We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husband's 50th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The experience was wonderful, you know it should be good because you have heard so much about the hotel but it was way above what I expected. From arriving at the hotel right until the end. The friendly staff, the amazing food and scenery.... what more can you ask for!!! So glad I chose this venue to treat my husband on his birthday, definitely will be remembered. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

We are all about celebrations and pride ourselves in being such a special occasions hotels with many milestone celebrations held with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to share in the 50th birthday and sincerely hope that we able to exceed all your expectations.

We are very fortunate as we have all the ingredients for a successful recipe, friendly & attentive staff, mouth-watering food and a very unique location.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before and was so impress that I brought my kids for a four day celebration because all 4 had a birthday ! What a brilliant experience and good decision ! The in house movies excellent breakfast beautiful view and most important,the unprecedented service was priceless!! We have already book 10 days for 2015.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

We are indeed very fortunate with our wonderful location with stunning views of the ocean and the mountains. With so many activities available to our guests, be it walking to one of 8 picnic spots or taking a helicopter to the V&A Waterfront or just relaxing in many of the hammocks we have in the gardens there is always something for everyone.

None of this however will be possible without the dedicated staff who are genuinely friendly and offer a very unique personal but unobtrusive service. I will ensure these comments are shared with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is simply amazing
I recently attended a corporate obligation in Cape Town, and decided to stay at the 12A.

From the word go, attention to detail, and the level of service was pure perfection.

Upon my arrival my rental was valet parked, my luggage swiftly delivered to my room, and the room in itself was breathtaking.

I enjoyed their excellent spa facilities, and excellent cuisine at the Azure restaurant.

It is truly the only way to experience the Cape, in all it's unspoiled beauty.

Thank you Lizet and staff, we cannot wait for our return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mercades S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Perfection is what we aim for and we work towards this on a daily basis. I am very glad to see that although the hotel is considered by many as a leisure hotel our corporate guests find it just as appealing. With a very short journey to the city center, which you can make us of our complimentary shuttle that runs from 08h00 – 21h30 from the hotel to the V&A these is no reason not to stay.

I will share your comments with the team and in particular Lizet whom you kindly mentioned personally as one of many shining stars in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We absolutely loved our stay. The service and attention to detail is remarkable and we were especially impressed with the fantastic housekeeping. Keep up the good work! We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicolene111079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Wonderful to read that you had such a memorable stay with us and thank you for highlighting housekeeping for their hard work. Housekeeping is one of the most important departments in our hotel and guests may never meet or see the wonderful staff in their rooms but definitely know that they were there.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I booked a brief visit in July to this beautiful hotel for our 50th wedding anniversary. Our mountain-facing luxury one-bedroom suite was superb in decor and comfort and really quiet. Graham Beck's sparkling wine fitted the occasion.

The Leopard Bar provided a panoramic sea vista and superb afternoon coffee and over-the-top cake creations while the Azure Restaurant offered a wonderful menu and wine list. The sommelier was a delight to talk to. Afterwards, the still-excellent David Lean movie, Ryan's Daughter, partly shot in Noordhoek, was a treat.

We liked the front desk and staff . They were attentive and made us feel welcome.

This outing is one that we will repeat and July is an excellent month as winter even adds to the attractiveness of this hotel and its setting.

Room Tip: Book in winter as the warm and cosy vibe is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank albertVniekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Congratulations once again on this amazing milestone and thank you for giving us the opportunity to share this with you. We are all about creating experiences and very happy to read that we succeeded once again.

The Leopard Bar must be one of the most amazing venues in Cape Town for cocktails with a view and with the occasional whale or dolphin sighting there is simply no better place.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the 12 Apostles after roughing it for a few weeks in the bush and doing some scary spearfishing and then flew my wife out from the UK to spend some time together. On the plus side the view is really superb overlooking the sea, the staff are genuinely extraordinary and go the extra mile in a way that is rare in any place I have visited and the breakfast is really very good. However this aint a cheap hotel and for the money I am not sure we would visit again. The challenges are that the hotel is situated just above a main road that separates it from the sea - the traffic is fairly noisy and we asked to change rooms after the first night but this didn't really change the fact that cars and motorcycles roar up and down this stretch at some pace. The second issue ( and I recognise this is not an issue for some) is that the hotel is popular with weddings and corporate retreats: this makes for an often noisy and loud set of guests partying late into the small hours ...and frankly who wants to sit next to a large table of bankers at dinner discussing business in loud important voices and getting wasted when you are on a 'romantic break'. We would also have loved to have booked some spa treatments but these were fully booked by the aforesaid bankers / wedding people which was disappointing considering this was half the reason we had stayed at the hotel. Similary we did not manage to get a dinner table as it was fully booked.....so to us this was really just a very expensive motel.
If you are looking for a quiet romantic break then this was not the place for us and there are better spots for you to go to. However if you are drinking other peoples beer at a wedding or swinging off a corporate account then fill yer boots!

Room Tip: all good but all seemed exposed to the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Great to read that you found our staff ‘genuinely extraordinary’ and I can only agree with you. I am however rather disappointed that you were not able to enjoy our normally quiet and tranquil surroundings due to a wedding we had in house. We are of course always very mindful of the impact large groups of people may have on the enjoyment of our other resident guests.

With regards to availability in our Azure restaurant and Spa we are conscious of the fact that limited space is available and with our restaurants, bar and spa very popular we do encourage our guests to book prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. We also give our resident guests preference in any of our facilities as best possible.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The 12 apostles hotel is without a doubt,amazing. It is in the right location with an amazing atmosphere ,amazing sunsets and service. We had an excellent 50th birthday stay and the staff made it that much more enjoyable. I will be returning for my Annaversary next year.

Room Tip: We had a garden facing ground floor room which was not as noisy from and it was in its own secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacks1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_12A, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa.

Congratulations once again on the special birthday celebration and thank you for allowing us to share this with you. We are very fortunate with our location as it does offer spectacular views and sunsets and with great service you are sure to have an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

With warm regards
Michael Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
346 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £276 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing