We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I spent three nights over New Year at Primi-Royal with a friend and we really couldn't fault the place. There are a few niggles like the fact that parking is limited and not bookable so if there is no space to park you have to find a car park. When we were there the ceiling in the lounge had to be partly removed due to a water leak which was pretty unsightly but a few free drinks put paid to that complaint! The staff are top class and genuinely happy to help - everything from going out to get takeaway for you to offering a cooked breakfast well past the 09:30 advertised cut off. Location is perfect at just a minute's walk from the beach on a quieter street and the sun terrace a real bonus. The pool is really not much more than a large bath but is perfect for a quick cooling dip. I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Very much appreciated! And thank you for being so very understanding about the burst waterpipe in the ceiling. Thankfully it was not worse. I know you're intrepid traveler so we possibly won't see you again - but you're most welcome to pop in again. Anytime!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay with a 180° view from our bedroom to the sea, mountains and beautiful Camps Bay!!! Service and breakfast were good, easy parking, walkind distance from restos and bars. Def recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MAOS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review us.
We're thrilled that you loved your room & fabulous view.
Please do consider coming back if you can.
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Primi Royal. The hotel was excellent - close to the beach but just far enough away (100m) to escape the business. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room (No.1) was huge with good facilities. The breakfast was very good too as was the sunset from the bar veranda. Camps Bay is a great place to base yourself in Cape Town - lots of restaurants and bars, great beach, excellent views and you can walk (longish) to Lion's Head and also the start of the cable car up to Table Mountain. A taxi into the centre of town is quick (10mins) and doesn't cost too much. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RiyadhAlfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi guys! Thank you for your review. So happy that you had a lovely time with us in Cape Town. And glad you agree that Camps Bay makes the perfect location for a visit to Cape Town. What could be better than a gorgeous beach on your doorstep & the bright lights of the city a short 10 mins away? Do come again if ever you're in town!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Absolutely loved our time here over Christmas. Wonderful views, fantastic breakfast, comfortable, quiet, brilliant bar, very friendly and helpful staff. What more can I say? I would rush back tomorrow. Missing it already! Excellent value for money and just a great place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Knobjunior1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi guys!! It was absolutely super having guests like yourselves! So enthusiastic about everything and who treasure life's every moment! Total pleasure having you & hope you DO come back soon!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We really loved the Primi Royal. Excellent location, excellent value. Very convenient that you can order food from the Primi restaurant in Camps Bay and have it delivered to your room. The highlight for me were the staff - exceptionally friendly, well-spoken and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi Adrian
Thank you for your review - genuinely very much appreciated.Yes we do offer the best value for money in Camps Bay - even if I say so myself! And your words for the staff will please them far more than you will ever know. Thank you.
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 16 nights in December 2013. We had a superb time at the Primi and loved exploring Cape Town and the surrounding areas. A big thank you to all the staff who could not have been more helpful and friendly.
Location is excellent, one street behind the main beach road so not too noisy but still with stunning views and convenient for the buses, restaurants and shops. As well as the Pick n Pay supermarket at the corner of the beach road there is a smaller and much nicer supermarket next to the Hussar Grill restaurant (turn left out of the hotel, up the hill). Taxis can be a little expensive but the buses are easy to use. Worth considering hiring a car to explore the surrounding areas – there is so much to see and do......Camps Bay beach is beautiful, but can get extremely busy on Public holidays - we found it an easy walk to the Clifton beaches which are a little more secluded.
A big plus point for the hotel is that they do not overcharge for drinks so when you are not out and about you can really relax here – it is the same price to have a drink from your mini bar as to purchase it at the main bar. If you have had a busy day and choose to stay in the hotel in the evening you can order food from their sister restaurant and have it delivered to either the terrace or your room for no extra charge. The pool area is small but comfortable – as there is so much to do in the area we never had a problem using a sunbed when we wanted to spend an hour or so relaxing.
The only issue we found with the hotel is that it is in need of some TLC from the owners – some of the furnishings/fittings are a little dated and there are a few minor maintenance problems. That said, we loved our time here and could easily overlook these issues as we were not paying 5 star prices to stay in this 5 star location! And the service was 5 star.....
Thanks to Liberty for sharing his local knowledge and making bookings for us, Alan for looking after us in the evenings, Zane for recommending a superb local restaurant (Il Capperro) for New Years Eve, Milton for his dry sense of humour and Primrose for her beautiful smile every time she greeted us. We hope to return........

Room Tip: Great views from room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RufusUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello Peter & Ruth,
A really lovely and informative review of the hotel & Camps Bay for our potential future guests - for which I thank you very much! As you know, we ALL loved having you and sincerely trust you'll be back soon! Your comments have been taken note of and I hope to be able to surprise you when you do return! Your individual thanks are sincerely appreciated and have been passed to the staff who in turn all grinned broadly. You totally made their day!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed in three rooms during my three week stay in Camps Bay, 6, 9 and 10. All rooms are very clean and comfortable but just need some slight maintenance work to meet its 4 star status. The staff are really attentive and helpful, and we were on first name terms, which makes the stay feel like being at home rather than on holiday. I would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyh67186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dearest Andy - what can I say? You're a true gentleman and it was a delight having you. In fact I have to thank you for always being a walking, talking example to my staff of how to be polite, courteous, charming and helpful even though being on first name terms. You realise of course that returning year after year as you do virtually makes you one of the family? Hope to see you again very soon - if not this Christmas - then next! See you then!

Best regards and many thanks
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM ;-))))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £80 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing