We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like Royalty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Treated like Royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at 12A for our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

We were looking for something a little different to the usual suspects closer to the waterfront, and certainly found it at the Twelve Apostles.

On making the booking the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was special. Nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure we were happy.

Our room was facing the sea giving beautiful views of the sunset whilst lying in bed. The room itself had plenty of space, including a large bathroom and lounge area.

On the evening of our anniversary we came back from dinner to find the room strewn with rose petals. The bath had floating candles lit along with more rose petals and a pair of mating swans on the bed fashioned out of towels.

We also made use of the Spa during our stay. The staff were excellent as were the facilities, they put together a bespoke set of treatments for my wife and myself, so we were able to spend a whole afternoon enjoying the facilities.

Lastly I must mention Azure, the main restaurant in the hotel. I will write a proper review for the restaurant, but for the hotel review I must mention I try to avoid hotel restaurants wherever possible. However part of the package included eating at the restaurant and it was a more than pleasant surprise. Every dish we had could stand up against the best food in Cape Town and hold its own. The food was creative and well presented.

Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay amazing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Say-it-straight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Royalty is exactly how we want every guest to feel when they stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to share in your milestone anniversary and hope we can welcome you back for every other anniversary to come.

We are always trying to exceed expectations and very happy to read that your experience did not let you down, even our wonderful Azure restaurant with Executive Chef Christo Pretorius at the helm. Competition in Cape Town for restaurants is tough and only the best would suffice to ensure our guests have a complete experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    174
    65
    26
    29
See reviews for
234
891
34
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have the privilege of staying a 5 star hotels around the world on business. I'm exposed to excellent service from Asia, Europe and the big cities of the US. But, none of them come close to the attention to detail, the genuine service and welcome we received at this hotel. It's out of this world. They cater so well for the kids and nothing was ever to much trouble.

Room Tip: Fantastic views of the Atlantic from the Leopard bar is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigworld111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

We really do try and make every stay memorable for all guests and we are all about families. There is nothing more rewarding than having excited children in and around the hotel with relaxing parent in tow.

Attention to detail and learning from our guests whilst they are in house is what we really excel in by customising their experience with genuinely friendly but professional staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

• Head Concierge Masood is very friendly, good at probing to see what the plans are for the stay and to recommend and assist with making bookings etc.
• Location is beautiful, overlooking the ocean.
• Situated away from the busy part of Victoria Street such as restaurants, café’s, shops etc. Even with it still being on the main road the traffic going past is not too loud.
• Rooms are big and spacious, lovely big bathrooms with double vanity.
• Breakfast variety was really good, champagne and oysters on offer too.
• Wedding venue in the garden is spacious, well maintained
• The hiking trails is at own risk, I went for a walk and had a snake hissing at me so decided to rather make my way back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBerndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Our location is most definitely our biggest advantage with no neighbours and the most amazing ocean and mountain views. We have something for everyone at the hotel from Spa experiences to relaxing dining, fine dining and the best bar in town with live music and breath-taking sunsets.

The hiking trail with 8 picnic spots is very unique and yes you may stumble upon some of our mountain friends which must be carefully avoided to prevent any harm but can say we have had no serious incidents over the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

When planning our trip to South Africa for our honeymoon a few nights at the Twelve Apostles was on my must do list. The hotel and staff did not disappoint! They made our honeymoon unforgettable! You can't go wrong with the views from the hotel, you are either staring at mountains and/or the Atlantic Ocean. I planned a surprise helicopter ride coupled with spa treatments for my husband, which was made possible by the Twelve Apostles on-site helipad. The staff there also went above and beyond assisting me with a nearly impossible task, personal thank you to Tamzin, Vaughan, the night staff, and especially Dane for making it possible! The morning breakfast is amazing, which includes raw oysters and phenomenal view! If we ever return to SA, which we plan to, a stay at the Twelve Apostles is necessary!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren45454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Many congratulations once again on your recent marriage and thank you for letting us share in this wonderful occasion. I am very glad to read that we were able to exceed your expectations especially for this, your honeymoon.

Our helicopter pad is very unique for a city hotel and there is simply no better way to see the peninsula than from a helicopter.

Our staff is what makes us who we are and without the people like Tamsyn, Vaughn and Dane none of this would be possible. I will ensure your comments are shared with them and all our other staff in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the magnificent Twelve Apostles Hotel and enjoyed every second of it. The staff were welcoming and helpful, they really go out of your way to ensure that your stay is comfortable. The atmosphere a throw back of the Great Gatsby Era and the decor is gorgeous. Our rooms very comfortable with great views of the ocean - we loved watching the whales in the early morning while having delicious coffee made in our rooms very own coffee machine. The bathroom was beautiful and every small detail seen to in terms of bath products. The children loved the afternoon high tea - far too much to try and finish, but each morsel a absolute delight! Our sommelier in the evenings always presented the best wine options to accompany our dinner - really very special. The breakfast buffet was something to behold - a great selection of imported cheese and beautiful pastries, fruit skewers and breads. We loved the board games in the Leopard Lounge and spent much time in this lovely room having good family time. The children's highlight was the outdoor steaming hot tub carved into the rocks - in the middle of Cape Towns chilly winter...A must visit for any person that loves the finer things in life!!! We will be a back...

Room Tip: The room next to the Presidents Suite was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

We are most definitely so fortunate with our wonderful location with arguably the best views of the ocean and mountain in Cape Town. Just this morning again we had a few whales in the bay and with great excitement all our guests were watching them play.

Our Afternoon tea is also one of the most loved activities in the hotel and our Pastry Chef Nathan Jacobs is great by ensure beautifully decorated and daily freshly baked items are available to all our guests. Afternoon tea is also served in a number of venues like the Leopard Bar, Café Grill and conservatory all with very unique views.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would like to thank the 12 Apostles Hotel and Spa on behalf of Infestation for the outstanding service received.

Please extend our thanks to the staff at the Café who prepared and served our lunch in such grand style. We were just delighted in the outstanding manner of your staff who made us feel so very special and spoiled.

Also, your Spa staff are to be complimented on their professionalism and discretion.

We had a wonderful time and will most certainly recommend your entire facility to all.

Thank You

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

And we appreciate your wonderful comments. I will ensure these are shared with the Café Grill and our wonderful Spa teams. The Café Grill is the most amazing setting with the court yard area overlooking the Twelve Apostles Mountain range the tranquil sounds of our rock pools.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a great place to go to if you are local, don't want to travel too far and are in need of some R & R as we were after having builders around our house for a few weeks! This hotel is excellent. It allows pets (so little yorkie doggies were catered for) There is a doggie menu with lots of lovely sounding meals available. We had a suite with a dining area, lounge,4 poster bed and an enormous bathroom. Towels are really fluffy and of a very high quality. Toiletries are beautiful and plentiful. Loved the feel of the sheets, sheer luxury. Very nice expresso maker with a range of drinks on offer. Room service was prompt, the line fish was beautifully presented and cooked. Breakfast far surpasses most 5 star places with the choices on offer. We had lunch in the Azure restaurant and that proved to be one of the highlights, as part of a package, a smaller menu is on offer, however the choice is very good and its hard to decide. Portions are not small so don't go too mad on the excellent bread on offer! One has access to the spa where one can wallow around in the pools or just float. Drinks as well as fruit, muffins etc are all complimentary. When one checks out there is a little bag of treats for doggies (and one for humans too!)
My complaint - time spent there too short!!!!
From the time you arrive there staff are on hand with a smile and a helpful attitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

It is great to read that you and the little ones were able to enjoy the wonderful Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa. From you feedback it is clear that we were able to spoil the entire family and good to see that we exceeded your expectations.

I hope that the refurbishments at your home has gone as planned but won’t be disappointed if you needed to return for a few more days.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for a few more days than your last visit.

With warm regards
Michael Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing