We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ideal spot with fabulous views of Table Mountain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 30 Fiskaal Road Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camps Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
30 Fiskaal Road Guest House
Ranked #31 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An ideal spot with fabulous views of Table Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

I searched long and hard for our B&B in Cape Town as we only had a short holiday and needed somewhere very comfortable, with great service in a quiet location, where we could rest and enjoy Camps Bay and be near Table Mountain.

This lovely guest house provided just that. Drop dead gorgeous views of Table Mountain, where on a typically good clear day you can see the cable car going up and down, from the front garden/pool area. in the heat of the day, there is a perfect shady outdoor lounge area with a hammock - pure bliss. Private parking and quick easy (5 mins) drive to either Table Mountain's cable car, Camps Bay for beaches and restaurants, or 15 mins to V&A Waterfront etc.

Charmien who owns and runs the guest house, whilst also living there, shares the hostess duties with Colette, a charming, friendly and very pleasant manageress. Both were on hand to answer any questions, offer advise and provide a friendly and efficient service. The guest house is spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and all rooms are comfortable, pleasant and provide all you need. The communal lounge area is lovely for a quiet sit down, and the breakfast area is lovely.

Breakfasts are a highlight, with all you could wish for to set you up for the day, from fresh fruits, juices, cereals, yoghurts, freshly baked bread/scones to made-to-order eggs with anything! The coffee is freshly brewed too - very good coffee! Our teenage girls loved the smiling face made out of fruit floating on the water jug!

It was all lovely - and we enjoyed everything, from the lazy day lying by the pool, to the trip up Table Mountain, the beach and restaurants and V&A shopping.

Thanks Colette and Charmien.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Lucca_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

This is an excellent base for exploring Cape Town and its surroundings - (easy) driving to the Cape Town Waterfront takes about 15 minutes. Rooms are spacious and decorated in a vintage-chique style, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom was smallish but very clean and up-to-standards. Once you've dragged your luggage up the stairs you are rewarded with great views of either the ocean or Table Mountain. Breakfast was very tasty. There is a small carpark in front of the B&B (not guarded). Dinner-wise, one does need a car to drive down to the Camps Bay seafront.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wimbrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Boon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

For our Cape Town holiday my Girlfriend and I wanted accommodation with a view of Camps Bay. Our budget didn’t allow for one of the expensive places down by the beach, but that turned out to be a blessing. The view from this guest house was magical. Ending each day of sightseeing with a swim in the pool, and following that with cheese, biscuits and vino whilst watching the sun set each night was a highlight.

The guesthouse is beautifully kept, staff were super friendly, very attentive and sent us to some amazing restaurants. Thanks for the Franschhoek tip guys!

We had a great holiday in Cape Town – and loved our stay here.

  • Liked — The Staff, View, Pool
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Boon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

As a guest house, 30 Fiskaal Road is great choice due to it's Camps Bay location and being at the foot of Table Mountain.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful in ensuring that you make the best of all Cape Town has to offer. Justin's recommendations and local knowledge were faultless (especially regarding local restaurants).

We opted for the Sea & Mountain view room and although the room offered a view of the sea, this was slightly obstucted. We would recommend one of their mountain view rooms and if a sea view is desired then make sure you go for one on the 1st floor.

The owners pay close attention to the small details that helped us to feel very comefortable in their home and we would happily recommend a stay at 30 Fiskaal.

On the downside, the guest house is situated quite high up the hill and you will probably want to drive down to the waterfront. Mind you, a car is essential if you are visiting Cape Town anyway so this shouldn't really cause a problem.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Distance from Camps Bay waterfront
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newbury2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

We booked 30 Fiskaal for 3 nights but ended up staying 5 nights. The accommodation, food, service was the best experienced over the 3 week holiday. The staff at 30 Fiskaal exceeded our expectations, nothing was too much to ask for.

Well worth booking in advance if you want the best of Cape Town in a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RichyRichGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

We booked this guesthouse on a recommendation from friends and stayed in the penthouse suite as it was our honeymoon. The room was lovely, with complimentary champagne and red roses. The four poster bed is fantastically comfy. Staff are helpful and friendly, and happy to help with restaurant recommendations and trips etc. Whilst the hotel has fantastic view of Camps Bay, it is slightly isolated and a car/taxi is required to get to the beach etc. Breakfast is great with plenty of choice. The pool and gardens are lovely. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShandyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2007

My wife and I just spent a week at 30 Fiskaal while visiting our daughter at UCT. I can't imagine a more delightful place to stay. Awesome views, extremely clean, comfortable and relaxed. Justin and Charmain are awesome, and were extremely helpful with car rentals, restaurant recommendations and reservations, etc. Breakfasts are excellent. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Liked — comfortable atmosphere, beautiful views
  • Disliked — the toaster takes a long time
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcesq99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
61 On Camps Bay
61 On Camps Bay
#28 of 60 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 60 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guest House Michelitsch
Guest House Michelitsch
#32 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Auberge du Cap
Auberge du Cap
#11 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse
#12 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Guest House
Diamond Guest House
#29 of 60 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30 Fiskaal Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30 Fiskaal Road Guest House

Property: 30 Fiskaal Road Guest House
Address: 30 Fiskaal Road, Camps Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
30 Fiskaal Road Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing