We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View, Good Value in Camps Bay”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Primi Royale this past June and loved it. We got room 7 which has a STUNNING view of the sea and lions head. The things that stood out most about this hotel: 1. incredible views, 2. great location just two blocks from the camps bay beachfront, 3. value - great price for location and rooms. Parking right out front. We had very friendly front desk and the breakfast was tasty and a good size (full english breakfast with coffee, juice, yogurt, cereal). I'd only say that our room was a bit cramped and some of the furnishings slightly outdated in the room (but not in the bathroom). Otherwise, our stay truly was truly great and I'd recommend this place to all my family and friends if they are seeking to stay in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: Loved room seven with the big windows and view. Doors slide open to the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clhagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Christina
Thank you for your fabulous review! Very much appreciated. The view from Room 7 is just amazing isn't it? We do hope you'll make it back to our shores sometime soon. So much more to share with you!

Just a small note for future travelers: Our room furnishings are deliberately chosen solid wood Classic / Contemporary pieces and therefore not up-to-the-minute futuristic or ultra modern. It may not be to everyone's taste, but the Classic style has stood the test of time and generally that is why people feel so at home with us. It's comfortable and unpretentious. And you can 'put your feet up' - just like home :-)

Thank you & our very best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Room was small and humid. There was no remote for the TV and the manager couldn't help so it meant getting up to change channels which really was a nuisance. Parking was tight and far from secure being open to the street. My credit charge was charged with the bill for someone else's room which, though corrected, was pretty irritating.

Breakfast was good but the rest just disappointed. We are in Cape Town three or four times a year and hoped this hotel might become a good option for future trips but that definitely won't be the case.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy1901_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Andrew and thank you for your review - albeit rather harsh.

1) I have to admit I'm a little unhappy that you chose the subject heading you did - as without your explanation - it is definitely Not an accurate description on what happened. My concern is that some potential guests do not read more than the headings...... so it's rather an unfair standalone statement - would you not agree? It was a genuine error which WAS rectified within seconds. And may I add that in My personal 4 years, we've never had this happening before... and I sincerely do apologize!
2) You specifically booked online for a No-view Standard room. It is our smallest room in the hotel, but is a 100% accepted standard size in the tourism industry and would Only have been humid if you showered with the bathroom door open to the bedroom...... and had all the windows closed. Then yes - the extraction fan would have little/no immediate effect as the entire bedroom would have be humid from the shower - until windows were opened of course. It is winter after all - where the cold, outside temperatures easily fog up warm interior room windows.
2) Unfortunately TV remotes do occasionally (tho' seldom) have technical problems and do occasionally (tho' seldom) give out - even in our own homes - and none of us keep spares do we? However if you'd stayed longer than 1 night you would have had a brand new one waiting for you by midday the following day. I am very sorry for that inconvenience.
3) We do not advertise secure parking - simply onsite parking - and in 15 years we've never had a break in - much less a theft of vehicle. This is sleepy hollow Camps Bay afterall.

Having said all that , I do wish you'd consider coming back sometime? We'd love to prove to you that we're a really lovely home-from-home, comfy place to stay - where things can be done perfectly. Our 1000's of other happy guests including many 100's of return guests over 15 years can't ALL be wrong........can they ? :-) Come on Andrew... give us another shot would you?
Look forward to hearing from you!

Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we stayed in the room with the spa bath on the balcony and what an awesome hotel. The service was amazing, the room was fantastic and breakfast was just what we wanted. We will so be going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Jenny P.... you're an absolute darling!
Thank you for your very kind review.
Look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Primi for 3 nights in May. The staff were lovely, taking care of every need. I stayed in a luxury room with nice views and comfortable furnishings. The only downsides were a dripping tap (Chinese water torture!) which wasn't resolved and a noisy geyser in the wardrobe. Also Wi-Fi wasn't available which was a let down I will admit. However, I wasn't there much as Cape Town is too amazing and who cares really when its comfortable and breakfast is good?

Room Tip: Sea Facing Luxury Room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulababy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Tulababy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated!
I have to apologise for the drip & geyser. I had no idea it was a problem until reading this. Will look into it immediately & have maintenance check for a solution. As for the WiFI..we only ever have a problem with bad weather... but it never lasts for very long before the WiFI resets itself. Sincere apologies for that too. But so glad you had a good time. Please do come again?
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Primi-Royal. Excellent location in beautiful Camps Bay, just minutes walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel is situated very close to the City Sightseeing Bus stop and we used this on a couple of days to get into town and around the area as we did not have a car (parking is available). However the main Cape Town and surrounds bus service is undergoing expansion so would recommend you look into this before you arrive as this may prove cheaper in the future.
Overal staff very friendly and helpful. We needed a number of taxis during our stay and unfortunately recommendations of firms and opinion of safety of those in the main rank differed between the staff which left us a bit confused and uncertain. Some reception staff less approachable for advice (hence my four star rating).
We were lucky to get a sea view room and the views, especially at sunset, were beautiful. Room very clean with a 'rustic' African style which might not appeal to all but was fine for us.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of hot (freshly cooked) and cold food, served promptly by very friendly staff.
Would definitely stay again should we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowser2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello Bowser, Thanks for the informative review. :-) Camps Bay is a gem which more people should know about. Beautiful beach & entertaining seaside village, excellent restaurants and Cape Town city centre attractions just 12 minutes drive away.

Re the taxi confusion: We generally prefer to use a hand full of trusted companies whom we've known for many years & with whom we know our guests will be safe with & not be ripped off. The main rank with all the opportunistic johnny-come-lately's is not recommended. The staff member you dealt with may be a new & uncertain. I am concerned about the unapproachable staff member you mention, as we pride ourselves on always going the extra mile for our guests. He/she may have been having a hectic or bad day... which is not ever allowed to be made apparent to guests.... :-) Apologies for the poor experience. I have addressed this issue with all staff so it should not ever happen again! :-)

And I think you'll be happy to know that the entire hotel is at this very moment being revamped with a with total colour change throughout of walls, curtains & soft furnishings being replaced for a more contemporary feel. We'll still have our African artwork as this is something that the guests generally love about 'coming to Africa'. We look forward to seeing you again so you can enjoy the change!

Best regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Pros - stunning stunning view, friendly service, comfortable beds, affordable, centrally located walking distance to shops and awesome restaurants, good breakfasts, aircon, mini bar, hi fi.

Cons - asked for ice and they had none? (Must add they offered to go fetch and did bring some but very little), very ugly stain right in centre of the room on the carpet, very poor and erratic water pressure, battled to get wifi to work, aircon slightly noisey.

All in all a food stay and well worth a visit when in need of a break or visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony all but one has sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Stefan
Thank you for your review of the Primi Royal.
Yes - we are the most affordable stay in Camps Bay - No question about that!
And very happily we seem to have ticked all the important things as favourable. That's wonderful!
I assure you I'm addressing the other issues you mention!
Look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards to you and family.
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Primi-Royal, and had a great experience there. The hotel is small and cozy, staff is very helpful with a personal touch. They called taxis, gave us directions, tips and advices. Very good breakfast, wonderful sea view at balconies (sunset is amazing). Room was clean and big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids (not only beds for everybody, but also space). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dearest Gustavo, Thank you for your very kind review. We always appreciate it when guests actually take the time to log in to review and it's so helpful to potential guests too.
We're also very happy that you and your family had a good time and that we provided everything you needed. Please do come again!
Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £80 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing