were excellent. Still, the hotel had lots of lovely touches - fresh and dried fruit throughout, a movie theatre and in room DVDs, excellent shuttle service, wine tasting, etc. The spa treatment was very good - again, the pools could have been a bit warmer!! I would recommend this if you are going to splurge for a vacation -- just make sure the staff know you're there for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded Mountain View room. Due to the winter fog, you cannot see the mountains ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara01890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is with great pleasure that I read your feedback following your recent stay with us. Congratulations once again on your special 10th wedding anniversary and thank you for sharing this special occasion with us.

We are truly blessed with the wonderful views we have at the hotel and there is something for everyone being located in the Table Mountain nature reserve.

Your comments with regards to the food for both breakfast and dinner has been noted and discussed with the Executive Chef Christo Pretorius and thank you for making these observations. It is only with feedback like yours that we are able to enhance our service and guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing