We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Enjoyed!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
1 review
“Really Enjoyed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed staying here. We were able to relax with some of our friends after a 10 day African hunt. This was the best way to end our trip.... actually sit back to enjoy what Cape Town has to offer. The staff was excellent and catered to our every whim. They offered to set up wine and shark diving tours with personal drivers. We could not ask for anything better!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Hi Ashley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in with your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. I too enjoyed meeting all 4 of you and our sunset chats over wine and canapés each evening at the bar. I wanted to also make a special thank you to you for all the volunteer work and efforts you make to help fight cancer. Your devotion to the cause is so unselfish and for one who like many have lost close friends and family to this dreadful disease I would like to give you a special thank you and hug.

Take good care and keep up the great work! I hope you can join us again some day soon.

Warmest regards,

Greg and the Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    47
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
52
611
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to escape our work commitments and enjoy some time resting while in Cape Town. I can think of no better place to enjoy the rest and soak up the beauty of Cape Town then from the Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel. My job affords me the ability to travel and stay in many different parts of the world, and our experience here in Cape Town and at the Atlanticview is assuredly my favorite destination.

The sheer splendor of the Camps Bay setting is matched by the unparalleled quality and beauty of this hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly and treat you like royalty. We've never felt so cared for, looked after and spoiled. Our room was so wonderful, there were times where we felt guiltless and content in simply staying in despite the awe of Cape Town surrounding us. Nonetheless, the hotel's location makes shopping, beach strolls, and world class dining incredibly accessible. In addition, the fleet of beautiful cars are ready to take you on any adventure.

IF we ever make it back to Cape Town, there is no question where my wife and i will book our stay. Greg and the Atlanticview Hotel has won our hearts!

Room Tip: the upper rooms may afford you a little better panoramic view, BUT each room& view is likely bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Hi Joe,

It was my pleasure to arrange your short visit with us and am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed it. I do hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Cape Town.

Warm regards and safe travels,

Greg and the Atlanticview Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed for a week in the Sunset Suite from 18 March at the start of our Western Cape holiday. Greg had dealt with our booking and was hugely informative and personable. Arriving just after 9 a.m. to drop off our luggage, we were met by Dale and happily our room was available. I knew immediately I had made a good choice of accommodation. The room was immaculate, the view stunning and the staff delightful (particularly Wesley). The little welcome gift was also a nice touch.

It's hard to add anything to this review that hasn't been said before - excellent breakfasts, pleasant sundowner drinks and canapés, great location - I concur wholeheartedly. I also used the laundry service and my things came back beautifully folded and wrapped in tissue paper and ribbon - attention to detail is high in everything they do.

We like to be quite independent, so had a car and organised all of our own trips and restaurant reservations. We had absolutely no pressure from any of the staff to use any of their tour services nor did we feel obliged to use their restaurant recommendations. Yes, Greg did send all of the info at the point of booking and it was available in the room but that was the extent of it.

From reading pervious reviews there are a few misconceptions though.

1. The view is stunning because it is set high on the hillside. By implication this also means it is not right on the Camps Bay seafront. I thought this was obvious but some posters seem surprised. We had a car and also used the hotel taxi (very reasonably priced) into Camps Bay on the occasions when I had availed of the sundowners. Its a very easy walk down too, perhaps 15 mins, so you can walk one way and then get picked up for your return.

2. This boutique hotel does not have a full service restaurant, it doesn't claim to. The room service menu is fine for a poolside lunch or a light evening meal if you've had a heavy lunch that day. If you want to do a bit of self catering (or bring back a takeaway) book one of the suites with a kitchenette and a dining table. If you are in one of the rooms you will not have the facilities to eat in your room, although the staff will put out place settings in the main house which they charge for - again this is clear in the hotel info.

3. For every guest that wants to sit chatting and socialising into the later hours, there will be one that relishes the peace and quiet. If you want a later night, Camps Bay itself is the place to go. If you want this in your accommodation, I suggest booking into a larger hotel. I think the hotel has a good compromise, facilitating the sundowner drinks between 7 and 9 but then not encouraging larger gatherings of people who would be disruptive to other guests.

4. Yes it is expensive, but not relative to other places of the same quality, and Camps Bay IS the most expensive place to stay around Cape Town.

The only niggle we had was an unreliable internet connection but this was being worked on while we were there. A little frustrating on occasion because I had some work to do (sad) and my daughter was working on a University collaborative project for a couple of hours a day. Dale was mortified and kept badgering the installer so couldn't have done more really. Hopefully this has been resolved since.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for any of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedVeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Hi RedVeeUK,

Thanks to you and your lovely daughter for staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time to put some silly points others bring up for nothing to bed. We cost a little more than some but far less than others when you think we have 18 staff to 18 guests in high season. This level of service is always appreciated but then they moan cause we are £10 or $15 more per night than somewhere else. The somewhere elses do not have their own luxury car service nor this many young hotel professionals to be there for them when they want. They also do not in other establishments enjoy all the complimentary wines and canapés we provide our guests not to mention a few other areas we excel. I ave gone as far as importing tempurpedic pillows for our guests comfort.
We deliver what we promise and always try to give back to our guests. Thank you again for staying and for pointing out all of this to other travelers.

Do come back again and visit us!

Warm regards to you both from all of us at Atlanticview

Greg and the Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My daughter and I were delighted to stay at the Atlantic View Cape Town Boutique Hotel in June 2012 for 10 days. We left from NYC and were exhausted from travelling. At the airport we were picked up by the general manager Dale in a beautiful Range Rover and thus began a week of luxury and wonderful day trips. The private tours were stunning. We didn’t have to wait for other tourists or buses dropping passengers off at other hotels. It was worth the expense and we saw much more as a result. Our driver/tour guide Mansur (who is employed by the hotel) was very knowledgeable about the sights. He was also our photographer and captured many photos of us without having to ask strangers passing by. Our suite was beautiful and featured a rain dance shower and a big bowl type tub that had a waterfall tap. Every morning we were treated with room service and a breakfast that was different every day. The presentation was beautiful. It was like artwork. In the evening we enjoyed a host of delicious and creative canapés with excellent South African wines before heading off to dinner. We enjoyed meeting and talking to other guests during the sunset gatherings. Some of the guests were very interesting and had stayed there previously. We were able to exchange tips on our travel experiences. The hotel made sure that we had a driver to take us sightseeing or shopping each day. Both my daughter and I felt safe and were quite content in their vehicles. It was reasonably priced and we were familiar with the drivers. The shuttle cars were all luxurious and comfortable Mercedes. We loved our tours to the Wine Country, Cape of Good Hope National Park, Penguin Colony, Monkey Town, the Cheetah Sanctuary, and Table Mountain in the Range Rover. With the management staff's knowledge and the hotels interesting connection to all the top restaurants in the area, we also had the opportunity to dine in many in all the trendiest hard to get in ones like Test Kitchen and The Green House. We were greeted by the South African chef of the year in Test Kitchen. He personally made sure we had a wonderful dining experience. And we did. Wow! We enjoyed our African experience at Gold with all the dancing, local music, and drumming. The private tours took us to Harbour House for lunch on the coast overlooking the sea and Grand Provence in the winelands. Both were excellent choices although their tours are flexible so you can dine and go where you like. The food and settings were superb. We enjoyed a meal at the local seafood restaurant called the Cod Father before heading to the airport on our last evening there. All our meals were delicious and we experienced great service. For foodies, the staff and management at Atlantic View have all the connections to make your holiday a gastronomic delight. Atlantic View Cape town lived up to its reputation and is a five star destination. It is well located, private, intimate and is worth every penny. We look forward to returning with the rest of our family and highly recommend that if you are planning a trip to Cape Town, SA, you stay at the Atlanticview.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 7- "The Pineapple Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryAmes2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Cherry,

Thank you for taking the time to write in and post a review. We are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed yourselves so much and by all means do come back again and bring the rest of the family.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Its a long way from NY but it is definitely worth making the trip.

Take care and safe travels to you both!

Greg and The Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

To sum up our stay-"First Class".Without doubt one of the best experiences in our years of travelling.A wonderful location with views and sunsets to die for,attentive and helpful staff who couldn't do enough,superb food with excellent presentation and what accomodation!It was so good that we changed our itinerary to spend our last few nights in Camps Bay,the suite rounding off a great stay-thanks Greg.
Some tips-
Use the car service provided especially for visiting Cape Town(10 mins)
Make the effort to have evening drinks with the other guests/owner-it starts the evening off in a very relaxed atmosphere with some excellent wine
Stay in the Rock Room if you want something different!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ransom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Hi R 59!

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the nice things you have said/pointed out. We appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed everything and the Rock Room.

Do come back and visit us again sometime. Thank you again for staying with us.

Take good care of each other and dont forget to have fun!

Best wishes,

Greg and The Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

After reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor, I contacted Greg for availability. After a series of emails giving rates, availabilty and general info, we contacted reception to make a booking. A day after the booking, the credit card transaction being processed and receiving a confirmation email, we received an email from Greg informing us that the suite is no longer available due to another party arriving a week early and booking out most of the hotel. Although he offered another suite and an apology we decided to go elsewhere. If this is how they treat their guests even before we book in, what can we expect during our stay?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FirefoxSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Person who never stayed alias Firefox,

You never stayed with us nor even had a booking form. You bamboozled one of our trainees into taking your card for a reservation you wanted which we never offered you. You were told that the Penthouse Suite was not available from start but you were insistent and then lied to our young trainee duping him in to taking your card over the phone. No one at our establishment had confirmed any availability to you at all nor sent you a booking form. You were refunded within a few minutes of this happening when we discovered what you had done. Your pushiness and subsequent unfair review on this forum embarrassed the young hotel management student in to resigning. He actually decided after being tricked by you that he did not want to be a part of the hotel industry for which you should be ashamed. We have looked into your back ground and you sponsor young people progressing or getting ahead in the world. You have stated this from your position as a responsible psychiatrist teaching at the University of Pretoria all over their web site. This behavior does not exactly endorse your patter nor help young people at all.
One of the criteria to post a review on this forum is that you must have stayed. You lied ticking the box and making up a date in order to do so. The trip advisor forum is there to help other travelers. This does not benefit them at all as you never stayed and like what you did to the young hotel student, your pattern is consistent. It just shows sour grapes as you didnt get what you wanted after trying it on dishonestly. Surely in your profession you know what sour grapes are and know better than to behave like this. The better grapes will continue to be poured at our bar every evening complimentary, for which we have made sure in future you will never have the opportunity to enjoy.

Safe travels and hope you are feeling better soon!

Greg and The Atlanticview management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our stay was an amazing experience. The entire staff went out of there way to make our stay comfortable (luxurious) while a very warm, homey environment. Every staff member where extremely attentive and ensured we where well taken care the entire time.

Thanks again to all the staff that made our trip "A Trip of a Lifetime" and I would highly recommend Atlanticview to anyone going to Cape Town.

Room Tip: They are equally unique and lovely you can not make a wrong choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasilla9548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Property: Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Address: 31 Francolin Road | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Graded Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel has 9 rooms and suites. This unique Cape Town Boutique Hotel is set high atop fashionable Camps Bay along the Riviera of South Africa. It has the most spectacular views of the sea and mountains. The position is perfect and convenient to all tourist attractions. Atlanticview Cape Town do not permit small children into the property. This is very popular with honeymooners and couples who wish to just get away with a bit of peace, quiet + relaxation. Well behaved teens and singles are welcome. This Cape Town Hotel has stylish air-conditioned, non-smoking rooms (three fifty to three ninety sq ft) and suites (six hundred to seven fifty sq ft). All with spectacular views, quality furnishings, all season goose down duvets (featherless available) and percale bed-linens. Master Bedroom, Penthouse, Infinity and Sunset Suites now have super king Tempur-pedic Mattresses for your maximum comfort and quality rest. Guests can have a work out in the gym, a dip in the pool, a relaxing massage or a run on the beach. Rates incl Taxes, Welcome Refreshments, Breakfasts, WiFi, use of the Gym, 2 Solar heated Infinity pools, Guests Computer plus a generous amount of Quality Wines with delicious home made Hors-d'oeuvres and Canapés every evening to celebrate the magnificent southern Atlantic sunsets.To serve you there are 18 young hotel professionals to 18 guests. Atlanticview Boutique Hotel Camps Bay has its own in-house fleet of air-conditioned Mercedes for airport and local transfers to the beach, restaurants or tourist attractions. There is a Range Rover for private tours to the Winelands or Cape Point or wherever you would like to go, all with a friendly face from the hotel behind the wheel. Atlanticview is the only Cape Town hotel of its size to boast this service as well as two Infinity pools for their guests to enjoy. Rates for the car service are little more than local taxis. It is excellent value as well as a safe, comfortable and convenient way of getting around. Camps Bay is one of the safest up market communities in Cape Town and is the only Atlantic Seaboard beach town with a promenade packed full of world class restaurants and bars. Reservations are all handled personally by the US owners. Cuisine Technology SA, the hotels sister company supplies all the top chefs and restaurants in the country making dinner reservations in the top venues possible. The owner is known for ringing the chefs private cell phones on occasion to get guests in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlanticview Capetown Boutique
Atlanticview Capetown Boutique Camps Bay
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel Camps Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing