We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at this small boutique style property in a wonderful location overlooking Camps Bay, and we loved the Camps Bay area for our first trip to Cape Town.

The property, room and pool felt particularly relaxing - more like a house-party villa type experience, but it should not be mistaken for a conventional full service hotel. Room, pool, loungers and general environment peaceful and up to scratch - and enjoyable early evening canape and wine service - but limited food offering with no bar. Breakfast quite communal with a good, nicely presented buffet but prone to running out of fresh breads/ juices etc.

Mostly very helpful staff, good restaurant recommends, and an excellent car service (which you need if you haven't got a car). Expensive airport transfers and private tours.

Yes, it is quite expensive in peak season for what it is - but we did enjoy our stay, and we would book again. With the slight house-party feel, you do have to hope that the other guests are nice cheery types, which they mostly!! were.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Rock Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaspari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

The heading says it all. Because our stay consisted of all three.

A review is not all about a good breakfast and a view. It is also very different to a one night stay, One needs to stay at least 2/3 nights to get a better idea.
we stayed 7 nights. Having travelled to SA many times and stayed in beautiful hotels boutique style as well as big hotels of 5 stars I do believe that I have the experiance to compare.

Atlantic view does have excellent views of the sea. The rooms are nice, but a few of them look ed a bit tired.i looked in 4 rooms. I stayed in one room but had to move due to the cape town wind which is not the fault of the hotel, however as mentioned by the staff a known problem in that room that makes it impossible to sleep in once the wind gets going. But to be fair the management did move us on request. They are looking to stop using it.

The second room was very nice but parts of it looked a little tired.

Room sizes are not very big space wise and they do have quiet a bit of furniture in them. When travelling with loads of cases space is limited.

In the evenings guest would get together in the very small bar area which if the hotel was full not all could be seated. This did happen a couple of nights.

There is no pay bar, so one was restricted to the evening 1 hour get together, only wine and soft drinks are served. I don't drink Wine, so really not good for me or other non drinkers of wine. I do need to mention that Jacob did put himself out and on the 4 th day made me a mojito which was lovely of him.

Canapés are also served but are bite size, are not replenished and are not olentiful,if you are late down then you would miss out out. Hanging around in the bar area after the session closes is not encouraged, if you are not going out for the evening you may have something from the day menu, you can't order and eat in the bar area you have to eat in your room or a small area near the gym. I know this as we asked as a group to sit at the breakfast table that is in there and was told not allowed.

Break fast is served in your room at a set time, so you must remember the night before to ask to change the times otherwise it gets delivered automaticly 8.45am.

My observation is There should be a set times like everywhere else and you call if you want it in your room, when you wake up, i dont know at 11pm what time i want breakfast next day.You can eat it in the small bar/ sitting room area but it is not really encouraged.

You get a set tray delivered of fruit, juice yoghurt, you can ask for extra cooked breakfast or toast. The bread basket content was ok could of been better. If two people want marmalade you need to call up for more the little pots only come with one spoonful. You need to call for anything no one comes to ask you. Does get a bit annoying to have to keep phoning.

There is a day menu with a few choices, you can order in the day but it is limited to salads or panninni fillings.

Trips and taxi service is offered but as stated is in luxury cars so you will pay a much higher price.

The hotel is situated on a very high part of Camps Bay and transport is essential, there are no accessible places by foot, so if you have no car you can get stuck up there.

The hotel was clean but for a small boutique hotel it could be better, found dusty parts in rooms, communal pool areas unswept, decking paint peeling, bits need doing around the edges of the pool. This might sound nit picking, but what one needs to remember you are paying a price so therefore there is a certain expectation, it holds 5 stars it charges a lot of money and therefore it needs to be that standard, 5 star.

The staff are very nice, friendly, but always appeared a little on edge, don't know why, two in particular which I won't name but have spoken to management about should not be in the front area with guest, one in particular no customer skills, not friendly, at all.

The fact that one needs to pay immediately up front as soon as you book, is not very good either, I booked nearly 8 months in advance had to pay all of it immediately,Even if you cancel weeks before you suffer a heavy loss of your money, that's not good.

I found it Hard sell but did not match what we thought it would be. No travel agents book this hotel you need to go through the owner, who calls you.

In conclusion, as I said this is a review of the whole experiance, it's not about just about the View.

I don't think it is the best place I stayed, there were good bits but there are areas that need to be improved, all the issues I mentioned I did also mention to the different members of staff. This is constructive crictism and should be taken as such. For me it was a 4 star with 5 star plus charges.

I know this is not a big hotel, but in comparison to other 5 star boutique hotels, the rooms, the service, the choice the amenities are a lot more limited.

It was a pleasant stay, not necessarily one I would return too. The competition in Cape Town is very high and if one wants to stay in it then improvements need to be made.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner room to the right of reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I have travelled to Cape Town numerous times over the past 30 years and we have finally hit on a boutique hotel that we will come back to again and again. The facility, the location, the staff and the amazing attention to details made this a wonderul experience. We found that that every staff member did all that they could to make our stay enjoyable. We travelled with two other couples and each morning they set up tables for us to enjoy an amazing breakfast while enjoying a breathaking view. Complimentary cocktail hour(s) allowed all of the hotel guests to mingle and share their experiences. The Infinity Suite, which, in itself was beautiful, provided breathtaking views. Dale, Simon, Julian, Jaco and the rest of the team could not have been more accomodating. If you ever have a chance to get to Cape Town, this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: The Infinity Suite provided the most incredible view. We were ere for Chjristmas day and while we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMarks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Great location with a fantastic view both rear and front. We arrived early after an overnight flight and although the room wasn't available we were welcomed with a cool glass of home made lemonade. A car is a real must in order to get out and about and although the hotel offered a car service which was very good - the charging mechanism was a bit vague if you didn't go to onto of the specified destinations.
We enjoyed a infinity suite which was worth the extra with a great view and a pool, which although is shared by the 2 rooms either side is fine and as its adults only very quite.
An amazing breakfast was served in our room daily at any time you prefer.
There was always someone on hand in the hotel and even though small and boutique you certainly were given enough space to enjoy your time there.
There is a small but adequately equipped gym and wifi which was handy.
Lovely spacious room and a great start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_and_J_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My husband and I from New York with our niece from Ireland had the pleasure of staying at this fab hotel, unfortunately our time was all too short. Service and amenities were excellent and we can highly recomment it as a quiet, serene hotel. The staff could not be more cordial, helpful in every way and attentive to our every need. We highly recommend it as a great hotel and wish we could return for a longer stay. Stunning views and ambience.

Room Tip: Just tell the hotel what you need and they will supply with their very best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronevepresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This is a good hotel by any standards. It is not purpose built but seems to consist of two or more homes that have been adapted and joined together, so there is a certain awkwardness in suite shapes and in getting from one area to another, but I soon got used to that. The views over Camps Bay and of the edge of Table Mountain are excellent. The decor is very modern (lots of black, grey, and silver). Normally I prefer modern design but frankly I found this one borderline tasteless.

The hotel is well managed, with many thoughtful touches, but in my view, over-managed. I could have done without staff constantly asking me if I wanted them to book a restaurant or a car for me and inquiring about my plans and welfare generally. But others may enjoy this level of attention -- just be aware that it is what you are going to get, because I see other reviewers have commented on it too, not always favourably.

Overall this was a very pleasant stay, but I found the hotel overpriced for what it offered, compared to other hotels in the same area. If price is not a consideration, it is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Parker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

From the moment we arrived at Atlantic View we knew we had made the best decision ever - to get married in the Penthouse Suite, it was exactly the intimate private experience we were looking for & we will cherish the memory always.
The location is stunning; the accommodation was perfect for us & the owners' personal touch is clearly present throughout. The personal touch was not a surprise, since from the outset, the whole process of booking & arranging our wedding was handled brilliantly by Greg - he is very patient with indecisive brides to be!!
The team, led by Dale, do a really great job. Their enthusiasm & pride in their work (& employer) was very obvious during our stay. We have both been very fortunate over the years & stayed in many actual & supposed 1st class hotels - Atlantic View surpassed them all
A very hard act to follow & we will definately be returning.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is set at the furthest edge of the propert & has a feeling of privacy &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
333 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Address: 31 Francolin Road | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £128 - £849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Graded Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel has 9 rooms and suites. This unique Cape Town Boutique Hotel is set high atop fashionable Camps Bay along the Riviera of South Africa. It has the most spectacular views of the sea and mountains. The position is perfect and convenient to all tourist attractions. Atlanticview Cape Town do not permit small children into the property. This is very popular with honeymooners and couples who wish to just get away with a bit of peace, quiet + relaxation. Well behaved teens and singles are welcome. This Cape Town Hotel has stylish air-conditioned, non-smoking rooms (three fifty to three ninety sq ft) and suites (six hundred to seven fifty sq ft). All with spectacular views, quality furnishings, all season goose down duvets (featherless available) and percale bed-linens. Master Bedroom, Penthouse, Infinity and Sunset Suites now have super king Tempur-pedic Mattresses for your maximum comfort and quality rest. Guests can have a work out in the gym, a dip in the pool, a relaxing massage or a run on the beach. Rates incl Taxes, Welcome Refreshments, Breakfasts, WiFi, use of the Gym, 2 Solar heated Infinity pools, Guests Computer plus a generous amount of Quality Wines with delicious home made Hors-d'oeuvres and Canapés every evening to celebrate the magnificent southern Atlantic sunsets.To serve you there are 18 young hotel professionals to 18 guests. Atlanticview Boutique Hotel Camps Bay has its own in-house fleet of air-conditioned Mercedes for airport and local transfers to the beach, restaurants or tourist attractions. There is a Range Rover for private tours to the Winelands or Cape Point or wherever you would like to go, all with a friendly face from the hotel behind the wheel. Atlanticview is the only Cape Town hotel of its size to boast this service as well as two Infinity pools for their guests to enjoy. Rates for the car service are little more than local taxis. It is excellent value as well as a safe, comfortable and convenient way of getting around. Camps Bay is one of the safest up market communities in Cape Town and is the only Atlantic Seaboard beach town with a promenade packed full of world class restaurants and bars. Reservations are all handled personally by the US owners. Cuisine Technology SA, the hotels sister company supplies all the top chefs and restaurants in the country making dinner reservations in the top venues possible. The owner is known for ringing the chefs private cell phones on occasion to get guests in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlanticview Capetown Boutique
Atlanticview Capetown Boutique Camps Bay
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel Camps Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing