We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast -Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked directly through the hotel’s website and was able to arrange a transfer from Cape town airport. This was with an external agency and was R350. It was about R400 on a metered cab on the way back.

We found the staff in Primi Royal fantastic, from Zane who checked us in and spent time telling us about different things and giving us good advice, to the night porter / barman who chatted to us about what it’s like to live in South Africa and Liberty the manager who came to greet us at breakfast, told us about the different things to do and booked everything for us (table mountain, gold dinner reservations, the best of the cape tour) We definitely felt well looked after.

Reception is on the first floor and there is an elevator up to it or you can use the stairs. There was some refurbishment going on while we were there, there were signs explaining it, but we actually never seen any of the workmen or heard any noise whatsoever so it didn’t impact at all on our stay

We had room 7 which didn’t have a balcony but had 2 walls of windows looking out over Lion’s head and the beach / sea. Absolutely gorgeous view to wake up to. The room was a great size with a huge bed (much bigger than a king) facing the great view which was really comfy, TV, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini bar (additional drinks including bottles of wine can be bought at the 24 hours bar at reception). One great thing was that there was a UK to SA adapter in the room. This was a godsend as we had left our adapter in Addo. The bathroom was a great size with a huge shower bath which had great power

Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of a cold buffet of cereal, yoghurt, pastries, fruit and then the hot food was made to order, bacon, eggs, sausages, omelettes and toast. Definitely set you up for the day. Breakfast was held in the bar area at reception with a view looking over the sea, but on a nice day you could have it on the table outside in the sun.

The area by the small pool had tables & chairs and sun loungers which caught the sun and was very peaceful and relaxing. One great thing as well as the hotel has a shower room with towels and toilet so after check out we could lounge in the sun by the pool ant then shower and freshen up before getting out taxi to the airport. This was definitely a plus and most hotels don’t offer this

I hadn’t realised that Camps Bay was as far out from downtown Cape town and the V&A Waterfront (about 20 mins driving) but we utilised the Red bus tour bus which has a stop on the main beach road just down from the hotel (2 mins walk). As table mountain is the last stop before camps bay we took a taxi to that (~R80) and then jumped on the bus from there and hopped on and off.

The beach in Camps Bay gives a beautiful view of sunset with the light hitting the back of table mountain. Absolutely gorgeous, definitely take a picture
The main beach road has a number of restaurants to sit over lunch or dinner with a drink and watch the world go by. There is also a Pick & Pay supermarket at the corner where you can buy snacks, drinks, fruit etc.... which is really useful

Overall we had a fantastic time in Camps Bay and staying at Primi Royal. The service, helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was exceptional and the location and view was beautiful. We were also impressed with the price for the hotel and facilities as we have paid much more in other hotels for less

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Well Little Miss Neve - You have a job as our new advertising Manager if you wish! Thank you so very much for all the kinds things said. Absolutely thrilled we gave you the kind of service that illicits this kind of reaction. Wonderful feeling for us that we're able to make guests so happy.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    134
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
39
259
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Clean rooms with great views at a value price (at least in low season)!

If you're looking to stay outside of Cape Town without the hustle and bustle this is the place. We had a great view of the ocean in our room. When we headed upstairs for breakfast we got a stunning mountain view.

We rented a car and had no trouble finding street parking. The area was safe, so we didn't have to worry about our car being parked outside. Also, we took the hop off-hop on, and it was about 2 blocks from the hotel, so we were able to just walk down there to catch the bus.

They also arranged our transport to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotaclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review us.
Very much appreciated!
And we agree - Camps Bay is a Gem!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Always great to stay at the Primi Royal.
I cannot fault the hotel.
Service is always great,staff are very friendly.
It is a pleasure to stay at the Prini Royal Boutique Hotel.
After the renovations the Hotel should be eveb better.


  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Hey Dave
We always love having you!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :- )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We could hardly have chosen a better place to stay the four first nights of this year's SA vacation! The staff - from the check-in counter, through the kitchen and breakfast staff, to the night porters, are nothing but welcoming, forthcoming and friendly. The room we got was spacious well beyond our expectations, with a fabulous view over the beach, and of course with an almost legendary sunset every evening. The bathroom was totally in line with the rest of the place: spacious, inviting and with all those little extras one ravels to find in such a place. So yes, do not even hesitate where to stay, if you are looking for a place in Camps Bay, or even Cape Town. The city bowl is just a short taxi ride away over the Kloof Neck Rd, and the beach is just a minute's stroll down the road, 24/7. The reception area with its sofas, fresh newspapers and magazines, fireplace, bar, verandas all around, and the plunge pool just around the corner, was a perfect place to wind down after every day in the Mother City and her marvellous surroundings! Primi Royal will undoubtedly be our choice also the next time we come to SA. Thanks to all of you wonderful people making this place such a great little place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KeaNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
A hah.. I do remember you very well kind Sir :-)
Thank you for your great review! It would be wonderful if you would come back! So we'll hold you to that promise & look forward to seeing you sooner than later.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

To be completely honest, I had never really used TripAdvisor before my 15-day holiday to South Africa and Zambia, but it was so much help! My holiday was broken up into 3 parts and it concluded with a 4-day stay a Primi Royal…BEST DECISION EVER. I am a firm believer in the people make or break the experience, and the staff at Primi Royal were more friendly, genuine and helpful than some of the 5-star Hotel staff at the numerous other hotels that I stayed. Liberty and Prim Rose are just two of the friendly smiles that I will not soon forget. Besides the awesome staff, I loved the location, it is perfectly situated just off the main street with all the restaurants and shops (Victoria Rd I think?) And the hilly layout was perfect for morning jogs! I stayed in room #9 and I had the best view of Camps Bay! The balcony was a ridiculously beautiful 180˚ view of the ocean and the Twelve Apostles mountain range. The view/balcony alone was worth the cost of the room and yet the room itself was huge and the bed was so comfortable! My only complaint would be that the screen door to the balcony would stick when closing—but it was sort of a blessing in disguise because I just left the door open and the breeze and sounds of the ocean were an added plus! …Along with the super fast internet! So, whether you are traveling alone (like myself), with a family, or as a couple, Primi Royal is a great boutique, in a great location, with amazing views and fabulous little shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Oh! And the breakfast! Amazing. No menu, you tell them what you want (within reason) and that’s that.

Room Tip: If you want the best view, go with #9...you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkinswb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Gosh - what can I say except thank you so very much from all the staff for your very kind words!
I sometimes think we must have the 'smiliest staff in the whole of Camps Bay!
They're like a walking talking advert for toothpaste! Happy staff = Happy guests!
Yes - I think most of our guests feel the same way about our location.Simply perfect.
And absolutely yes... I personally feel the same way about room 9!
Kindest regards & thanks for choosing to stay with us.
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very happy time here. Everything wonderful. Better than expected. Breakfast more than any average person should eat and very good. Oh - fantastic bed! Staff really excellent. Thank you. Thank you. We will come again some day. We loved Camps Bay and Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Hello Lily!
Thank you for taking time to send a review.
It was a pleasure having you & as discussed - look forward to seeing you back very soon!
Be safe until we see you in November!
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hi me and my partner booked into the hotel for 2 nights just for a get away, basically hair in my breakfast,broken funiture & no cocktail menu when we were at the pool :o( other than that great view...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Property: Primi Royal
Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing