We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our time here over Christmas. Wonderful views, fantastic breakfast, comfortable, quiet, brilliant bar, very friendly and helpful staff. What more can I say? I would rush back tomorrow. Missing it already! Excellent value for money and just a great place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Knobjunior1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi guys!! It was absolutely super having guests like yourselves! So enthusiastic about everything and who treasure life's every moment! Total pleasure having you & hope you DO come back soon!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    134
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
39
258
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We really loved the Primi Royal. Excellent location, excellent value. Very convenient that you can order food from the Primi restaurant in Camps Bay and have it delivered to your room. The highlight for me were the staff - exceptionally friendly, well-spoken and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Adrian
Thank you for your review - genuinely very much appreciated.Yes we do offer the best value for money in Camps Bay - even if I say so myself! And your words for the staff will please them far more than you will ever know. Thank you.
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 16 nights in December 2013. We had a superb time at the Primi and loved exploring Cape Town and the surrounding areas. A big thank you to all the staff who could not have been more helpful and friendly.
Location is excellent, one street behind the main beach road so not too noisy but still with stunning views and convenient for the buses, restaurants and shops. As well as the Pick n Pay supermarket at the corner of the beach road there is a smaller and much nicer supermarket next to the Hussar Grill restaurant (turn left out of the hotel, up the hill). Taxis can be a little expensive but the buses are easy to use. Worth considering hiring a car to explore the surrounding areas – there is so much to see and do......Camps Bay beach is beautiful, but can get extremely busy on Public holidays - we found it an easy walk to the Clifton beaches which are a little more secluded.
A big plus point for the hotel is that they do not overcharge for drinks so when you are not out and about you can really relax here – it is the same price to have a drink from your mini bar as to purchase it at the main bar. If you have had a busy day and choose to stay in the hotel in the evening you can order food from their sister restaurant and have it delivered to either the terrace or your room for no extra charge. The pool area is small but comfortable – as there is so much to do in the area we never had a problem using a sunbed when we wanted to spend an hour or so relaxing.
The only issue we found with the hotel is that it is in need of some TLC from the owners – some of the furnishings/fittings are a little dated and there are a few minor maintenance problems. That said, we loved our time here and could easily overlook these issues as we were not paying 5 star prices to stay in this 5 star location! And the service was 5 star.....
Thanks to Liberty for sharing his local knowledge and making bookings for us, Alan for looking after us in the evenings, Zane for recommending a superb local restaurant (Il Capperro) for New Years Eve, Milton for his dry sense of humour and Primrose for her beautiful smile every time she greeted us. We hope to return........

Room Tip: Great views from room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RufusUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hello Peter & Ruth,
A really lovely and informative review of the hotel & Camps Bay for our potential future guests - for which I thank you very much! As you know, we ALL loved having you and sincerely trust you'll be back soon! Your comments have been taken note of and I hope to be able to surprise you when you do return! Your individual thanks are sincerely appreciated and have been passed to the staff who in turn all grinned broadly. You totally made their day!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed in three rooms during my three week stay in Camps Bay, 6, 9 and 10. All rooms are very clean and comfortable but just need some slight maintenance work to meet its 4 star status. The staff are really attentive and helpful, and we were on first name terms, which makes the stay feel like being at home rather than on holiday. I would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyh67186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dearest Andy - what can I say? You're a true gentleman and it was a delight having you. In fact I have to thank you for always being a walking, talking example to my staff of how to be polite, courteous, charming and helpful even though being on first name terms. You realise of course that returning year after year as you do virtually makes you one of the family? Hope to see you again very soon - if not this Christmas - then next! See you then!

Best regards and many thanks
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Following our wedding in Franschhoek our close family stayed at Primi Royal for a few days and it was perfect for us. All our other guests were located in Camps Bay so we were looking for somewhere not extremely expensive but still conveniently located. Primi Royal was great- friendly staff, close to all the restaurants of Camps Bay with a lovely little pool deck, nice breakfasts and off street parking. The rooms can probably do with a bit of modernising but with nice big en-suites it was fine by us.

Room Tip: The comfort rooms have a much larger bed than the standard doubles so may be worth upgrading. Room 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi and thank you for your kind words. We're very happy that you chose our hotel to base yourselves at after your wedding. We're also very happy that we could provide everything you and your family needed. I agree - we are very good value for money and Camps Bay is a perfect spot!
Kindest regards and the very best of luck for your future together!
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I actually thought I had already written a review soon after our return, but evidently it didn't 'take'.
My wife and I came to South Africa - me for the first time, and she to return after 40 years - and our first stop was this hotel in Cape Town. We had heard that it was friendly, and when we arrived, we were greeted by Liberty and Primrose and informed we had been upgraded to another room. Great sea views, with the waves crashing on the rocks. Liberty also recommended we go to Table Mountain ASAP as the weather was going to change soon. We did. It did! But we got some fantastic pics and views of Cape Town while the sun shone!
Not only that, but after discovering our plans, Liberty also booked various trips for us online, saving us time and effort, and making sure we received discounts. Service over and above! In fact all the staff went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable.
The hotel is also very handy for the circular tour buses (Red & Blue) which is a good way to see the city.
On the down side.. the room, while really comfortable, had seen better days. The bathroom in particular looked a bit like a DIY job, and could do with a bit of a refurb. That being said, it did not detract from a lovely stay.
The staff in particular make this hotel; from Zane, to Liberty, Primrose and the bar guys whose names, so long after, I now forget - sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Helloooo again - and thank you very much for your kind review. And thank you so much for your lovely comments about the helpful reception staff. We honestly do our very best to provide our guests with the best travel, tour & sightseeing advice possible to make their stay memorable. Hoping you'll choose us again if you ever return. You'd be made most welcome.

While on the subject of advice: If I could advise anything it would be for guests not to pre-book Table Mountain (particularly in winter) as tickets are not refundable if the weather turns bad (windy & cloudy) and often the weather conditions may only improve after the guest has left Cape Town.

But I do recommend that they pre-book Robben Island in the very busy holiday season (begin Nov to end Feb/March), as tickets are sold out many days in advance of trips and leaving in to last minute may prove disappointing.

Once again thanking you and very best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My Partner and I visited South Africa for the first time and this was our first stop. Our room was lovely, the staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent and the hotel was in a good location; close to the beach. We found it to be a good base for trips in to Cape Town and also exploring the Cape Penninsula. There was parking for our hire car which made things easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Tina
Thank you for taking time to review us. Very much appreciated!
Judging from your other reviews of South Africa, you had an overall wonderful time!
It certainly looks like you chose the best of South African destinations for your travels.
Do come back if you get the chance!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Property: Primi Royal
Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing