We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carefully booking”
Review of The Marly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marly Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We recently visited The Marley, a fantastic hotel in Camps Bay, South Africa, this hotel has everything, beautiful accommodation, at a price, service second to none, excellent parking, constant attention, a superb pool and sun lounge area, the wine, the food. We're just the best, but I must point out that to get the maximum pleasure out of the location, it is advisable to be under 40
The location is busy and loud, all music is. Loud, the. Meals served, in the restaurant Open to the. Road. And with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean
Unfortunately. The passing traffic is continuous. And. Noisy and. The passing. Pedestrians. Are really having a good time. Loudly, for young people this is great, but if you are. Over a certain age it is intrusive and distracting, if is a shame because the hotel attracts clients who are of a certain age and we found ourselves. Travelling to the waterfront for a more gentle evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but ask for a mountain view the sea rooms will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the review.

The Marly 5 star boutique hotel is most definitely “right up close and personal” with the Camps Bay strip and beach. We strive for 5 star service and am thrilled that you got to experience this at our property. Our Sea Facing suites all have sound proof sliding doors so the noise has not been an issue at all. Our Mountain facing suites all have uninterrupted views of The Twelve Apostles Mountain range.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spend recently our honeymoon vacation trip in and around Capetown.
We stayed in very good five star hotels like Mount Nelson and Grand Roche.
At the end of the trip we spent four days at the Marly.
We got an upgrade!
Rooms are very nice. Service is friendly.
The only thing that was disappointing was the breakfast. Very limited variety and each coffee you had to pay extra.
No fitness area and limited view from terrace.
Price much higher as in other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfgang c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Wolfgang,

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback with regards to our breakfast. We have taken this to heart and have made amendments accordingly. We continue to strive to achieve 5 star service and it is only through feedback like yours that we may improve.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Chic, funky, luxury designer boutique hotel. Fantastic location, magnificent views, great atmosphere, good attentive service.
Pay extra for the sea view.
Recommend the Thai massage salon just below the hotel too.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, although is on the busy beach road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Those people that may not enjoy the constant movement of the sea view, note that our Mountain Facing Suites are just as impressive with an uninterrupted view of The Twelve Apostles.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Due to the mining conference in Cape Town we had to find a last minute solution for one nights stay. all I can say is the 14 hours my colleague and I spent at the Marly, I was extremely impressed. The rooms, service and restaurant it's connected to where all 1st class. If there has to be a fault it would locating the front door of the hotel. Given you need a pass to get through the lift from street level, the 1st hand experience on arrival probably wasn't the best. With that minor part aside, I really hope I have the opportunity to return with my wife for a personal visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodds229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Your constructive feedback with regards to locating The Marly has been noted and already addressed for future bookings. We truly hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to Camps Bay for a romantic break in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Super design (South beach meets City boutique hotel) and great service (despite having just opened when we went there in Jan 14)
Rooms are well thought and of good size, and the Suite with sea view we staid in was spectacular - both layout and finish

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ZoulouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review.

We opened our doors on the 20th December so am pleased that you were able to experience our 5 star service and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very modern and extremely well appointed boutique hotel in a very good location. While a little difficult to find, being on the top floor of a shopping mall, his secluded hotel offers comfort and luxury. The pool and bar area are especially relaxing, with excellent service. The Blues restaurant one floor down is excellent and breakfast at Zenzero is quite adequate, but avoid dinner. Staff very helpful and good secure car parking right outside the door.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank astroian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you so much for the review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your constructive feedback with regards to the directions to The Marly has been noted and actioned. Please note that UMI and Paranga situated below The Marly are also part of our portfolio and both are great dining options. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.
Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at The Marly for a week during January with my wife. I found the service extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. The quality of the facilities were excellent and the rooms very clean and well maintained. The location of the hotel was also excellent with direct access to the beach and nice restaurants.

I really enjoyed my stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaLorimer, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the review.
The Marly is the newest edition to The Kove Collection, with her sister property being The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. We are pleased that our service and location met all your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
393 reviews
0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marly Hotel

Address: 201 The Promenade | Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £254 - £786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marly Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marly is the newest edition to The Kove Collection. Her sister property is The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. The Marly has 11 spacious suites, all with sea facing or uninterrupted views of The Twelve Apostle Mountain range and is located right up "close and personal" with Camps Bay beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marly Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing