We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a night in one of the standard rooms with a sea view. When we arrived, the check in process was done efficiently and we were shown our room.

The room was comfortable our only complaint was the 'shower'. It had a bath tub with a glass screen to use as a shower. The 'shower head' would splatter water everywhere and the pressure was terrible and couldn't be adjusted.

The breakfast was nice and tasty.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your review - very much appreciated that you took the time to do so.

I read your comment about the shower in our feedback form which you filled in prior to leaving & our maintenance guy had a look at the shower head immediately after you left. And yes - you're were quire correct in saying it splattered. He also found that it was very stiff to manoeuver & to the untrained person would appear not to be able to move at all. But he used some Q20 & adjusted it and its now very much improved. Thank you for bringing that all to our attention. The water pressure unfortunately we have no control over as this is a municipal issue.

Hope we do see you again!
Kindest regards
The Primi Royal Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Primi Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here in June and couldn't have asked for anything more. The welcome was warm, the room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the view from our deck was spectacular. This boutique hotel is warm and intimate while still being professional. The location is also fantastic for walking down to the beach or to dinner at one of several restaurants. An added unexpected bonus was the tiny bar and amazing views while enjoying our delicious breakfast. We will definitely stay here again when back in the Cape!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scatterling24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Ahhh thank you so much for your perfectly lovely review!!
Makes our hearts glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves.
The hard working staff will also be delighted to hear you speak so well of us.
Please do come back when you come to the fairest Cape of all!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here earlier this month. (June) This small, boutique hotel is well positioned just off Beach Road in beautiful Camps Bay. If you walk 10 minutes up the hill from the hotel, you will reach the Hassar Grill which is a fantastic and renowned steakhouse with no charge on corkage. I highly recommend it. If you walk 5 minutes downhill in the opposite direction, you will reach the beachfront, full of upscale bars and restaurants.

Our stay was part of a trip taking in Safari and Victoria Falls. We selected this time of year to coincide with the best time to see the Falls and so were aware Camps Bay in June (SA Winter) is very quiet due to the fact the weather in the Cape at this time of year doesn’t lend itself to sun worshipping. However, being there in Winter does not take away from the beautiful scenery of the area with the beach, promenade and the 12 Apostles Mountain range in the background.

You enter the hotel via an intercom system and FOB key. Once inside you can get the elevator to 1st floor which houses reception, a sitting area, a small dining area (breakfast) and sliding glass doors leading to a small plunge pool and sun chairs.

Our room was large, comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the street with views of the Ocean in the near distance. The only issue I had with the room was the shower and more precisely the positioning of the shower screen. The way it was designed was bizarre and meant it was impossible to have a shower without soaking the bathroom floor. Other than that, I have no complaints about the accommodation. Breakfast each morning was very nice and the staff at the hotel were welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The only overall small negative was that if you chose to take the stairs rather than the elevator you were always met and faced with climbing over bags of laundry and extension cables. I assume the hotel management presume everyone will use the elevator and thus feel guests will not be privy to the untidiness of the back stairs area. It wasn’t a big deal but just something I haven’t encountered before.

All in all, the hotel was excellent value for money at the rate we paid and more than met our requirements for a short stay. We plan to come back to Camps Bay during mid to high season one year to see it in its full glory and enjoy the beach. When that time comes I would certainly consider returning to the Primi Royal

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Hi 'Roeboy'

Thank you for a great review of your trip! You do write very informative & real reviews of everywhere you travel to, for which I applaud you for! Good to hear you had a good time in SA and more importantly that your experience of SA was one to remember.

And so to the shower. I know the shower over bath is not ideal, but I think a simple maneuvering of the shower head (albeit stiff) may have sorted your problem? :-))) We are upgrading that specific bathroom by the way. Cant wait!

And sincere apologies for the stairs too. And yes I'm sure its been a small irritation factor for other guests too. But as you may remember we had signs everywhere regarding the many repairs & renovations happening in the hotel? eg. New laundry room, storeroom & dry goods store. This unfortunately impacted on our rear service stairs because of the cramped area for the workmen to work in. We had no choice but to have the daily dirty laundry being sorted on the floor of the 3 meter long rear stair passageway immediately outside the old laundry room. This is not always the case I can assure you! And it'll be pure bliss when the renovations are all done - so you can have the stairs all to yourself again. :-)))

LOVE that you're prepared to come back in the near future!
Looking forward to when I can give you a personally guided tour to show you the improvements! And re a previous article you wrote about another glorious location....I promise I wont charge you for the tour! haha xx

Best regards until then!
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were welcomed by Liberty on arrival and shown to our wonderful rooms. What a view! We were lulled to sleep at night by the waves crashing on the shore and woke to wonderful views of the sea and the mountains. The beds were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Liberty organised trips, taxis and supplied us with all the information we needed. All of the staff were amazing and the customer service was faultless. Breakfast was fantastic (I'm sure we put on weight eating all their wonderful food) and nothing was too much trouble. We really couldn't fault the Primi Royal and would definately return there. Now we just have to save up again so we can come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittypat2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Well hello to PittyPat in Melbourne Australia!!
We don't get enough of your countrymen! Ozzies are always such 'good-feel-happy-people'!.
It was pure pleasure having you and thank you so much for the really excellent review.
We absolutely love it when our guest are appreciative of what we have to offer.
Now save up quick & get on back here!
Best regards till then
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Hi, This is a great little hotel in the lovely Camps Bay Area. I wouldn't quite describe it as boutique, but the rooms are good, we managed to park underneath the hotel, and the breakfasts and staff were very good. It has a lift (good), but the stairs are a bit hard and grey. Bathroom fixtures also a bit basic. I can recommend this hotel though. Well done guys, keep up the good work! Oh and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you PTFE (difficult saying that one... :-))
Glad you found us worthy of recommending!
Yes I admit - our stairs are rather hard & grey - as rear stairs sometimes are. It's actually an expensive & highly specialised technique made of a 4-5ml self-levelling cement compound with a luxurious, natural, mottled smooth finish which in the industry is commonly called a 'screeded raw cement floor'. (So in old fashioned language its just plain old smooth & shiny cement). But it's actually 'Very Fashionable' as a floor finish in Africa & goes with the semi-African feel we have throughout. And bonus: it's easy to keep clean! :-)
And thank you so very much for the encouragement to staff... Much appreciated by them!
Hope you get to come back some day!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It was a wonderful break away. The staff and management were very friendly and made the stay even more special. The views from the room were breathtaking. The room was so comfortable. Felt like a home away from home.





  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Khatija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Heloo Khatijia!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind comments.
We do hope you will come again!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great Location, (This is not a city hotel or is it near the waterfront in Cape Town) but is a very nice boutique hotel for Camps Bay
Small hotel but great big rooms, felt really homely, staff were friendly & they had free parking which is a bonus if you have a rental car in this area. Easy walking distance to many restaurants and the beach. We also used the hop on hop off bus and the stop is just down the road so was perfect for that too. They were doing some renovations while we were there a few soft furnishings were needed especially in the bathrooms but this did not interfere at all with our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Hello Taz
Thank you very much for taking the time to send a review. Very much appreciated!
Yes - Cape Town CBD & Waterfront is a mere 10 mins drive away.. just over 2.5Kms. So we are perfectly situated & have the best of both worlds - close to the city & 100M from the beach!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £68 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing