We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Just back from the Primi and have only good things to say about it. Location is perfect - just a couple of minutes walk from the sea front. Rooms are lovely. Staff were very helpful especially Byron who invited us to a super New Years Eve party in their sister hotel! When I return to Capetown I will definitely stay at the Primi Royal.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    134
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
39
257
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

This is a gem both as a place and the staff. The Manager (Byron) is a rare combination of hands on, kindness, knowledge, enthusiasm and care. We had a potential important accident with our son whist in Cape Town for the day and the staff at the hotel (the manager himself) took us to a nearby hospital and stayed with us for the time of assessment. Fortunately everything was fine and more shock and bruisers than a serious problem. It is very well located within Camps Bay. Truly recomended

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPlaces2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed in the Primi Royal for 3 nights with a friend. We had a large room with a balcony. The rooms are well equiped and include a universal adaptor. The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, it is nice that there is someone available 24/7. When we arrived, after a 7 hour drive, we were able to immediately relax with a beer on the terrace and watch the sun set. The staff chatted to us and someone was firing up the barbeque and we were asked if we would like to join them. We were delighted to not have to go looking for somewhere to eat and the food was just perfect. The free internet access in the business centre is great and so handy for checking email quickly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We had three excellent days, the staff were so helpful, the room was huge and well decorated. No problems at all.

Alan Mitchell

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmitch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon, london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Like the previous reviewers I was apprehensive having read the reviews. However, I had a very happy visit at the Primi Royal. I got the manager to come to my room and check the locks for safety and he showed me where precautions had been taken as a result of the previous problems. He said he could offer me another room if I was uncomfortable. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was good, I loved my room. I had a lovely balcony that had a sea view, but I didn't use it as it was rainy and windy during my visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillymc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We arrived at the Primi-royal after stays at several outstanding Hotels in South Africa and from the outside were worrie what we were going to find inside. However we were pleasently surprised, we were greeted by Andrew who was exremely nice and helpful. Both rooms were adequate and when first decorated probably looked beautiful, however they both looked a bit tired and in need of a makover.
Breakfast was fine but sometimes limited if they ran out of fruit etc they would not always replenish even if there were more guests to come to eat.
We were originally booked in for 3 nights but due to the ash cloud stayed an extra 8 nights. Some of the staff were very helpful allowing us to use phone, computer (when the guest 1 had crashed) etc to find out what was going on, however other members of staff told us to use a public phone.
Towards the end of our the stay the women who cleaned our rooms(they also made and served breakfast) began to be a bit lazy, not always leaving replacement loo rolls, towells etc. One morning the salt cellar broke lkeaving salt all over the floor and after asking twice and a fellow guest asking the salt was left until after breakfast. The rest of the hotel was quite clean. I think we could have been in worse, but it definatley could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplewelshwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at the primi royal for 2 nights when we first arrived in Cape Town. We arrived at 11pm and checked straight in. The first night we stayed in a standard room which was lovely but for the second night we booked a luxury room (room 9) which was just beautiful and definitely worth the extra money. It had a hot tub outside, a huge balcony, the bathroom had underfloor heating - it was amazing! The breakfast was lovely and the staff were all really friendly. On our second night we went to Blues restaurant which was literally a 5 minute walk from the primi roayl and the food was delicious! I would definitely stay at the primi royal again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Property: Primi Royal
Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing