We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent management and great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with excellent management and great food.”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the 12 Apostles and had a very enjoyable holiday there.The greeting was first class,genuinely friendly,enthusiastic and professional.They even offer complimentary fizz,and indeed this is freely available in reception at all times,plus fruit and nibbles.Our room was a spacious suite with a gound floor patio overlooking the sea.The only slight minus is there is a busy road between the front rooms and the sea.If you like sport the telly is good too,showing live Premier League footy,6 nations rugby and the cricket world cup.
On our first morning,we got to meet the manager,Brett, and his lovely young daughters,when we joined in an organised walk with other guests.A good way to meet some fellow guests and indeed the manager.
The two restaurants were first class.The steak I had in the Cafe was the best I've had in living memory,and the main restaurant was top top class,organised by a rising prize winning chef,Henrico Grobbelar.I confidently predict the world will get to know this young man very well.
The leopard bar was lively,enhanced by friendly and enthusiastc staff and a really good female singer.
So all in all a great hotel,highly recommended,

Ivan and Jackie Dunn
Ilkley',Yorkshire
U.K.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Twelve Apostles and we are of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed our "Walk in the Fynbos" which shows off some of the Fynbos Flora in the Table Mountain Nature Reserve as well as some of the spectacular views of the Atlantic, The Twelve Apostles Mountains and Lionshead.

We are also confident that Henrico Grobbelaar our new Executive Chef will delight the world with some of his culinary creations and we wait in anticipation for our new menu in our Cafe Grill whihc will be released shortly.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to opening our doors to you on many future occassions.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    179
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
245
925
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

A four night stay in a well appointed and luxurious room.
Genuinely friendly staff taking time and trouble to make you feel welcome and valued guests.
The views from the terraces, especially at sunset are memorable.
Restaurant of the highest standard and an extremely knowledgeable sommelier to guide one through an extensive list.
Definitely on our return list

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balfronStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to express your views of The Twelve Apostles with other travellers and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you returning to South Africa and hope you will choose to visit us or one of our sister properties, The Oyster Box and Bushman's Kloof in the not to distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

If you are looking for slick service and a five star experience don’t choose the Twelve Apostles. The reality is 7 star prices combined with haphazard two star service. The pinnacle of my visit during Christmas 2010 was when my wife and I arranged a private limousine transfer to a game reserve (a 7 hour round trip) via the concierge. The vehicle the hotel arranged was an illegal death-trap – a 10 year old Toyata Yaris, filthy, no seat belts, dysfunctional air-conditioning and too small for the transportation of adults. The head concierge is so off the pace that he opened the doors of the car and put us inside clearly thinking that all was well. This is just one of the many ‘Fawlty Towers’ experiences during our stay at the truly appalling Twelve Apostles. We checked out early and checked in at the Cape Grace – different league!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LondonMonkeyFace69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Gorgeous hotel in superb location with excellent, attentive service. Deserves all the plaudits and awards it has received.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Excellent all round service from reception to being guided to the restaurant on the Terrace and being met at the entrance of the restaurant and taken to our table. The chefs provided an array of many assorted mouth watering dishes that one did not know what to choose. The food was excellent, tasteful and well laid out. There was more than sufficient for everyone. The service at the table was excellent which included the wine steward. To top off everything there was a large beautiful ginger bread house made of ginger bread! The design was excellent and the chefs should be very proud of their creation. The view from the terrace over the ocean cannot be surpassed. The beach was just over the road from the hotel which was very convenient. We travelled from Johannesburg especially for the Christmas Luncheon and certainly would recommend this to any one. We fully recommend staying at this hotel with reasonable rates for what is provided and you will certainly not be disappointed. George, Jenny and Mark Wright.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas with us. I have taken the liberty of sharing your thoughts with our team and the Kitchen Brigade were particularly pleased about your remark on their Ginger Bread House.

I hope you will choose to join us again in the not to distant future, either at The Twelve Apostles or one of our other Red Carnation Properties in South Africa.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed her for 2 night only, but WOW what an experience! From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff could not do enough for us! Breakfast had a huge selection from the normal cereals, full cooked breakfast to oysters and champagne! We also had the fortunate experience of having dinner in the restaurant, and both my boyfriend and I agreed it was the best steak we've ever had! Our room was overlooking the swimming pool and had some view of the see. Absolutely luxury at it's best. There is not a single thing we could fault. Having the daily shuttle service to camps bay and the Waterfront was very handy, as we didn’t have a car, but then we didn’t even really want to leave the hotel, we had everything we needed, even a pillow, tea and soap menu! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandL1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users.

We hope to see you return to the Twelve Apostles in the not to distant future and please also consider our other properties in South Africa, The Oyster Box, in Durban, Bushman's Kloof in The Cedarberg as well as our Red Carnation collection abroad.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

A fantastic boutique hotel in a stunning location. The atlantic ocean to the front of you and mountains to the back. Very cosy bar with great views and the food is excellent. Partner liked the spa. Negatives are that the gym is small and limited, the main road is outside the front of the hotel which does detract somewhat plus you need a cab to get anywhere. Definitely worth a few nights with your partner though.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrquhartHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will find the opportunity to return in the not to distant future.

On future visits please also be sure to make use of our complimentary shuttle service into the Waterfront, this runs on the hour between 8am and 8:30pm. We have also partnered with Virgin Active in Greenpoint to offer guests who are slightly more energetic that much more than our current gym allows.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we would be delighted if you would also consider our other properties in South Africa, namely The Oyster Box and Bushman's Kloof.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
312 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing