We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, people, and location”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

What a great place to stay. The location is within walking distance of everything you’d need while in Cape Town – grocery store, restaurant, ATM, etc. The near by Hop on Hop off bus stop makes it easy to get to downtown cape down, the water front, and the Table Mountain launch point. The staff couldn’t be more helpful or friendly. The morning breakfast is plentiful and satisfying. Also, what a view. I’ve only been to Cape Town once, and a stay at the Primi Royal has ensured that I’ll be retuning for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Counpig98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Hi guys. Thank you for the great review.
What happy, funky guests you were! Come again soon! Ciao till then!
PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. Such a lovely place to stay. Close to the main hustle and bustle of Camps Bay and beaches, perfect for walking to the restaurants and felt completely safe at night to walk. The B&B itself is stunning, with great service and friendly staff. Rooms are amazing. From reading a previous review on this site i requested room 9 - and wow was that a good choice!! The only problem is the elevator is right outside your door so you can hear everytime the elevator is used as it makes a noise, but this room had views from one end to the other, a balcony that wraps around. A huge shower and big bath tub, as well as a skylight in the bathroom. All in all a great experience.... a bit of luxury at a reasonable price..... :)

Room Tip: Room 9 - stunning views with a balcony that wraps around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thanks for the great review Michelle. Yes - Room 9's view are gorgeous!
PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in the Primi Royal for 7 nights for our honeymoon in October 2011 and we were made feel so welcome and relaxed by the friendly and efficient reception staff. The location in Camps Bay was ideal...very easy going, safe and just 3 minutes walk to the main strip of restaurants/bars/beach. The hotel was kept spotless and had a lovely relaxed atmosphere.....the staff could not do enough for us. The hotel manager Byron went out of his way for us such as arranging a tour guy for us and tailoring it to our exact needs, ordering junk food for us in the local takeaway and bringing it up to us in our room on a tray when we were too hungover to leave the hotel! When we were due to travel to Mauritius for the second week of our honeymoon, we did not want to leave because we felt so at home and the honeymoon room was beautiful....fantasic view of the beach and sunset. When we came home from our honeymoon the staff had sent us some belongings that we had left behind which included one black sock......very honest of them! We would recommend this hotel for its location, service and its relaxed, friendly atmosphere and would like to say a big thanks to Byron & staff for making it a home from home. Michelle & Noel from Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Hello Michelle & Noel
Thank you for your fabulous comments!
We felt the same about you.... Absolute pleasure having you! Come back soon please!
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A wonderful choice for your first visit to Cape Town and South Africa! Comfy, cozy rooms with an exquisite view of the Ocean and the surrounding mountains. A short, easy walk to the main drag with it's fun Miami Beach-esque (but far less obnoxious and expensive than Miami Beach) Restaurants, shopping, beach, Hop on/Hop off bus line, and even close to a Pharmacy should you need one. The staff is courteous, professional and quite friendly! I would recommend this place to anyone and stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the ocean.. The sunsets are absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muralgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you so much! Thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Reviews like yours make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Primi Royal for 5 nights and we loved it! It wasn't luxurious, but very cozy and clean. We had a great view of the ocean and the mountains around. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was located just a 5 minute walk to the main drag of Camps Bay, the beach, and the Hop On-Hop off bus, which made getting into town easy. I would stay here again most certainly.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jedburgh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you Patrick! Hope you DO come back again!
Best Regards
PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our first visit to Cape Town and followed on from our Superb Safari experience.
Having beed at the lap of luxury on Safari we thought rooms would be hard to beat but when we arrived at Primi Royal we were very impressed with our very large room coupled with our private swimming pool on our balcony and our breath taking views over camps bay.

This is a very friendly and relaxed hotel and you won't find any stuffiness here. The service is still excellent.

This is a great place to explore all the different things that Cape Town has to offer and you must try Codfathers and is a 2 minute walk away from the hotel, which is a fantastic place for fresh fish.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimboha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

You're most welcome!
Glad to have had you staying & hope you'll return soon.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The view from the balcony is nothing short of stunning, you feel like you can reach out and touch the clouds watching the sunset over Camps Bay. The hotel is very short walk from Victoria Road, but is elevated enough to get spectacular views. I recommend getting a bottle of wine and watching the sunset as your first order of business.

The room service is from the Primi Restaurant around the corner and is available until 11, we didn't try it but it looked pretty good. Breakfast is included with your stay but be careful that you plan accordingly. There are only a couple of ladies cooking and serving, so if 4 or 5 couples come down at the same time it can take while. If you let them know you will be taking an early tour they will actually have a breakfast to go ready for you, wish we would have seen that before our 3rd day!

The staff are all very sweet and willing to help you when you need a hand. I needed something scanned and they did it for me right away. Note that there is no delayed checkout, they are booked pretty solid so they do need to clean the rooms for the next guests. You can however, relax on the deck chairs by the pool until you go to the airport, which was a great way to end our trip.

Would definitely stay here again, thanks for a wonderful stay in Camps Bay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor have the best views, particularly room 9 which has a wraparound deck and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ApNp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcpt, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Yes - we are spoilt beyond words with our wonderful location!
So happy to have been able to share it with you!
Best Regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £90 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing