We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most amazing stay”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most amazing stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

the staff is amazing . rooms are awesome . the staff was very courteous and very warm . i truly recommend this hotel to travellers visiting cape town.particularly recommend room number 1 where i stayed . really amazing

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Vishal
Thank you SO much for your lovely review & recommendation!
What a genuine pleasure you were.
Please do come again when next in Cape Town.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    141
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
43
267
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the top level suite, room #10 I believe, with the ocean view hot tub on the balcony. It was by far one of the most romantic, exquisite hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. The staff was incredible, the breakfast was delicious and complimentary. And the room service was also top notch, which was a good thing because we never wanted to leave the room. We've been thinking about this vacation ever since we left, and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the third floor ocean view room with the outdoor hot tub. We initially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Cameron we don't have enough of people like you in this world!!
Genuinely happy & thankful for the wonderful world we live in. Bless you xx
And thank you for the wonderful review ~ albeit through the flush of love & rose tinted glasses :-)
You're MOST welcome to return. Anytime!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The first impression was not welcoming (No sign to where the reception is - If I did not find someone staying there coming out of the lift, I would never have found it). We parked with great difficulty (I had to climb out and my husband struggled to get out of the car) due to the size of the parking available. They misplaced our booking, told us not to worry as they have one room still available (probably ours we figured - how wrong we were). Exploring the unit let us to broken sliding door handles (literally hanging by a thread). The furniture was broken, run down and tired, the bath was leaking, the howling wind screaming through the sliding doors due to it not closing properly kept us awake all night. We had a very uncomfortable sleep as we asked for a large double bed, but got a single and three courter bed pushed together - causing a rift in the middle of the bed - no romantic getaway here - we had to each sleep on our own bed. The towels were so old and worn and piled on top of an old towel heater that did not really work properly so could only heat a bit of one towel at a time. There were only a couple of TV channels not correctly tuned on an old TV, while they advertised cable and satellite and flat screen TV. They also advertise breakfast in room??? This was not an option. Elegantly decorated?? Run down is more like it, Bidet?? Nowhere to be seen?? The breakfast was not the normal spread that we are accustomed to in lesser star bed and breakfasts. The table cloth were dirty and no indication of the warm menu anywhere to be seen. The only highlight was however the warm English breakfast and coffee - very expensive breakfast though. This place cost me more than what I would have paid for a 5 star location in Langebaan. We selected this hotel as it ticked all the boxes of what we wanted for a quite getaway - but alas, it offered almost nothing. We have been around the world and stayed in many places, but never this bad. You always get what you pay for. This is definitely not a 4 star rating hotel - do not know how they got it. It sends a bad and misinformed message about Cape Town and the South African hospitality industry and the standards that we offer to world travelers. We were actually willing to suck it up. The final straw was when they asked us to move the next day after breakfast as another guest is coming in and we were staying in his superior room - we moved alright - we moved out! If we spent the night in a superior room I was not sticking around to find out how bad the classic room was going to be ... I have never left a review anywhere, but this just warranted warning to other travelers.

Room Tip: Do not stay there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dearest Monica and Adriaan, I doubt anything I say will ever appease your obvious dissatisfaction with absolutely every thing you encountered in our hotel. I’m genuinely sorry about that & do not wish to explain or argue any point with you. You clearly have standards we could not ever hope to match. Suffice to say we sincerely apologise.

But for the benefit of future guests:

We categorically did not misplace your 2 night booking. You did an online booking which we have no control over and clearly something went wrong while you were booking (as it occasionally does) because the booking engine you used did not send through the confirmation to us. We did the best we could for you under the circumstances. A long time returning guest had booked and paid in advance for that specific room for the following 14 nights and we had no choice but to ask you to move. You would have expected the same if you were the other guest. I do however apologise for this.

The Tourism Board of South Africa inspects us on an annual basis. They inspect every aspect of the hotel before awarding the star rating they think appropriate. We also have mostly excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. So we must be doing somethings right!?

We have had 1000’s upon 1000’s of guests over the years and the wonderful, thoughtful heartfelt feedback we get on a daily basis from foreign guests is reward enough and that's what keeps us going. Thankfully most of our guests absolutely love staying with us ~ and for this we are extremely grateful.

Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was looking forward to coming here as had read the reviews good and bad but as there were so many good one's I felt confident all would be well
What a surprise I had...... I am extremely suspicious that the good reviews have been written by those employed by the owner as there is no way on earth that this could be rated a 4 star hotel!!
The room as you enter looks wonderful..... but looks can be deceptive as on a closer look (though you don't have to look too far) you will find a bed with no headboard so you bash your head on the mirror put in it's place (placed maybe to give the illusion of a bigger room??)
The bathroom has no heating and again although it looks at first lovely with the corner bath, the shower is grubby, there is mould on a lot of the tiles and around the windows, the rack that holds the toiletries is held on by single screw.
All windows are aluminium, so the noise from the traffic keeps you awake and are also do not give you confidence regarding the security!!!!
Our room had an air con/heating box that did not work, I was informed that someone had stolen the outside pipes so the room at night was cold (and the bathroom in the morning!!!!)
Having read the negative views the excuse is always that the hotel is undergoing repairs yet one of these reviews was back in April !!!!!!! There are signs everywhere saying about repairs but I saw no sign of this (though to be fair this was the weekend)
The room does however have a lovely sea view!
The staff were pleasant, Liberty especially but would I stay here again NO WAY!!!
Please be very sceptical about the POSITIVE reviews!!!!!

Room Tip: I can only comment about room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
As any experienced reviewer knows, Tripadvisor is extremely careful with reviews and their contributors. Through sophisticated technology, they are able to track & trace the IP address of all contributors and every review is thoroughly screened & tested for irregularities. Therefore to suggest that an owner had his employees write the reviews is not only ridiculous but impossible because Tripadvisor would catch them out immediately and the review would never be posted.

Dear Carolyn, I do apologise and am genuinely sorry you found your room not to your satisfaction. Sincerely wish you better luck in your future travels.

1) Generally South African hotels do not have heated bathrooms because we do have a warm sunny climate after all. We even lived without air-conditioning until fairly recently and it became a 'modern necessity'.

2) In South Africa most properties along any of our coastlines have aluminium windows. That is one of the better modern accomplishments = No rotting wooden window frames! :-)

3) And yes we had an inconvenient & unexpected theft of all the copper piping of the air-conditioner condensor units kept in the garages. Copper is a valuable commodity.... The joys of living in South Africa. So sorry you had to experience the after affects of what some of us locals deal with on a daily basis.

There is a saying "If You Try To Be Everything To Everyone, You’ll Be Nothing To No One”. Therefore as much as one tries, one cannot satisfy everyone. That’s a fact.

But to the guests that do show their happiness & appreciation - I say a heartfelt thank you! We’ll just continue to do the best we can and hope to hit the right spot - most of the time that is. ;-)).

Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel, lovely staff and we were lucky to get the best room which is a real treat. Large enough for 3 of us and room to spare, lovely bath and huge shower. Outside pool which is probably great in summer...too cold in winter and just a plunge pool but a nice touch. Good continental + cooked breakfasts, nothing too much trouble. This place is just too good to miss ! Very good spot with parking, but only 2-3 minutes walk to all that Camps Bay has to offer...exceptional !

Room Tip: Get Room 1 if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
James ~ James ~ thank you... You're too kind. Such a pleasure having the 3 of you. But you have to be be careful with all this praise.. cos some people on this site would suggest we actually paid you to be so positive!! LOL :-))) And considering you have 56 reviews & 13 hotels reviews you must be supa mega wealthy by now! (wink wink)
Best regards!
The Primi Royal Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a night in one of the standard rooms with a sea view. When we arrived, the check in process was done efficiently and we were shown our room.

The room was comfortable our only complaint was the 'shower'. It had a bath tub with a glass screen to use as a shower. The 'shower head' would splatter water everywhere and the pressure was terrible and couldn't be adjusted.

The breakfast was nice and tasty.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review - very much appreciated that you took the time to do so.

I read your comment about the shower in our feedback form which you filled in prior to leaving & our maintenance guy had a look at the shower head immediately after you left. And yes - you're were quire correct in saying it splattered. He also found that it was very stiff to manoeuver & to the untrained person would appear not to be able to move at all. But he used some Q20 & adjusted it and its now very much improved. Thank you for bringing that all to our attention. The water pressure unfortunately we have no control over as this is a municipal issue.

Hope we do see you again!
Kindest regards
The Primi Royal Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here in June and couldn't have asked for anything more. The welcome was warm, the room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the view from our deck was spectacular. This boutique hotel is warm and intimate while still being professional. The location is also fantastic for walking down to the beach or to dinner at one of several restaurants. An added unexpected bonus was the tiny bar and amazing views while enjoying our delicious breakfast. We will definitely stay here again when back in the Cape!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scatterling24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Ahhh thank you so much for your perfectly lovely review!!
Makes our hearts glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves.
The hard working staff will also be delighted to hear you speak so well of us.
Please do come back when you come to the fairest Cape of all!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Property: Primi Royal
Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing