We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, affordable friendly hotel”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well located, affordable friendly hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Primi-Royal. Excellent location in beautiful Camps Bay, just minutes walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel is situated very close to the City Sightseeing Bus stop and we used this on a couple of days to get into town and around the area as we did not have a car (parking is available). However the main Cape Town and surrounds bus service is undergoing expansion so would recommend you look into this before you arrive as this may prove cheaper in the future.
Overal staff very friendly and helpful. We needed a number of taxis during our stay and unfortunately recommendations of firms and opinion of safety of those in the main rank differed between the staff which left us a bit confused and uncertain. Some reception staff less approachable for advice (hence my four star rating).
We were lucky to get a sea view room and the views, especially at sunset, were beautiful. Room very clean with a 'rustic' African style which might not appeal to all but was fine for us.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of hot (freshly cooked) and cold food, served promptly by very friendly staff.
Would definitely stay again should we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowser2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hello Bowser, Thanks for the informative review. :-) Camps Bay is a gem which more people should know about. Beautiful beach & entertaining seaside village, excellent restaurants and Cape Town city centre attractions just 12 minutes drive away.

Re the taxi confusion: We generally prefer to use a hand full of trusted companies whom we've known for many years & with whom we know our guests will be safe with & not be ripped off. The main rank with all the opportunistic johnny-come-lately's is not recommended. The staff member you dealt with may be a new & uncertain. I am concerned about the unapproachable staff member you mention, as we pride ourselves on always going the extra mile for our guests. He/she may have been having a hectic or bad day... which is not ever allowed to be made apparent to guests.... :-) Apologies for the poor experience. I have addressed this issue with all staff so it should not ever happen again! :-)

And I think you'll be happy to know that the entire hotel is at this very moment being revamped with a with total colour change throughout of walls, curtains & soft furnishings being replaced for a more contemporary feel. We'll still have our African artwork as this is something that the guests generally love about 'coming to Africa'. We look forward to seeing you again so you can enjoy the change!

Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    137
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
42
262
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Pros - stunning stunning view, friendly service, comfortable beds, affordable, centrally located walking distance to shops and awesome restaurants, good breakfasts, aircon, mini bar, hi fi.

Cons - asked for ice and they had none? (Must add they offered to go fetch and did bring some but very little), very ugly stain right in centre of the room on the carpet, very poor and erratic water pressure, battled to get wifi to work, aircon slightly noisey.

All in all a food stay and well worth a visit when in need of a break or visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony all but one has sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Stefan
Thank you for your review of the Primi Royal.
Yes - we are the most affordable stay in Camps Bay - No question about that!
And very happily we seem to have ticked all the important things as favourable. That's wonderful!
I assure you I'm addressing the other issues you mention!
Look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards to you and family.
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Primi-Royal, and had a great experience there. The hotel is small and cozy, staff is very helpful with a personal touch. They called taxis, gave us directions, tips and advices. Very good breakfast, wonderful sea view at balconies (sunset is amazing). Room was clean and big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids (not only beds for everybody, but also space). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dearest Gustavo, Thank you for your very kind review. We always appreciate it when guests actually take the time to log in to review and it's so helpful to potential guests too.
We're also very happy that you and your family had a good time and that we provided everything you needed. Please do come again!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Primi-Royal in Camps Bay and loved every minute of it! The staff were so friendly and the food was amazing (as was our room and the stunning view of the beautiful beach). We were so grateful to discover that one of the staff had trawled loads of alcohol shops to find a bottle of prosecco for me, as my husband had requested some in the room for us arriving as a little surprise - nothing was too much effort for them. Would definitely visit again. Thanks for everything!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank magsg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hey Magsg22 :-)
Your wish was our command... Glad I could find that Prosecco for you!
And thank you for your kind words - you're MOST welcome!
Will pass the compliments to the staff. They'll be thrilled.
Best wishes from
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Annual holiday to Cape Town. We love the location and the staff could not be more helpful. We have already booked to return in 2015. Room is very well furnished and we love the balcony Jacuzzi bath. The sunset views are awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig25Kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Craig!
Thank you so very much for your review. MUCH appreciated!
We always love having you and thank you for coming back year after year.
Best wishes till next time.
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here with my bf for 4 nights in early April.

I came from staying in Long St first so it was a nice change to stay here where it's peaceful and more homely.
The room was overlooking Camps Bay Drive but noise was never an issue.
Some has said it is hard to find reception? it's not hard, just get a lift to level 1.

Taxi from town will cost ~115-120ZAR *in light traffic
Taxi to Cape Town airport will cost ~400-420ZAR *in light traffic ~7am Monday morning

Pro's:
- Fantastic proximity to main strip of Camps Bay (2 min walk)
- Good breakfast cooked to your liking eg eggs, toast, baked beans, bacon etc (with coffee, tea, cereal, fruit and yoghurt)
- Spacious room with king bed, closet, small bar fridge, desk, couch + TV
- Room 10 has a long balcony with full ocean views
- Awesome split level bathroom with his/hers basins and bathtub on the upper level
- Good water pressure in the shower
- Good wifi connection
- Good staff

Con's:
- Couch is need of replacement (flat cushions)

Ocean views and proximity to restaurants was very important to me.
Primi Royal ticked those boxes.
I would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Safe travels

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Nat - thank you!
Your review is perfect & informative.
Exactly the info that potential & future guest would like to know.
PS: Couch is being restored & revamped :-)
PPS: FYI next time - our preferred Airport Transfer company only charges R350. :-)

Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Primi-Royal for 4 nights at the end of February and had a lovely stay. Great location, great view and and fantastic friendly staff. Primrose was a darling and couldnt do enough to help!

The superior rooms are first class, and would have no hesitation in recommending the Primi and hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browng31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Gary - Thank you for your fabulous review. Sincerely very much appreciated!
Yes - we are absolutely spoilt - fabulous location & views. Could not ask for better!
Primrose and the staff say hello. It was their absolute pleasure being of service to you.
Please do come back soon!! There's loads more to see, do, taste and experience :-)))
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

@@@ A reminder to future guests who intend coming in Winter @@@ Our famous (sometimes infamous!) Cape Winter is upon us quite soon and although the weather is sometimes tricky, there is so much to do indoors. But when it does rain (and even snow) in Cape Town, that doesn’t mean you can’t explore all the wonderful treasures the Mother City has to offer. Cape Town offers a great selection of indoor activities for the chilly winter months.

Museums like The Cape Town Diamond Museum, Monuments, Art exhibitions, The Artscape Theatre , The Two Oceans Aquarium, The Planetarium, The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum, the massive 1000 square metre greenhouse at Butterfly World, Indoor climbing at City Rock, Cosy restaurants, Indoor Crafmarkets, not forgetting the V&A Waterfront and much much more. And then of course there's always the misty ethereal drives through the Winelands with wine - cheese - olives - warm fireplaces and good memories.

PS: Cape Town winters are also liberally sprinkled with glorious sunshine. And I’m not talking about a feeble, washed-out winter sun - but rich, golden days with warm pleasant temperatures and no wind. Perfect hiking weather! :-)))))))) @@@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Property: Primi Royal
Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing